+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za
You can use the library catalogue, uKwazi, to search for a variety of materials, not just printed books. When you search on the catalogue you might find books, eBooks, journals and media sources in your results list.
If you are looking for a specific book, it is best to search by Author (just the surname) and just a few words from the book title. Or you can use a few topic keywords if you want to find out what we have in stock for your subject.
The catalogue will tell you the location of the book (called the shelf number), the number of copies we have and the date any items currently on loan will be due back in the Library.
Present your student card to the staff when making your first visit to the Library to ensure that you have been registered on our database system.
How many books may be borrowed from the open shelves?
• Undergraduates: 10 items for 2 weeks
• Postgraduates: 15 items for 4 weeks
• Staff: 30 items for 6 weeks
Book renewal
• Items that have been borrowed from the open bookshelves may be renewed twice.
• Renewals are allowed only if the item is not overdue or not in demand.
Fines
• R1.00 per day per item for most overdue items
• R5.00 per hour per item for overdue Short loan items
Short Loans Section
• Prescribed texts, recommended readings are available in this section
• Books may be used for 1 hour only
• Books may be borrowed overnight from 2 pm during the week and 12 pm on Fridays
• Maximum of 2 items may be borrowed
• DVDs and CDRoms obtainable from this section may be viewed on level 5
Lost Material
You will be charged the replacement cost of the item plus
an additional handling charge.
Contact details:
Circulation Desk: 021 959 2946
If we do not have a particular book you want, (either print or electronic), we can obtain it for you using our inter-library loans service.
NB: Before putting in a request please check that we do not hold an electronic or print copy.
Textbooks are a very good source for starting research on any topic and should be seen as your first port of call. Do take care to use the latest editions where possible. Within a library environment books on the same subject are found together on the shelves.
Once you have found books on your topic browse the shelves for more on the same topic. Many law books are now published as e-books.
The reason why one should start with the books is that they will give both a broad overview of the subject as well as some detail on specifics. Usually, the author(s) or editor(s) will have done considerable research on a topic for the book. It is recommended that you follow up the footnotes to legislation, regulations, case law, books and other material.
It may be helpful to see a visual display of the research process. See a general flowchart for the legal research process.
Prescribed textbooks will be available at short loan on Level 5
The law of persons in South Africa by 
The Law of Family in South Africa by 
Criminal procedure handbook by
|
|
Boberg's Law of Persons and the Family by Belinda Van Heerden; Alfred Cockrell; Raylene Keightley |
Caney's The Law of Suretyship in South Africa by C. F. Forsyth; J. T. Pretorius |
|
|
|
|
|
|
Introduction to the Law of Property by A. J. Van der Walt; G. J. Pienaar |
Law of Banking and Payment in South Africa by Robert Sharrock (Editor) |
|
|
|
Medical Ethics, Law and Human Rights 2: A South African Perspective by Keymanthri Moodley |
|
|
Principles of Evidence by P.J. Schwikkard; S.E. Van Der Merwe |
|
Refugee Law in South Africa by F. Khan (Editor); T. Schreier (Editor) |
Sociological Constitutionalism by Paul Blokker (Editor); Chris Thornhill (Editor) |
|
Principles of the Law of Sale and Lease by G. Bradfield; K. Lehmann |
|
Student's Guide to the Law of Contract by D. Bhana; E. Bonthuys; M. Nortje |
|
|
|
|
|
Authors: Snyman, C. R.6th ed. Durban: LexisNexis SA. 2014 |
Fundamental Principles of Civil Procedure Authors: Theophilopoulos, Constantine |
Information and Communications Technology Law Authors:Van der Merwe, D. P. |
Authors: Strydom, H. A.Cape Town: Oxford University Press Southern Africa. 2016 |
|
Jurisprudence in an African Context Authors: Bilchitz, David Metz, Thaddeus |
Authors: Neethling, J. Potgieter, J. M. Visser, P. J.: Seventh edition. Durban: LexisNexis SA. 2015 |
Law of Intellectual Property in South Africa Authors: Geyer, S. Kelbrick, R. A. Klopper, H. B.: Second edition. Durban: LexisNexis SA. 2016 |
South African Constitutional Law in Context Authors: Brand, Danie Freedman, Warren De Vos, Pierre: Cape Town: Oxford University Press Southern Africa. 2014 |
|
The Principles of The Law of Property in South Africa Authors: Badenhorst, P. J. Pope, Anne Mostert, Hanri: Cape Town: Oxford University Press Southern Africa. 2010 |
|
Introduction to legal pluralism in South Africa by Rautenbach, C. (Christa), editor. Publication Date: 2018 |
Africa and International Criminal Justice by Fred Aja Agwu: Publication Date: 2019-12-03 |
|
Animal Welfare and International Environmental Law by Werner Scholtz (Editor) Publication Date: 2019-05-31 |
Publication Date: 2019-01-31 |
The Child in International Refugee Law by Jason M. Pobjoy Publication Date: 2017-04-27 |
Publication Date: 2019-04-18 |
|
Courts and the Environment by Christina Voigt (Editor); Zen Makuch (Editor) Publication Date: 2018-12-28 |
Criminal Law in South Africa 3e by Gerhard Kemp Editor Publication Date: 2018 |
Publication Date: 2010-01-10 |
Essential Social Security Law by E. M. L. Strydom (Editor) Publication Date: 2006-05-01 |
|
Publication Date: 2014-12-22 |
The Human Rights Treaty Obligations of Peacekeepers by Kjetil Mujezinović Larsen Publication Date: 2012-08-05 |
An Introduction to the International Criminal Court by William A. Schabas Publication Date: 2017-01-11 |
Law of Succession Students' Handbook by M. J. De Waal; M. C. Schoeman; N. J. Wiechers Publication Date: 1996-01-01 |
Publication Date: 2014-06-11 |
|
Mega-Dams and Human Rights by Itzchak Kornfeld Publication Date: 2020-01-10 |
The Nature and Value of Vagueness in the Law by Hrafn Asgeirsson Publication Date: 2019-03-07 |
Online courts and the future of justice by Susskind, Richard E., author. Publication Date: 2019 |
The Practice and Procedure of the Inter-American Court of Human Rights by Jo M. Pasqualucci Publication Date: 2012-11-01 |
Publication Date: 2019-11-18 |
|
Publication Date: 2010-03-26 |
Publication Date: 2016-10-05 |
Publication Date: 2018-12-28 |
Publication Date: 2019-12-04 |
Publication Date: 2019-01-25 |
"The Law of South Africa (LAWSA) is the only complete narrative statement of South African law from all its sources, including statutory law, case law and common law. It has been published for over 40 years and is widely considered a prestigious authority and first point of reference for research. It is arranged alphabetically by subject into 162 titles, each title written by a subject expert from the judiciary, legal profession or academia and is vetted by an eminent editorial panel. It includes several indexes and updating services. Available in online and in print as 63 hardcover title volumes + 2 volume Lawsa supplement." (Definition from LexisNexis).
Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations
This database allows you to search for the meaning of abbreviations for English language legal publications, from the British Isles, the Commonwealth and the United States, including those covering international and comparative law.
A wide selection of major foreign language law publications is also included. Publications from over 295 jurisdictions are featured in the Index.
The database mainly covers law reports and law periodicals but some other legal publications are also included. The Index is under continuous development with new abbreviations and titles being added on a regular basis.
Enter the title of a Law publication to find the abbreviation
Search Options:
Enter an abbreviation to find matching Law publication titles
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville,
7535
Tel: 021 959 2946
