+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za
Textbooks are a very good source for starting research on any topic and should be seen as your first port of call. Do take care to use the latest editions where possible. Within a library environment books on the same subject are found together on the shelves.
Once you have found books on your topic browse the shelves for more on the same topic. Many law books are now published as e-books.
The reason why one should start with the books is that they will give both a broad overview of the subject as well as some detail on specifics. Usually, the author(s) or editor(s) will have done considerable research on a topic for the book. It is recommended that you follow up the footnotes to legislation, regulations, case law, books, and other material.
It may be helpful to see a visual display of the research process. See a general flowchart for the legal research process.
The law of persons in South Africa by
A. General introduction. An introduction to the law of persons. pt. B. Legal subjectivity. A definition of concepts -- The beginning of legal subjectivity -- The end of legal subjectivity. pt. C. Status and the factors that influence it. Status: an introduction -- Domicile and citizenship -- Birth and adoption -- Minority -- Curatorship, prodigality, and insolvency -- Mental illness, physical disability and the influence of alcohol and drugs on capacity -- Race custom and religion.
The Law of Family in South Africa by
The book provides an accessible introduction to the principles of the law of family. Dealing constructively with the inherent change, uncertainty and possibility within this area of law, the text provides the essential material in a comprehensive source and gives attention to linking up all ofthe concepts as a holistic whole. It is designed to reflect the content of an undergraduate LLB course, and it covers thoroughly all the important topics within the subject, including recent key developments and cases.The book includes features to support student learning by inspiring independent, critical and reflective engagement with the subject. The book would also be a useful resource for legal practitioners wishing to clarify new or foundational principles of the field.
Criminal Procedure Handbook by
Part I. Selected general principles of the law of criminal procedure -- A basic introduction to criminal procedure -- The criminal courts of the Republic -- The prosecution of crime -- The right to legal assistance -- The accused : his or her presence as a party -- Part II. The criminal process -- Phase one: Pre-trial criminal procedure -- The exercise of powers and the vindication of individual rights -- Securing the attendance of the accused at the trial -- Interrogation, interception and establishing the bodily features of a persons -- Search and seizure -- Bail and other forms of release -- Pre-trial examinations -- Phase two: The trial -- Indictments and charge sheets -- The trial courts -- Arraignment and plea of an accused -- Miscellaneous matters relating to the trial -- Joinder and separation of trials -- Trial principles and the course of the criminal trial -- The verdict -- Phase three: The sentence -- The sentence -- Phase four: Post-verdict and post-sentence remedies -- Review -- Appeal -- Clemency and related powers -- Appendices -- Schedules to the Criminal Procedure Act -- Selected sections of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa -- References -- References to the Criminal Procedure Act -- References to the Child Justice Act -- References to the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1996 -- References to the Superior Courts Act -- Subject index.
Criminal Procedure Legislative Guide by
This unique seminal work is the only book which comprehensively addresses current environmental management in South Africa from an interdisciplinary perspective. The third edition of Fuggle & Rabie's Environmental Management in South Africa sheds light on the legal frameworks in regional and international environmental law, administrative law and the National Environmental Management Act (NEMA). Key themes addressed in environmental management, including agriculture and soils, air quality, biodiversity, climate change, energy, the coast, economics, trade and the role of financial institutions (among others), are covered from both scientific and legal perspectives.
Dugard's International Law : A South African Perspective by
This fifth edition of International Law: A South African Perspective is now titled Dugard's International Law: A South African Perspective, in recognition of the fact that this work is a continuation of the earlier editions written by John Dugard. The substance of the work has undergone major changes to take account of new developments both on the international legal scene and in South Africa. Dugard's International Law: A South African Perspective presents a South African perspective of international law. The basic principles of international law are described and examined with reference to the principal sources of international law. This examination, however, takes place within the context of South African law. South African state practice, judicial decisions and legislation on international law receive equal treatment with international law as it is practised and taught abroad.
English for Law Students by
Intends to encourage dialogue and interaction between the lecturer and student. This title includes the methodology that is not only useful to law students but also to those lecturers who do not have a legal background. It contains exercises for listening practice, that aims at developing and refining note-making skills.
"The Law of South Africa (LAWSA) is the only complete narrative statement of South African law from all its sources, including statutory law, case law, and common law. It has been published for over 40 years and is widely considered a prestigious authority and first point of reference for research. It is arranged alphabetically by subject into 162 titles, each title written by a subject expert from the judiciary, legal profession, or academia, and is vetted by an eminent editorial panel. It includes several indexes and updating services. Available in online and in print as 63 hardcover title volumes + 2 volume Lawsa supplement." (Definition from LexisNexis).
Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations
Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations
This database allows you to search for the meaning of abbreviations for English language legal publications, from the British Isles, the Commonwealth, and the United States, including those covering international and comparative law.
A wide selection of major foreign language law publications is also included. Publications from over 295 jurisdictions are featured in the Index.
The database mainly covers law reports and law periodicals but some other legal publications are also included. The Index is under continuous development with new abbreviations and titles being added on a regular basis.
Search by Title
Enter the title of a Law publication to find the abbreviation
Search by Abbreviation
Enter an abbreviation to find matching Law publication titles
Online Legal dictionaries
Present your student card to the staff when making your first visit to the Library to ensure that you have been registered on our database system.
How many books may be borrowed from the open shelves?
• Undergraduates: 10 items for 2 weeks
• Postgraduates: 15 items for 4 weeks; Senior Postgraduates (Masters & Doctoral Students): 20 items for 4 weeks
• Staff: 30 items for 6 weeks
Book renewal
• Items that have been borrowed from the open bookshelves may be renewed twice.
• Renewals are allowed only if the item is not overdue or not in demand.
Fines
• R1.00 per day per item for most overdue items
• R5.00 per hour per item for overdue Short loan items
Short Loans Section
• Prescribed texts, recommended readings are available in this section
• Books may be used for 1 hour only
• Books may be borrowed overnight from 2 pm during the week and 12 pm on Fridays
• Maximum of 2 items may be borrowed
• DVDs and CDRoms obtainable from this section may be viewed on level 5
Lost Material
You will be charged the replacement cost of the item plus
an additional handling charge.
Contact details:
Circulation Desk: 021 959 2946
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville,
7535
Tel: 021 959 2946
