+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za
The library collects books to support your studies. More recently we are purchasing mainly eBooks. This page presents three main categories of books: New Books, Prescribed Textbooks and Reference Books.
You can find books in the library by using uKwazi. The video below will guide you on how to search for books and articles on uKwazi.
Ebooks can be accessed by clicking on the relevant link on uKwazi. Physical books are shelved according to the Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC) System and Industrial Psychology books are mainly located on Level 7 and Level 11 of the main library on the following subject categories and DDC numbers:
| SUBJECT CATEGORY |
DDC NO. |
| Industrial Psychology | Level 11; 158.7 |
| Industrial Psychology | Level 5 Short Loans; 158.7 |
| Human Resources |
Level 7; 658.3 |
| Human Resources | Level 5 Short Loans; 658 |
We have recently added a few new book titles to our collection. Make sure to check this page regularly to discover fresh and exciting titles that have been added. Stay updated with the latest additions to our collection!
Human resource management in South Africa by
"Now in its sixth edition, Wärnich's Human Resource Management in South Africa provides the complete introduction to Human Resource Management in the challenging business world of modern day South Africa. Dramatic changes in both the external and internal environment of organisations in South Africa since the beginning of the twenty-first century have resulted in employees increasingly expecting to be part of the decision-making process. This change, combined with developments in technology, means that human resource (HR) managers are now faced with new and important challenges. In this situation, increasing pressure is being exerted on HR managers in South Africa to make a more significant contribution to the success of their organisations - how can organisations in South Africa deal with the complexity, speed and magnitude of these changes and still create and achieve a competitive advantage?"
Job Evaluation in the New World of Work by
The new world of work has created unprecedented challenges for human resource practitioners. This book prompts exciting conversations on the question of: "What is the role of job evaluation". With the developing concepts of blended work, work from anywhere and contingent workers, job evaluation systems will need some careful thought. One size and approach may not suit all situations and suggestions are offered on how to deal with these differing situations.The next domino after job evaluation is often remuneration, because pay scales are attached to the grades. Equal pay for work of equal value is probably one of the biggest focus points globally and clarity is offered in this book. The vertical pay gap and horizontal pay gap sometimes stem from the remuneration philosophy around pay scale design. This book clarifies how to do job evaluation in a changing world, how to develop pay scales and how to achieve equal pay for work of equal value. Contents include: - What is Job Evaluation? - Job Evaluation in the new world of work - The Rise of the Contingent Workforce - How to carry out the Paterson job evaluation - The impact of job evaluation on salary structures - Equal pay for work of equal value - Measuring income inequality - a holistic approach - The psychological impact of the new way of job evaluation
Contemporary issues in human resource management by
Contemporary issues in Human Resources Management 5e is a stimulating textbook aimed at senior undergraduate human resource students. This new edition offers an integrated approach, applying seminal and contemporary theory and frameworks to the working world of HRM that is situated in the 21st century. It discusses the impact on organisations of the current, often disruptive, external environment, including that of the Fourth Industrial Revolution and Civid-19. The textbook is written by a group of international and local authors, as well as HRM practitioners and presents the latest developments within the field of HRM. The edition aligns theory and practice with many examples from a South African perspective, and includes: Learning objectives at the start of each chapter. Key terms that provide a clear understanding of the concepts of HRM. Example boxes that illustrate the concepts in a practical way through up-to-date South African perspectives. Information boxes that provide additional applications to support theory. Relevant case studies with discussion questions. Review questions at the end of each chapter to help students test their knowledge.
Human resource management : gaining a competitive advantage by
Human Resource Management: Gaining a Competitive Advantage 12e offers comprehensive coverage of HRM concepts that teach students how to strategically overcome challenges and gain competitive advantage in the workplace. Based on the authors’ diverse research, teaching and consulting experiences, this product has incredibly strong depth and breadth that is current in research and practice simply not found in other texts.
