Subject Guides: Referencing: APA Style 7th Edition: Dictionaries/ Encyclopedias/ Guides

Notes:

For a print copy indicate edition and number of volumes (if multi-volumes).
Do not indicate edition if it is the first.
For articles without author begin the reference with the title of the article.
If an online reference work has a DOI then reference that in preference to the URL.
If no DOI, use an abbreviated URL string with a forward slash (i.e., / ) at the end.
If an online work is updated regularly, include a retrieved from date.
When the author and publisher are the same enter the name only once in the author position.

Formats with editor or author:	Editor, A. A. (Ed.). (Copyright year). Title of work (xx ed.). Publisher. Editor, A. A., & Editor, B. B. (Eds.). (Copyright year). Title of work (xx ed.). Publisher.
Format with no author or editor:	Title of work. (Copyright year). (xx ed.). Publisher.
Example:	Tshabe, Shoba, F. M., Mini, B. M., Pahl, H. W., Pienaar, A. M., & Ndungane, T. A. (2006). The greater dictionary of Xhosa. University of Fort Hare. Alswang, J. (2003). The South African dictionary of sport. Spearhead Merriam-Webster's medical desk dictionary. (2005). (Rev. ed.). Merriam-Webster.
In-text referencing:	Shoba, et al. (2006) ... OR ...(Shoba, et al., 2006) Alswang (2003) ... OR ...(Alswang, 2003) Merriam-Webster (2005) OR ...(Merriam-Webster's medical desk dictionary, 2005)

Formats with editor or author:	Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Copyright year). Title of work (edition). Publisher. https://doi.org/xxxxx OR Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Copyright year). Title of work (edition). Publisher. https://xxxxx OR Editor, A. A., & Editor, B. B. (Eds.). (Copyright year). Title of work (edition). Publisher. https://doi.org/xxxxx OR Editor, A. A., & Editor, B. B. (Eds.). (Copyright year). Title of work (edition). Publisher. https://xxxxx
Format with no author or editor:	Title of work. (Copyright year). (xx ed.). Publisher. https://doi.org/xxxxx or https://xxxxx
Examples:	Law, J., & Martin, E. (Eds.). (2020). Concise medical dictionary (10th ed.). Oxford Reference. https://doi.org/10.1093/acref/9780198836612.001.0001 Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). Merriam-Webster.com dictionary. Retrieved September 1, 2020, from https://www.merriam-webster.com Shenoy, C. P. (2008). Dating violence/courtship violence. In C. M. Renzetti, & J. L. Edleson, Encyclopedia of interpersonal violence. Sage Publications. Credo Reference: https://search-credoreference-com.ezproxy.uwc.ac.za/content/entry/sageiv/dating_violence_courtship_violence/0
In-text referencing:	Law & Martin (2020) ... OR ...( Law & Martin, 2020) Merriam- Webster (n.d.) ... OR ...(Merriam-Webster, n.d.) Shenoy (2008) ... OR ... (Shenoy, 2008)

For the reference work containing the chapter or entry being referenced, the author or editor's initials should precede the family name(s).

Format	Author, A. A. (Copyright year). Title of chapter or entry. Title of work (Vol. xx, pp.xxx–xxx). Publisher.
Format with no author or editor	Title of entry. (Copyright year). Title of reference work (pp. xxx–xxx). Publisher.
Example	Fire. (1981). Penguin-Hellenews English-Greek dictionary (pp. 313). Hellenews-Paidia.
In-text referencing	Fire (1981) ... OR ...(Fire, 1981)

Format with DOI:	Author, A. A. (Copyright year). Article name. In Title of work. Publisher. https://doi.org/xxxx
Format without DOI:	Author, A. A. (Copyright year). Article name. In Title of work. Publisher. Retrieved Month DD, YYYY, from https://xxxxx
Example:	Dalleck, L. C. (2017). Balance training. The Gale Encyclopedia of Fitness (2nd ed., Vol. 1, pp. 83–86). Gale. Retrieved July 24, 2020, from https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX3663000031/GVRL?u=monash&sid=GVRL&xid=f637eb38 OR Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). Social distancing. In Merriam-Webster.com dictionary. Retrieved September 1, 2020, from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/social%20distancing
In-text referencing:	Dalleck (2017) ... OR ...(Dalleck, 2017) Merriam-Webster (n.d.)... OR ...(Merriam-Webster, n.d.)

Use (YYYY–YYYY). as the format for a range of years of publication

Format:

Editor, A. A., & Editor, B. B. (Eds.). (Copyright year). Title of work (xx ed.,Vols. xx–xx). Publisher. https://doi.org/xxxx or https://xxxxx

Example:

Olendorf, D., Jeryan, C., & Boyden, K. (Eds.). (1999). The Gale encyclopedia of medicine (Vols 1–5). Gale Research.

In-text referencing:

Olendorf, et al. (1999) ... OR ...(Olendorf, et al., 1999)

Referencing: APA Style 7th Edition