+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za
The library collects books to support your studies. More recently we are purchasing mainly ebooks. This page presents three main categories of books: New Books, Reference Books and Textbooks.
You can find books in the library by using uKwazi. The video below will guide you on how to search for books and articles on uKwazi.
Online books can be accessed by clicking on the relevant link on uKwazi. Physical books are shelved according to the Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC) System and Pharmacy books are mainly located on Level 11 on the following subjects and DDC numbers:
| TOPIC | SHELF NUMBER |
|---|---|
| Medicine & health | 610 |
| Human anatomy, cytology & histology | 611 |
| Human physiology | 612 |
| Pharmacology & therapeutics | 615 |
| Diseases | 616 |
Hugo and Russell's Pharmaceutical Microbiology by
Pharmaceutical microbiology has a bearing on all aspects of pharmacy, from the manufacture and quality control of pharmaceutical products through to an understanding of the mode of action of antibiotics. Fully revised and restructured, drawing on the contributions of subject experts, and including material relevant to the European curricula in pharmacy, the eighth edition covers: biology of micro-organisms pathogens and host response prescribing therapeutics contamination and infection control pharmaceutical production current trends and new directions Hugo and Russell's Pharmaceutical Microbiology, a standard text for Schools of Pharmacy for seven editions, continues to be a user-friendly and authoritative guide for both students and practitioners of pharmacy and pharmaceutical microbiology. 'Highly Commended' in the Pharmacology section of the 2012 BMA Book Awards
Medical microbiology : a guide to microbial infections : pathogenesis, immunity, laboratory investigation and control by
Medical microbiology concerns the nature, distribution and activities of microbes and their impact on health and wellbeing. In spite of the introduction of many antimicrobial agents and immunizations, we continue to face major challenges in combatting infection, not least the gathering crisis in antimicrobial resistance. Now in a fully revised and update nineteen edition, Medical Microbiology provides comprehensive coverage of infection from the microbial perspective, combining a clear introduction to key principles with a focus explicitly geared to modern clinical practice. I provides ideal coverage for medical and biomedical sufficient students-with 'Key points' boxes throughout to highlight the essentials - and sufficient detail to also inform specialists in training.
Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine by
Now in its ninth edition, the Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine continues to be the definitive pocket-friendly guide to medicine. The culmination over 25 years of experience at the bedside and in the community, this handbook is packed with practical advice, wit, and wisdom.The Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine presents clinical information in a clear way that makes it easy to revise, remember, and implement on the ward. It gives reliable advice on what to do, when to do it, and how to do it, with clinical photographs and diagrams that bring theory to life. Uniquelyfor a medical text, this book weaves history, literature, art, and philosophy into its survey of medicine, casting new light on the specialties and encouraging the reader to see beyond the practical aspects of medicine and adopt a patient-centred approach to care.The Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine looks better than ever, with a more modern design and over 600 colour images and illustrations. The History and Examination chapter has been completely revamped with systematic flowcharts and new illustrations so that it better reflects real bedside practice.The index, cross-references, and references have been overhauled to make them even easier to use. Every chapter has been written with supervision from experts in each field to ensure accuracy, and updated to reflect relevant guidelines from the NHS, NICE, the Resuscitation Council and other keyproffesional bodies.Loved and trusted by generations of doctors, the Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine continues to be an indispensable companion for the practice of modern medicine.
Pharmacovigilance: a Practical Approach by
Written by experts in the field of pharmacovigilance and patient safety, this concise resource provides a succinct, easy-to-digest overview of an increasingly critical area of medical safety. Drs. Thao Doan, Cheryl Renz, Fabio Lievano, Mondira Bhattacharya, and Linda Scarazzini provide essential information for health care professionals, clinical researchers, and regulators who need a comprehensive, up-to-date source of information on the principles and practice of pharmacovigilance. Covers the evolving regulatory landscape, as well as current and future use of digital technologies. Uses case studies to ensure content is relevant to everyday practice. Discusses behavioral science and patient perspectives, risk communication, and new frontiers in pharmacovigilance. Consolidates today's available information on this timely topic into one convenient resource.
