+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za
The library collects books to support your studies. More recently we are purchasing mainly eBooks. This page presents three main categories of books: New Books, Prescribed Textbooks and Reference Books.
You can find books in the library by using uKwazi. The video below will guide you on how to search for books and articles on uKwazi.
Ebooks can be accessed by clicking on the relevant link on uKwazi. Physical books are shelved according to the Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC) System and Political Studies books are mainly located on Level 7 between 320-329 on the following subjects and DDC numbers:
| SUBJECT CATEGORY | DDC NO. |
| Political studies | 320 |
| Systems of governments and states | 321 |
| Relation of the state to organised groups and their members | 322 |
| Civil and political rights | 323 |
| The political process | 324 |
| International migration and colonizaton | 325 |
| Slavery and emancipation | 326 |
| International relations | 327 |
| The legislative process | 328 |
| Political parties | 329 |
The Participation Paradox: Between Bottom-Up and Top-Down Development in South Africa by
The last two decades have ushered in what has become known as a participatory revolution, with consultants, advisors, and non-profits called into communities, classrooms, and corporations alike to listen to ordinary people. With exclusively bureaucratic approaches no longer en vogue, authorities now opt for “open” forums for engagement. In The Participation Paradox Luke Sinwell argues that amplifying the voices of the poor and dispossessed is often a quick fix incapable of delivering concrete and lasting change. The ideology of public consultation and grassroots democracy can be a smokescreen for a cost-effective means by which to implement top-down decisions. As participation has become mainstreamed by governments around the world, so have its radical roots become tamed by neoliberal forces that reinforce existing relationships of power. Drawing from oral testimonies and ethnographic research, Sinwell presents a case study of one of the poorest and most defiant Black informal settlements in Johannesburg, South Africa - Thembelihle, which consists of more than twenty thousand residents - highlighting the promises and pitfalls of participatory approaches to development. Providing a critical lens for understanding grassroots democracy, The Participation Paradox foregrounds alternatives capable of reclaiming participation's emancipatory potential.
Non-Western Global Theories of International Relations by
This book seeks to reposition international relations (IR) theory by providing insights into non-Western concepts and theories. By engaging with understandings of power, identity, the state and the individual from a range of states outside of the Western hemisphere, the contributors to this book introduce new methods for understanding aspects of IR in context considerate ways. Engagements with Western theories and cases highlight how we need to reposition traditional understandings to allow non-Western approaches to IR develop alongside and inform their Western counterparts. Moreover, the book reinforces the need to move beyond the traditionally used Western-centric lenses without removing them completely, instead it advocates a harmonisation between them to reduce generalisations across the local, state and regional levels.
E. H. Carr: Imperialism, War and Lessons for Post-Colonial IR by
This book highlights important parallels between Carr and three influential figures in the first wave of post-colonialism--DuBois, Césaire and Fanon--on the analysis of imperialism and the causes of war. Specifically, Carr's analysis of imperialism and war parallels the first wave post-colonial thinkers in two respects. First, Carr's work historically situates imperialism in the context of the social question in Western democracies. Second, Carr's work provides an ideology critique to Enlightenment rationalism, which postulates that 'reason could determine what [are] the universally valid moral laws' and thus 'by the voice of reason men could be persuaded both to save their own immoral souls and to move along the path of political enlightenment and progress' (Carr 1984, 22 and 24). Carr's ideology critique exposes the Enlightenment's pretences of reason and universality as a deceptive plea that legitimates imperialism. These parallels, the book argues, reveal that Carr didnot only recognise global hierarchy, but also theorised the role of what Julian Go refers to as the 'episteme of empire'--that is, 'the meanings and modalities of seeing and knowing that ... accompanied empire and made it possible in the first place' (Go 2017, 19-20). Carr's IR theory, in short, was much closer to post-colonial thinking than previously appreciated in the discipline.
