#SearchSmart! Information Literacy Tutorial

Databases offer a range of search limiters that help refine search results. Some common search limits include:

1. Full-Text Limit: By applying this limit, you retrieve articles that have the complete content available, allowing immediate access to the entire article rather than just the abstract or summary.
2. Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed Limit: This limit ensures that only scholarly or peer-reviewed articles are included in the search results, providing reliable and academically rigorous sources.
3. Publication Date Limit: This limit allows you to narrow down results based on a specific range of publication dates, helping you focus on recent or historical articles as per your research needs.
4. Source Type Limit: This limit allows you to specify the type of source you are interested in, such as academic journals, books, conference proceedings, or newspapers, to tailor your search results accordingly.
5. Subject/Area of Study Limit: Some databases provide the option to limit search results to specific subject areas or disciplines, allowing you to narrow down the focus of your research within a particular field.
6. Journal Title Limit: Narrow down search results to articles published in specific journal titles.
7. Publisher Limit: Refine results based on the publishers of the articles, allowing you to focus on publications from specific publishers. These search limiters provide additional options to refine
8. Language Limit: By setting a language limit, you can filter search results to display articles written in a specific language, enabling you to access relevant content in your preferred language of study.
9. Geography Limit: Customize your search results by restricting them to a specific geographic region, providing relevant information specific to that location.
10. Collection Limit: Search within specific subsets or subject-specific collections within a database to access more targeted results.
11. Database Limit: Limit your search to a particular database or source, enabling you to explore results from a specific resource.

It's essential to explore the search page of each database you use to familiarise yourself with the available search limiters and utilise them effectively to obtain more precise and relevant results for your research.