Rang and Dale's Pharmacology by
Comprehensive yet easy to use, Rang and Dale's Pharmacology has been providing core basic and clinical science information to students and healthcare practitioners worldwide for more than 25 years. The fully revised 9th Edition keeps you up to date with all that's new in the field, including new and emerging drugs and recent studies. From cover to cover, you'll progressively increase your knowledge of all relevant aspects of pharmacology, from a molecular understanding of receptors and drug actions through clinical uses of key groups of drugs. Keeps you up-to-date with new information in this fast-changing field, including significantly revised coverage of CNS drugs, cognitive enhancers, anti-infectives, biologicals/biopharmaceuticals, lifestyle drugs, and more. Includes access to unique features online, including more than 100 brand new chapter-specific multiple-choice questions and 6 new cases for immediate self-assessment. Features a color-coded layout for faster navigation and cross-referencing. Clarifies complex concepts with Key Points boxes, Clinical Uses boxes and full-color illustrations throughout. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Robbins Basic Pathology by
Part of the trusted Robbins and Cotran family, Robbins Basic Pathology provides a readable, well-illustrated and concise overview of the principles of human pathology that's ideal for today's busy students. This thoroughly revised edition continues with a strong emphasis on pathogenesis and the clinical features of disease, adding new artwork and more schematic diagrams to further aid in summarizing key pathologic processes and expand the already impressive illustration program. Excellent art program boasts high-quality photomicrographs, gross photos, and radiologic images to supplement the world-class illustrations. Bulleted summary boxes provide quick access to key information and easy review of key concepts. Highlights pathogenesis, morphology, and pathophysiologic content throughout. Includes increased and updated clinical topics. New artwork and more schematic diagrams summarize key pathologic processes. An all-star editorial team enables you to gain a rich understanding of all essential pathology concepts. Student Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and images from the book on a variety of devices. You'll also access virtual microscope slides, self-assessment questions, additional images, updated pathology case studies, and Targeted Therapy boxes.
2009 Intravenous Medications by
The #1 IV drug handbook for 36 years, this reference is trusted for its accuracy and comprehensive coverage. It provides essential data on administering more than 350 intravenous drugs, with a portable size for convenience in any clinical setting. This new edition includes entries for 9 new IV drugs recently approved by the FDA and hundreds of new drug facts. An alphabetical organization and indexing by both generic and trade names, along with pharmacologic actions, make it easy to find drug information quickly. Provides comprehensive information for each drug including its generic name (with a phonetic pronunciation guide), common trade name(s), drug category, pH, dosages and dose adjustments, dilution, compatibilities and incompatibilities, rate of administration, actions, indications and uses (including unlabeled uses), contraindications, precautions, drug/lab interactions, side effects, and antidote. Lists IV drugs alphabetically by generic name with indexes of drugs by generic name, trade name, and drug category for quick clinical reference. UNIQUE! Displays dosing information on a single page or a two-page spread. Highlights age-specific dose variances for geriatric, pediatric, infant, and neonatal patients in separate sections. Lists all side effects, compatibilities, and incompatibilities in alphabetical order for quick review. UNIQUE! Includes over 100 charts detailing dosing and dilution guidelines, recommended dose modifications, combination schedules, infusion rates, and more. Uses extensive cross referencing within individual drug descriptions for quick access. Offers a portable size and flexible spiral binding for practical use in any setting. Presents General Dilution Charts and a Solution Compatibility Chart inside the front and back covers for fast, easy reference. Provides quick, valuable, guidance with IV Therapy Facts and appendices. Identifies drugs available only in Canada with a maple leaf icon. Offers a PDA version that may be installed from a CD or downloaded through Skyscape, for use with portable handheld devices. Adds entries for 9 new IV drugs recently approved by the FDA. Includes hundreds of new and updated drug facts, including new dosage adjustments, indications, interactions, compatibilities, side effects, precautions, and additional disease-specific dosages.
British Pharmacopoeia by
The British Pharmacopoeia (BP) 2018 supersedes the BP 2017 and becomes legally effective on 1 January 2018. This edition incorporates new BP and European Pharmacopoeia monographs and a significant number of revised monographs. Also included is new information for unlicensed medicines and DNA barcoding. Updated annually, the BP is the only comprehensive collection of authoritative official standards for UK pharmaceutical substances and medicinal products. The BP 2018 includes almost 4,000 monographs which are legally enforced by the Human Medicines Regulations 2012. Where a pharmacopoeial monograph exists, medicinal products sold or supplied in the UK must comply with the relevant monograph. All monographs and requirements of the European Pharmacopoeia are also reproduced in the BP.
