Referencing Styles Guide @ UWC: Journal & newspaper articles

Scholarly journals often group several individual issues under a single volume number. In these instances, page numbers are not renumbered for each issue, but continue consecutively across issues (e.g. Issue #1 may have page numbers 1-234, Issue #2 235-356, etc.). For such journals, include only the volume number in the reference list citation.

Nkuna, Paul. “Preparing for talent: Towards transformed indigenous African language disciplines at South African universities.” South African Journal of African Languages. 30.2 (2010): 222-233. Print.

Schmidt J.M. and West M.  “Whiteness Studies in South African Literature: A  bibliography.” English in Africa. 37.1  (2010): 103–114. Print.

When citing journal articles from an online database use the following format:

Author’s name. “Title of work or material.”  Name of periodical. Volume number.issue number (Date of publication): range of pages (if there are no page numbers, use n. pag.). Name of database. Medium of publication (Web). Date of access (day, month, and year). <URL, if required>.

Kapp, Rochelle. “‘Reading on the Line’: An Analysis of  Literacy Practices in ESL Classes in a South  African Township School.” Language and Education. 18.3 (2004): 246-263. Ebscho Host. Web. 19 November 2012. http://web.ebscohost.com/ehost/pdfviewer/pdfviewer?vid=5&hid=10&sid=570830f1-eb20-4777-a1ec-27e0fd305468%40sessionmgr10

Goldschmidt, Myra. “Identifying Labels among University Students in the New South Africa: A Retrospective Study.”  Journal of Black Studies. 34.2 (2003): 204-221. JSTOR. Online. 20 November 2012.http://www.jstor.org/stable/3180904

In the reference list, give the date of the magazine, but do not provide volume and issue numbers even if they are listed:

Varga, Ellis. “Shakespeare made easy.” The Teacher  30 September 1996: 11-23. Print.

Coetzer, P. “The Zulu in my dictionary: Documenting the origins of South Africanisms.” Leadership 2 September 2012. http://www.leadershiponline.co.za/articles/the-zulu-in-my-dictionary

If the article is not printed on consecutive pages, include only the first page number followed by a plus sign in the reference list:

Johnson, Andrew. “Young poets brush aside poverty to give language a shot of something stimulating.” Teacher Education 7 September 1997: 20+. Print.

Take note of the following when citing newspapers:

• Omit the initial article of a newspaper title (e.g. A, An, The) even if it is present.
• When listing the date of publication, do not include volume and issue numbers, even if they are present.
• Abbreviate all months according to the section 7.2 of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th ed., except for May, June and July.
• If an edition is listed on the paper, include this after the date.
• If each section of the paper has separate page numbers, include the section number or letter with the page numbers. If the article is not printed on consecutive pages, write only the first page number followed by a + sign.

Sampson, Anthony. “The Golden Thread.” Sunday Times 20 June 1999: 25+. Print.

Beaver, Trish. “The end of Dr Seuss? Far from it.” Sunday Star 29 September 1991: C1. Print.

Coetzer, P. “The Zulu in my dictionary: Documenting the origins of South Africanisms.” Leadership 2 September 2012. http://www.leadershiponline.co.za/articles/the-zulu-in-my-dictionary

McIntosh, Sue. “Teaching English Punctuation.” Teaching English Today. Vol  4. Nov. (2012). 16 Nov. 2012. Web. 23 Nov. 2012.http://www.teachenglishtoday.org/index.php/2012/11/16

Smuts, Eckard. “J. M. Coetzee and the politics of selfhood.” English in Africa. 39. 1. (2012): 21-36. Web. 22 Nov. 2012.

De Lange, Deon, and Mpofu, Michael. “‘English tongue has colonised our minds.’” Cape Times.  26 Jan. 2012. iolnews. Web.  22 Nov. 2012. http://www.iol.co.za/news/politics/english-tongue-has-colonised-our-minds-1.1220593