Digital Object Identification (DOI) and URLs;
- What is a DOI?: A DOI is a unique identifier that provides a persistent link to the location of the content, and it should be provided in the reference where it is available. This alphanumeric string is usually located on the first page with other referencing elements in both print and electronic articles. All DOIs start with a 10 followed by a full stop, but they can also be formatted as a URL. Some examples of DOIs include:
- doi:10.1111/jan.12128
- https://doi.org/10.1111/jan.12128
- http://dx.doi.org/10.1111/jan.12128
In APA 7th, you are required to format the DOIs as a URL, with "https://doi.org/" before the number e.g. https://doi.org/10.1111/jan.12128
Tip: Use CrossRef's guest query form to help you to find an article's DOI number.
- Always include the DOI for works that have a DOI regardless of whether you have accessed the print or electronic version. If an online article has a DOI then you do not need to include a URL.
- If an online article does not have a DOI, use the following formats as specified:
- An online article accessed from a website: Include the URL in the reference if the URL is publicly accessible.
- An online article accessed in an academic research database, such as PsycINFO: Do not include the URL because these articles are considered widely available. Use the print version of the article reference instead.
- An article from a database that publishes original, proprietary material available only in that database (such as the UpToDate database), or works from databases that publish works of limited circulation (such as the ERIC database): Include the name of the database or archive and the URL. If the URL will not resolve for readers, provide the URL of the database home page or login page instead.
- DOI or URL hyperlinks can be formatted in blue text and underlined (the default setting for Microsoft), or in plain text that is not underlined, but links should be live if the work is to be read or published online. The words "Retrieved from" or "Accessed from" are no longer required before the hyperlink.
- See the guidelines for how to include DOIs and URLs in references for more information.