Casarett and Doull's toxicology : the basic science of poisons by
Fully revised and updated, this new fifth edition is the perfect guide for those studying biology, either at school or university. Containing many new entries, and with biographical entries on key scientists, it provides comprehensive coverage of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry.- Over 4,700 clear and concise entries- Over 50 pages of new material for this fifth edition, with all existing entries fully revised and updated- Feature articles on important topics such as genetically modified organisms- Chronologies chart the discoveries in the main fields of the subject
Handbook of drug administration via enteral feeding tubes by
Reference Redefined. You have our word on it. Featuring more than 56,000 entries, this 7th Edition contains the medical terminology used in more than 30 of today's fastest-growing health profession areas--plus comprehensive inclusion of entries suited for the nursing field. More than 70 leading consultants from health professions and nursing contributed to the enhancements of this edition to ensure Stedman's Medical Dictionary for the Health Professions and Nursing is your go-to source for health reference. Key Features: A-to-Z organization, coupled with precision-cut thumb tabs, quickly leads you to a definition 1,000 color images and photographs enhance definitions and aid in comprehension Detailed Anatomical Atlas, included in a special glossy insert with detailed images by Anatomical Chart Company, provides a visual representation of anatomical terms Nearly 65 valuable appendices cover critical areas such as dangerous abbreviations, units of measure, references values, and much more Written pronunciations assist you in spoken communication Eye-catching icons identify terms that have printed images or are combining forms British alternative spellings are provided Also included with purchase is a free 3-month subscription to Stedman's Online, which includes all the content from the print dictionary and more- Superior keyword search functionality making accuracy instantaneous Access to more than 5,600 images illustrating key medical terms and concepts Customize the product using My Stedman's: add terms, add notes to terms, save searches and illustrations - all features to provide you with a personal experience that meets your needs Audio icons displayed alongside approximately 42,000 terms let you hear correct pronunciations 42 illuminating live-action videos from Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy present anatomy in motion
Index Nominum by
After 50 years, this authoritative index continues to reign as the standard international pharmaceutical reference on medications, proprietary names, synonyms, chemical structures, and therapeutic classes of substances.. This 19thedition offers improved search functionality and includes 70,000 proprietary names (19,000 more than the previous edition) from more than 12,000 manufacturers representing 171 countries. It also contains an updated and edited collection of active substances and derivatives (4,000 total) with international non-proprietary names (INN) and 12,000 synonyms. An accompanying CD provides more than 12,000 addresses and links to pharmaceutical manufacturers worldwide.
Martindale: Complete Drug Reference by
This book provides reliable, unbiased and evaluated information on drugs and medicines used throughout the world. Each new drug licensed for use has its own potential benefits and adverse effects, and its own profile for dosage, administration and indications. Furthermore, manufacturers make regular changes to existing drug names and formulations, which can affect their interactions and safe usage. Health professionals require the correct answers and need to have confidence in the drugs information they use - but with medicines evolving at this rate, how can they be sure their knowledge is up to date? "Martindale" contains up to date information about more than 5,800 substances. Each and every entry is reviewed by our pharmaceutical editors to ensure health professionals have the most current data. Formulations change. Definitions change. Names change. But you can always trust "Martindale".
