Subject Guides: Industrial Psychology: Internet Resources

Useful External Websites

Here is a compilation of valuable open access websites that you can freely utilise for your research and information needs. These external resources provide access to a wide range of content without any subscription or paywall restrictions.

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)

DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open-access books and helps users to find trusted open-access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.

Open Access Publishing in European Netwroks (OAPEN)

OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality-controlled collection of open-access books and provides services for publishers, libraries, and research funders in the areas of dissemination, quality assurance, and digital preservation.

eBook Open Access (OA) Collection (EBSCOhost) is a multidisciplinary collection of eBooks, created in cooperation with university presses and scholarly publishers in the Open Access model. The collection offers access to thousands of titles on various topics, without DRM (digital rights management) restrictions. Search via EBSCO host's databases.

Open Access Theses and Dissertations

OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes approximately 6,357,752 theses and dissertations, completely free to use.

Directory of Open Access Repository

OpenDOAR is the quality-assured, global Directory of Open Access Repositories. You can search and browse through thousands of registered repositories based on a range of features, such as location, software or type of material held.

OER Commons

OER commons are teaching and learning materials that you may freely use and reuse at no cost, and without needing to ask permission.

OpenStax

Review the OpenStax textbooks and decide if they are right for your course.
Peer-reviewed, openly licensed, 100% free, and backed by additional learning resources.

Here is a list of professional association websites that are highly valuable for this field of study. These websites serve as excellent resources for you to consult whenever necessary, offering industry insights, networking opportunities, and access to relevant publications and resources.

ExcelGrow – We Believe In Empowering People.
ExcelGrow provides Industrial Psychological services:
1. Recruitment - Identify and recruit suitable employees
2. Talent Management - Develop and retain talented people
3. Organisational Development - Building successful organisations by developing excellent people management strategies
4. Mentoring and Coaching - Maximising people potential
Society for Human Resource Management - SHRM
Although this is not an organization specific to I-O psychologists, it is an important resource for them. In addition to offering a cross-discipline conversation like the Academy of Management, this huge association performs advocacy tasks, provides educational opportunities and even awards grants and scholarships to members. It is a conglomeration of business professionals, academics, certified practitioners and political lobbyists, all working to improve the human resource arena. Where do I-O psychologists fit in? Of course, many who work in research would be termed “academics,” but I-O psychologists may also become certified through SHRM. That is a great addition to their credentials. Additionally, many IO psychologists are employed in the HR departments of businesses and organizations. The powerful SHRM membership is well over 400,000.
Society for Industrial and Organisational Psychology of South Africa- SIOPSA
SIOPSA is a member-based, non-profit organisation established to enhance the Industrial and Organisational Psychology profession in South Africa. As human behaviour specialists in a workplace, SIOPSA translates the scientific body of industrial and organisational (IO) psychology knowledge into fit-for-purpose practices to promote business objectives, and help employees flourish.
To this end, SIOPSA exists to serve its members and strives to create conditions in which IO psychologists will be able to deliver efficient and effective services to the benefit of all in South Africa.
Workplace Psychology
A website dedicated to workplace and occupational psychology topics.

Here is a compilation of government websites that are highly relevant to your field of study. These websites provide valuable information, resources, and updates on government policies, regulations, research findings, and initiatives related to the field.

American Psychological Association APA
APA is the leading scientific and professional organization representing psychology in the United States, with more than 146,000 researchers, educators, clinicians, consultants, and students as its members.
Society for Industrial and Organizational Psychology SIOP
SIOP is the premier professional association for the science and practice of I-O psychology. While an independent organization with its own governance, SIOP also represents Division 14 of the American Psychological Association and is an organizational affiliate of the Association for Psychological Science.

Industrial Psychology

Ask your Librarian!

Useful External Websites

UWC LIBRARY & INFORMATION SERVICES