Power Transition in the Anarchical Society by
This book examines the ongoing power transition and its ramifications for world order from an international society perspective. In that perspective, the outcome of big changes in the distribution of power is a matter of socialization rather than structural determination or the resilience of the so-called Liberal world order. Consequently, the key question of this book is how the ongoing power transition affects, and is affected by, the social institutions of world order including sovereignty, the balance of power, international law, diplomacy, trade, humanitarian intervention, national self-determination, and environmental stewardship. The guiding theoretical assumption of the book is that power transition stimulates fundamental institutional change rather than major conflict or a breakdown of international order, while international organizations are key arenas for the realization and negotiation of such changes, not the victims of hegemonic retreat. The argument is pursued in sections on rising and declining powers (Anglo-America, Russia, China and the EU, among others), consequences for the fundamental social institutions and changes in international organizations, globally and regionally. In combination, the chapters reveal the contours of the coming world order.
Frantz Fanon, psychiatry and politics by
The thoughts of a young psychiatrist on race, social psychiatry, theories of madness and "the human condition" -- The political phenomenology of the body and Black alienation -- Colonial psychiatry and the birth of a critical ethnopsychiatry -- Suspect bodies: a phenomenology of colonial experience -- Further steps towards a critical ethnopsychiatry sociotherapy: its strengths and weaknesses -- The impossibility of mental health in a colonial society: Fanon joins the FLN -- Psychiatry, violence, and revolution: body and mind in context -- The Tunis psychiatric day hospital -- Bitter orange: the consequences of colonial war -- From colonial to postcolonial disorders, or the psychic life of history.
The Political Campaign Desk Reference by
The book you don't want your opponent to have. - Terry Grundy, University of Cincinnati "Urban Lobbying" courses in the School of Planning "With instruction on how to form the backbone of a strong campaign and how to plan to win, this is the book you don't want your opponent to have. The chapter on fundraising alone will make this book an excellent investment for any candidate or organization" - Michael P. McNamara, Author
The Statesman's Yearbook 2015 by
Now in its 151st edition, The Statesman's Yearbook continues to be the reference work of choice for accurate and reliable information on every country in the world. Covering political, economic, social and cultural aspects, the Yearbook is also available online for subscribing institutions: http://www.statesmansyearbook.com.
Political Philosophy A-Z by
A comprehensive, up to date and concise guide to one of the most important branches of philosophy. Both topical and historical, Political Philosophy A-Z has entries on Hobbes, Marx, and Rorty, as well as entries which explain what 'contract theory' is, and gives an account of 'multi-culturalism.' This book guides the reader through the intricacies of political theory, enabling them to trace their way through a debate, fixing historical and theoretical points of reference along the way. It is well suited for students studying political philosophy at university.Political Philosophy A-Z links up positions, thinkers and theories without unnecessary technicality. It is a valuable guide to political theorising.
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics by
This best-selling dictionary contains over 1,700 entries on all aspects of politics. Written by a leading team of political scientists, it embraces the whole multi-disciplinary specturm of political theory including political thinkers, history, institutions, and concepts, as well as notablecurrent affairs that have shaped attitudes to politics. An appendix contains timelines listing the principal office-holders of a range of countries including the UK, Canada, the USA, Australia, New Zealand, Russia, and China.Fully revised and updated for the 3rd edition, the dictionary includes a wealth of new material in areas such as international relations, political science, political economy, and methodologies, as well as a chronology of key political theorists. It also boasts entry-level Internet links that don'tgo out of date. These can be accessed via a regularly checked and updated companion website, ensuring that the links remain relevent, and any dead links are replaced or removed.The dictionary has international coverage and will prove invaluable to students and academics studying politics and related disciplines, as well as politicians, journalists, and the general reader seeking clarification of political terms.
Politics by
Stimulating, succinct , and accessible, this highly successful text offers a truly comprehensive introduction to the study of politics, written from an international perspective. This third edition of Politics has a new chapter on the mass media and political communication and contains substantial new material on developments such as the " War on Terror, " identity politics and multiculturalism, and state transformation. It also takes into account throughout of the increasing importance of the global dimension of politics, and features new boxed material on major thinkers and key concepts.