Mind over matter and artificial intelligence : building employee mental fitness for organisational success by
This book explores mind over matter in a digital age and presents the importance of continued transformation of the mind to promote humane Artificial Intelligence for greater good. In doing so, it focuses on the organizational and managerial practices that are critical in creating an environment that supports mindset and organizational growth. The digital age is significantly impacting employees and organizations and steering billions of people around the world. Artificial Intelligence has created a whole new paradigm with a revolution loftier than all the industrial revolutions and the innovations of the past millennia combined. We are either headed towards restoring humanity back to the Imago Dei, where creative powers are unleashed in human freedom, or advocating selective breeding and survival of the fittest. Dr Vidya S. Athota is a senior academic and the Head of Human Resources & Management in the School of Business, University of Notre Dame, Australia. His research has appeared in a number of high impact journals and books. Dr Athota has also provided consulting services to various business organizations internationally, including Fortune 500. He has been a keynote speaker at a number of international conferences.
The following are prescribed textbooks for your subject. However, please note that it is essential to refer to your course outline or consult with your lecturer to ensure accuracy regarding the exact prescribed texts for your specific course or level of study.
Introduction to work psychology by Human resource management by
"Human Resource Management 11e is an engaging textbook aimed at undergraduate Human Resource students. The textbook serves as a leading text for students, and a best practice guide for HR professionals and managers. It aligns theory and practice in an accessible manner, with many examples from a South African perspective. The textbook continues to document evolving human resource theory, particularly drawing attention to the growing importance of HR as a strategic business partner and change agent. It discusses the impact of the current, often disruptive, external environment on organisations, including the impact of 4IR, Covid-19 and the increased prevalence of remote working."-- Publisher's description
Careers : an organisational perspective by
Careers: An Organisational Perspective is a market-leading textbook on careers in the modern organisational context. The sixth edition reflects the most recent research and trends on the new unfolding nature of careers in the fast-emerging digital-era employment environment.
The psychology of work and organisations by Organisational behaviour : a contemporary South African perspective by
"Explores the expectations that organisations and employees have of each other. It addresses contemporary issues related to business ethics, systems, psychodynamics, engagement, performance excellence, changing communication technology, transformational and authentic leadership, diversity and globalisation. It contains encounters, discussion questions, practical exercises and case studies to stimulate self-study, debate and reflective thinking."
We have curated a selection of key reference books in our collection for this subject.
Reference books, also known as reference materials or resources, are specialized publications that provide concise and reliable information on specific subjects. They are designed to be consulted for quick reference, providing factual details, definitions, explanations, and summaries. Reference books often cover a wide range of topics and are typically organized in alphabetical order or by subject for easy access. Examples of reference books include dictionaries, encyclopedias, atlases, almanacs, handbooks, and directories.
International Review of Industrial and Organizational Psychology 1999, Volume 14 by
The fourteenth in a series of annual volumes that provides authoritative reviews in the field of industrial and organizational psychology, this volume provides coverage of emergent issues such as personnel selection methods, system safety and control, well-being in the workplace, and more. The issue of work performance is given particular attention in this volume with chapters on work performance, organizational citizenship, and conflict and performance in groups and organizations.
Historical Perspectives in Industrial and Organizational Psychology by
This unique book is the first to contain a comprehensive history of industrial and organizational psychology, covering numerous topics in the discipline. The history presented offers various perspectives, including the contributions of individuals, organizations, and contextual or situational forces, as well as an international viewpoint. The authors, all highly regarded experts in their respective topics, use a range of approaches to examine history, demonstrating to readers that there are multiple ways to understand history. This volume will be of interest to industrial and organizational psychologists, business and management academics and professionals, historians of psychology, business, science and science and technology, undergraduate, and graduate students.
Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology by
With more than 400 entries, the Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology presents a thorough overview of the cross-disciplinary field of industrial and organizational psychology for students, researchers, and professionals in the areas of psychology, business, management, and human resources. In two volumes, readers are provided with state-of-the-art research and ready-to-use facts.
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research in Psychology by
The Second Edition of The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research in Psychology provides comprehensive coverage of the qualitative methods, strategies, and research issues in psychology. Qualitative research in psychology has been transformed since the first edition's publication. Responding to this evolving field, existing chapters have been updated while three new chapters have been added on Thematic Analysis, Interpretation, and Netnography. With a focus on methodological progress throughout, the chapters are organised into three sections: Section One: Methods Section Two: Perspectives and Techniques Section Three: Applications In the field of psychology and beyond, this handbook will constitute a valuable resource for both experienced qualitative researchers and novices for many years to come.
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville,
7535
Tel: 021 959 2946