Aulton's Pharmaceutics by
From a review of the previous edition: 'For all the pharmacy students out there part of your pharmacy degree will be to study formulation design and pharmaceutics. This is the holy grail of pharmaceutical technology books. The text reads well and introduces difficult concepts in a more easy-to-understand way, it is definitely worth the money to help you get through the module, if you're doing a research project in pharmaceutical design then this would also be an excellent buy.This is essential for passing exams and developing professional competence.' This is the best known text on pharmaceutics. Its strength lies mainly in being a complete course in one book. Reviewers consistently praise its comprehensiveness and its extremely high quality-quality content. Pharmaceutics is one of the most diverse subject areas in pharmaceutical science and an understanding of it is vital for all pharmacists and scientists involved in converting drugs to medicines that can be safely delivered to a patient. The editorial and author team deliver a tour de force of accessibility, coverage and currency in this new edition of a world-class textbook. Relevant chemistry covered throughout Reflects current and future use of biotechnology products throughout Covers ongoing changes in our understanding of biopharmaceutics, certain areas of drug delivery and the significance of the solid state Includes the science of formulation and drug delivery Designed and written for newcomers to the design of dosage forms Key points boxes throughout Summaries at the end of each chapter Fully updated throughout, with particular focus on delivery of biopharmaceuticals, nanotechnology and nanomedicines, parenteral and ocular drug delivery mechanisms. Now comes with online access on StudentConsult. From a review of the previous edition: 'For all the pharmacy students out there part of your pharmacy degree will be to study formulation design and pharmaceutics. This is the holy grail of pharmaceutical technology books. The text reads well and introduces difficult concepts in a more easy-to-understand way, it is definitely worth the money to help you get through the module, if you're doing a research project in pharmaceutical design then this would also be an excellent buy.This is essential for passing exams and developing professional competence.' This is the best known text on pharmaceutics. Its strength lies mainly in being a complete course in one book. Reviewers consistently praise its comprehensiveness and its extremely high quality-quality content. Pharmaceutics is one of the most diverse subject areas in pharmaceutical science and an understanding of it is vital for all pharmacists and scientists involved in converting drugs to medicines that can be safely delivered to a patient. The editorial and author team deliver a tour de force of accessibility, coverage and currency in this new edition of a world-class textbook.
Aulton's Pharmaceutics E-Book by
Pharmaceutics is one of the most diverse subject areas in all of pharmaceutical science. In brief, it is concerned with the scientific and technological aspects of the design and manufacture of dosage forms or medicines. An understanding of pharmaceutics is therefore vital for all pharmacists and those pharmaceutical scientists who are involved with converting a drug or a potential drug into a medicine that can be delivered safely, effectively and conveniently to the patient. Now in its fourth edition, this best-selling textbook in pharmaceutics has been brought completely up to date to reflect the rapid advances in delivery methodologies by eye and injection, advances in drug formulations and delivery methods for special groups (such as children and the elderly), nanomedicine, and pharmacognosy. At the same time the editors have striven to maintain the accessibility of the text for students of pharmacy, preserving the balance between being a suitably pitched introductory text and a clear reflection of the state of the art. New to this edition New editor: Kevin Taylor, Professor of Clinical Pharmaceutics, School of Pharmacy, University of London. Twenty-two new contributors. Six new chapters covering parenteral and ocular delivery; design and administration of medicines for the children and elderly; the latest in plant medicines; nanotechnology and nanomedicines, and the delivery of biopharmaceuticals. Thoroughly revised and updated throughout. provides a logical, comprehensive account of drug design and manufacture includes the science of formulation and drug delivery designed and written for newcomers to the design of dosage forms New to this edition New editor: Kevin Taylor, Professor of Clinical Pharmaceutics, School of Pharmacy, University of London. Twenty-two new contributors. Six new chapters covering parenteral and ocular delivery; design and administration of medicines for the children and elderly; the latest in plant medicines; nanotechnology and nanomedicines, and the delivery of biopharmaceuticals. Thoroughly revised and updated throughout.
