Subject Guides: Law: Undergraduate Support Services: Law Reports

Cases Handed Down in South African Courts

All Constitutional Court (CC) cases handed down from 1995 onwards are available on www.constitutionalcourt.org.za, as well as on www.saflii.org. The CC website also provides access to a quo cases from the relevant High Court and Supreme Court of Appeal (SCA), court papers, and pleadings for CC cases.
Cases from the SCA are available on www.supremecourtofappeal.gov.za, as well as on www.saflii.org (from 1984 onwards). The SCA website itself is useful for finding out what cases are coming up for hearing and which ones have been refused the appeal and struck off or dismissed – see the ‘Bulletin section’.
A number of High Court cases from around SA are available on www.saflii.org – each collection has a different year range.
Cases may also be retrieved from various websites belonging to statutory bodies such as –
- South African Revenue Service – www.sars.gov.za.
- Pension Fund Adjudicator – www.pfa.org.za.
- Competition Commission – www.compcom.co.za.
- South Africa Human Rights Commission – www.sahrc.org.za.
- Public Protector – www.pprotect.org.
- Links to the above bodies and other government-related bodies are available on www.gov.za.
- Human rights cases such as those covering evictions and housing matters, refugees, and environment may be found on the following websites:
- Centre for Environmental Rights, Cape Town – www.cer.org.za.
- Refugees Rights Law Clinic, UCT – www.refugeerights.uct.ac.za.
- Legal Resources Centre – regional offices www.lrc.org.za.
- Lawyers for Human Rights – regional offices – www.lhr.org.za.
- Socio-Economic Rights Institute Johannesburg www.seri-sa.org.

The Southern African Legal Information Institute (SAFLII) is an online repository of legal information from South Africa that aims to promote the rule of law and judicial accountability by publishing legal material for open access in line with the objectives of the global Free Access to Law Movement.

Constitutional Court

Find copies of recent judgments heard in the CC under "latest judgments"

SCA Judgments Online

Image result for constitutional court judgements

Constitutional Court Judgments

Map of the World
Indicates reputable legal websites
Provides reputable links to different legal websites accessible on the Internet

To find out how judgments have been dealt with or commented on, or to see where journal articles have been cited, SAFLII also provides LawCite at www.saflii.org.za/LawCite/. This is an automatically generated international legal case and journal article citator. LawCite will help you to locate and find a copy of a decision, see how a decision has been subsequently dealt with, and find other materials such as journal articles about a decision. It will also help you to see how journal articles have been cited by other journal articles and cases.

If the links below are problematic, use Firefox rather than Internet Explorer to get to Juta.

Juta law newsletter
Under the NEWSLETTERS option on the Juta page are links to the weekly statutes bulletins, law reports advanced notifications; Industrial Law Journal preview, and Juta's tax law review. Once at the Juta page, scroll down to the Newsletters tab in the left-hand column, click on Newsletters and choose the option you want.
Juta law: Bills
From the main Juta page, there is an option called Bills, to view and download recent bills.

Juta ePublications Full-text South-African law reports, commentaries, journals and eBooks.
LexisNexis Full- text South African law reports, legislation, government gazettes, reference works, commentaries, ebooks, etc.

HeinOnline The world's largest legal research collection which contain multiple law collections
WestLaw Westlaw UK is a dynamic, ever-growing and easily searchable source of case law, legislation, news, legal journals, commentary, current awareness alerts and EU legal materials.

Law: Undergraduate Support Services

Faculty Librarian (Law)

Cases Handed Down in South African Courts

UWC LIBRARY & INFORMATION SERVICES