Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

School of Pharmacy

This is a guide for Pharmacy resources available at the UWC library and on the web.

Journal Articles

Research articles are mainly published in Research Journals, which are available in print or online. You can find and access suggested online Pharmacy journals on the Key Journals tab, above on the right.

It is better to search across many journals using Journal Databases, some are included in the Key Journal Databases tab, above on the extreme right. You can also find and access online Pharmacy research articles using the Databases by Discipline option on the library's website. 

 

You can take a look at the video below to find out how to search for research articles and books using uKwazi. 

AccessPharmacy is a flexible resource, which allows students to select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, or search across leading pharmacy online references

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature® ) Plus database is the authoritative source of information for the professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare. The database also includes relevant materials from allied health disciplines, plus biomedicine, management, behavioural sciences, health sciences librarianship, education, and consumer health. The CINAHL database provides references to books, book chapters, pamphlets, audiovisuals, dissertations, educational software, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, nurse practice acts, critical paths, and research instruments.

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.

PubMed provides free access to MEDLINE®, the NLM® database of indexed citations and abstracts to medical, nursing, dental, veterinary, health care, and preclinical sciences journal articles.

ScienceDirect Access to the world's largest scientific, technical and medical (STM) database. Over 1700 journals from Elsevier Science including top titles such as The Lancet, Cell and Tetrahedron. Over three million articles and over 59 million abstracts from all fields of science. Users may access full-text and bibliographic information as well as contents pages of journals.

SpringerLink provides access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols, reference works and proceedings.

UWC LIBRARY & INFORMATION SERVICES

University of the Western Cape,

Robert Sobukwe Road,

Bellville,

7535

Tel: 021 959 2946

OPENING HOURS

Monday - Thursday 8:20 AM — 11:55 PM

Friday 8:20 AM — 8:00 PM

Saturday 9:00 AM — 1:00 PM

Sunday Closed