Reflections on the 2019 South African general elections : Quo vadis? by
Introduction: Quo Vadis? Reflections on the 2019 South African General Elections / Joleen Steyn Kotze and Narnia Bohler-Muller -- Do Election Campaigns Matter in South Africa? An Examination of Fluctuations in Support for the ANC, DA, IFP and NNP 1994-2019 / Cherrel Africa -- Voting preferences of Protesters and Non-protesters in three South African Elections (2014 - 2019): Revisiting the Ballot and the Brick' / Carin Runciman, Martin Bekker and Terri Maggot -- Land Reform and Belonging in South Africa: A place-making Perspective / Leslie J. bank and Tim G.B. Hart -- Coexistance as a Strategy for Opposition Parties in Challenging the African National Congress' One-party Dominance / Isaac Khambule, Amarone Nomdo, Babalwa Siswana and Gilbert Fokou -- Election of the National President: South Africa's Approach and its implications for Presidentialism / Dirk Kotze -- The decline of Partisan voting and the rise in electoral uncertainty in South Africa's 2019 General Elections / Collette Schulz-Herzenberg -- The unconvinced Vote: The nature and Determinants of voting Intentions and the changing character of South African Electoral Politics / Benjamin J. Roberts, Jare Struwig, Steven L. Gordon and Yul Derek Davids -- Conclusion: Quo Vadis South Africa? / Joleen Steyn and Narnia Bohler-Muller
African Political Thought by
African liberation is often seen in terms of heroism, but seldom in terms of thought. Even Sartre, in his preface to Frantz Fanon's seminal The Wretched of the Earth, wrote of the 'native' with his coiled muscles about to explode into rebellion. The African and the black person are denied the condition of philosophy, apparently driven only by frustration and anger.Stephen Chan's new book charts the long history of African political thought, from the years of North American slavery, through the development of modern African nationalism and the difficulties of governing new states, to Africa's political philosophy today, taking on the world as an equal. He dwells at length on major figures from Marcus Garvey and Kwame Nkrumah's postcolonial generation to Biko, Mandela and Ellen Johnson Sirleaf. He shows their leadership to be inseparable from their ideas, and from those of literary giants including Fanon, W.E.B. Du Bois and Ngũgĩ wa Thiong'o.This is no hagiography: Chan critically examines his thinkers, who also include Mugabe and Mobutu, and expresses concern for the future of Pan-Africanism. But his fascinating account reveals a thoughtful continent that has made complex, significant contributions to the world's intellectual commons-yet continues to seek freedom.
The Oxford Handbook of Comparative Politics by
The Oxford Handbooks of Political Science is a ten-volume set of reference books offering authoritative and engaging critical overviews of the state of political science. Each volume focuses on a particular part of the discipline, with volumes on Public Policy, Political Theory, PoliticalEconomy, Contextual Political Analysis, Comparative Politics, International Relations, Law and Politics, Political Behavior, Political Institutions, and Political Methodology. The project as a whole is under the General Editorship of Robert E. Goodin, with each volume being edited by a distinguishedinternational group of specialists in their respective fields. The books set out not just to report on the discipline, but to shape it. The series will be an indispensable point of reference for anyone working in political science and adjacent disciplines.The Oxford Handbook of Comparative Politics offers a critical survey of the field of empirical political science through the collection of a set of chapters written by 47 top scholars in the discipline of comparative politics. Part I includes chapters surveying the key research methodologiesemployed in comparative politics (the comparative method; the use of history; the practice and status of case-study research; the contributions of field research) and assessing the possibility of constructing a science of comparative politics. Parts II to IV examine the foundations of politicalorder: the origins of states and the extent to which they relate to war and to economic development; the sources of compliance or political obligation among citizens; democratic transitions, the role of civic culture; authoritarianism; revolutions; civil wars and contentious politics. Parts V and VIexplore the mobilization, representation and coordination of political demands. Part V considers why parties emerge, the forms they take and the ways in which voters choose parties. It then includes chapters on collective action, social movements and political participation. Part VI opens up withessays on the mechanisms through which political demands are aggregated and coordinated. This sets the agenda to the systematic exploration of the workings and effects of particular institutions: electoral systems, federalism, legislative-executive relationships, the judiciary and bureaucracy.Finally, Part VII is organized around the burgeoning literature on macropolitical economy of the last two decades.
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville,
7535
Tel: 021 959 2946
