+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za
A database is an organised collection of books, journals, reviews, abstracts, conference proceedings and other information that has been checked for accuracy and reliability by publishers, then licensed for distribution in an online or electronic format.
These are the core databases, which the library subscribes to for your research needs:
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
JSTOR is an online journal archive providing access to back issues of core scholarly journals in arts, humanities, business, social sciences, ecology, botany, language and literature. More than 2 million primary sources across four collections: Global Plants, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and World Heritage Sites: Africa. The artifacts, specimens, and documents in the collections are scanned at high resolution to enable detailed inspection of each item.
Available via Sabinet, this database provides full-text access to journals published in Africa encompasses the breadth and depth of African research content by offering the most comprehensive, searchable collection of full-text African electronic journals available on one platform. This service, which is easy to use and accessible anytime and anywhere, is a growing service Sabinet African Journals offers a user-friendly platform and encourages research efficacy. All international journal standards and statistics are adhered. The collection is the most comprehensive collection of its kind in the world.
This platform will provide you with a single entry point to seamlessly search Sabinet's reference products, including OAIster, OCLC's FirstSearch Service, SA Media, SA ePublications, foreign and local dissertations- and theses databases, to name but a handful.
SAGE Journals Online prestigious and highly cited journals are available electronically on the award-winning SAGE Journals Online platform. Search across 560 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
SAGE Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SRMO links over 100,000 pages of SAGE’s renowned book, journal and reference content with truly advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SRMO focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.
SA Gazettes provides easy access to full-text databases of Government and Provincial Gazettes, Government Gazette Index and Parliamentary Bills. Complete Gazette information available in electronic format.
Cambridge Journals Online provides full text for over one hundred journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Subject areas include African Studies, Agriculture, Anthropology, Biomedical Sciences, Business and Economics, History, Language and Linguistics, Mathematics, Medicine, Philosophy, Earth Sciences, Molecular Biology, Law, Politics and many others.
UWC Library offers access to 1797 journal titles on the Taylor & Francis platform, at https://www-tandfonline-com.ezproxy.uwc.ac.za/. Coverage is from 1997 to present.
EbscoHost Web allows you to access more than two dozen different databases covering a vast multitude of subjects. These databases can be searched individually (by clicking on the name of the database), or a few at a time (by selecting the check box next to those you wish to search), or all at once (by checking the Select All check box). Most databases provide full text access to articles from scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers. Some of the databases available via the EBSCOhost platform are multi-disciplinary, like "Academic Search Premier", for example.
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville,
7535
Tel: 021 959 2946