Hugo and Russell's Pharmaceutical Microbiology by
Pharmaceutical microbiology has a bearing on all aspects of pharmacy, from the manufacture and quality control of pharmaceutical products through to an understanding of the mode of action of antibiotics. Fully revised and restructured, drawing on the contributions of subject experts, and including material relevant to the European curricula in pharmacy, the eighth edition covers: biology of micro-organisms pathogens and host response prescribing therapeutics contamination and infection control pharmaceutical production current trends and new directions Hugo and Russell's Pharmaceutical Microbiology, a standard text for Schools of Pharmacy for seven editions, continues to be a user-friendly and authoritative guide for both students and practitioners of pharmacy and pharmaceutical microbiology. 'Highly Commended' in the Pharmacology section of the 2012 BMA Book Awards
Pharmaceutical Analysis by
Pharmaceutical analysis forms a core part of any pharmacy programme, as well as being essential for pharmacology and medicinal chemistry courses. Pharmaceutical analysis determines the purity, concentration, active compounds, shelf life, rate of absorption in the body, identity, stability, rate of release etc. of a drug. Testing a pharmaceutical product involves a variety of analyses, and the analytical processes described in this book are used in industries as diverse as food, beverages, cosmetics, detergents, metals, paints, water, agrochemicals, biotechnological products and pharmaceuticals. The mathematics involved is notoriously difficult, but this much-praised textbook, now revised and updated for its fourth edition, guides a student through the complexities with clear writing and the author's expertise from many years' teaching pharmacy students. There is continuous learning reinforcement throughout the book by way of worked calculation examples and self-assessment test questions. Worked calculation examples Self-assessment Additional problems (self tests) Practical boxes Key points boxes New chapter on electrochemical biosensors. New chapter on the quality control of biotechnologically produced drugs. Extended chapter on molecular emission spectroscopy. Now comes with an e-book on StudentConsult. Self-assessment is interactive in the accompanying online e-book. 65 online animations show concepts such as ionization partitioning of drug molecules etc. ~
Pharmaceutical calculations by
Every chapter has been revised and updated to reflect the basic calculations applicable to the contemporary practice of pharmacy.The thirteenth edition of Pharmaceutical Calculations represents a thorough update of this textbook which for over six decades has met the needs of students in this important subject area. One of the most apparent changes in this edition is the inclusion of learning objectives for each chapter. The intent is not only to define the purpose and direct the student's focus but also to provide a basis for self-assessment following completion. Another important addition, appearing in the Introduction, presents a step-wise approach in solving calculations problems which should prove beneficial to students toward understanding and building confidence.
Pharmaceutical Compounding and Dispensing by
Are your exams coming up? Are you drowning in textbooks and lecture notes and wondering where to begin? Take the FASTtrack route to successful study for your examinations. FASTtrack is a new series of indispensable revision/study guides created especially for pharmacy students. Each book focuses on what pharmacy students really need to know in order to pass exams, providing concise, bulleted information, key points, tips and an all-important self-assessment section which includes MCQs, case studies, sample essay questions and worked examples. The FASTtrack series provides the ultimate lecture notes and is a must-have for all pharmacy students wanting to study and test themselves for forthcoming exams. FASTtrack: Pharmaceutical Compounding and Dispensing focuses on what pharmacy students really need to know in order to pass exams, providing concise, bulleted information, key points, tips and an all-important self-assessment section which includes MCQs, case studies, sample essay questions and worked examples.Based on the successful textbook, Pharmaceutical Compounding and Dispensing, this FASTtrack book has been designed to assist the student compounder in understanding the key dosage forms encountered within extemporaneous dispensing.All the references to modern texts (for example, the BNF) have been updated for this new edition, as well as labelling to reflect changes since the publication of the first edition. Some worked examples have been changed owing to the availability of pharmaceutical ingredients. Readers are now given access to online videos demonstrating various dispensing procedures.
Pharmacology by
For 25 years, Rang and Dale's Pharmacology has delivered the core basic and clinical science information required by students and healthcare practitioners worldwide. Authors H. P. Rang, J. M. Ritter, R. J. Flower, and G. Henderson have ensured that the 8th Edition of this easy-to-read, comprehensive text continues the tradition of excellence with new coverage of drugs affecting the skin and new components online at studentconsult.com. Consult this title on your favorite e-reader. Get the essential pharmacology information you need from one authoritative source with an outstanding global reputation for excellence. Progress confidently through all relevant aspects of pharmacology, beginning with a molecular understanding of receptors and drug actions through clinical uses of key groups of drugs. Find important content quickly thanks to a color-coded layout that enables easy navigation and cross-referencing. Master difficult concepts with Key Points boxes, Clinical Uses boxes, and full-color illustrations throughout. Stay up to date with new information in the field, including an all-new chapter on drugs that affect the skin. Take advantage of new and unique features online, including 500+ chapter-specific multiple choice questions for immediate self-assessment. eBook version included! For the first time, you can access the entire book online or offline across all devices with the Student Consult eBook!
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville,
7535
Tel: 021 959 2946
