+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za
Questions, exercises and problems in financial accounting : a concepts-based introduction / 7th Ed by
This book of questions, exercises and problems has been prepared to accompany the textbook, A Concepts Based Introduction to Financial Accounting by David Kolitz. It has corresponding chapters for ease of reference. Questions, Exercises and Problems in Financial Accounting: A Concepts-based Introduction can also be used independently of the Kolitz text as a tutorial tool for _x001F_nancial accounting courses at a tertiary level.
Law and sustainable development after COVID-19 / by
"This book considers the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on the realisation of the United Nations' Sustainable Development Goals. Although efforts towards the attainment of the Sustainable Development Goals are ongoing, the COVID-19 pandemic has had a significant impact on these efforts: accentuating inequities, as well as absorbing resources. This book addresses this impact, as it takes up the question of how to ensure global recovery - in line with the target for the Sustainable Development Goals - after the pandemic. Adopting an interdisciplinary approach, but focusing particularly on the role of law and legal frameworks in this recovery, the book considers the effect of the pandemic on key industries such as shipping, insurance, manufacturing, and banking, as well as on the role of the State and non-State actors. Pursuing an explicitly Global South perspective, the book maintains that in the post-COVID era it is the elaboration a rule of law framework that is in sync with both the Global North and South that is crucial if the Sustainable Development Goals are to be achieved. This book will be of value to scholars, students and policymakers working in the general area of law and development, but especially those with specific interests in the United Nations' Sustainable Development Goals"-- Provided by publisher.
Yearbook on the African Union Volume 3 (2022) by
This is the third edition of the Yearbook on the African Union (YBAU). The YBAU is first and foremost an academic project that provides an in-depth evaluation and analysis of the institution, its processes, and its engagements. Despite the increased agency in recent years of the African Union in general, and the AU Commission in particular, little is known - outside expert policy or niche academic circles - about the Union's activities. This is the gap the Yearbook on the African Union wants to systematically address. It seeks to be a reference point for in-depth research, evidence-based policy-making and decision-making. Contributors are Festus Kofi Aubyn, Mandira Bagwandeen, Habibu Yaya Bappah, Bruce Byiers, Annie Barbara Hazviyemurwi Chikwanha, Dawit Yohannes Wondemagegnehu, Linnea Gelot, Cheryl Hendricks, Jens Herpolsheimer, Aïssatou Kanté, Tim Murithi, Edefe Ojomo, Thomas Tieku, Gino Vlavonou, Tim Zajontz.
Matrix Models for Population, Disease, and Evolutionary Dynamics by
This book offers an introduction to the use of matrix theory and linear algebra in modeling the dynamics of biological populations. Matrix algebra has been used in population biology since the 1940s and continues to play a major role in theoretical and applied dynamics for populations structured by age, body size or weight, disease states, physiological and behavioral characteristics, life cycle stages, or any of many other possible classification schemes. With a focus on matrix models, the book requires only first courses in multi-variable calculus and matrix theory or linear algebra as prerequisites. The reader will learn the basics of modeling methodology (i.e., how to set up a matrix model from biological underpinnings) and the fundamentals of the analysis of discrete time dynamical systems (equilibria, stability, bifurcations, etc.). A recurrent theme in all chapters concerns the problem of extinction versus survival of a population. In addition to numerous examples that illustrate these fundamentals, several applications appear at the end of each chapter that illustrate the full cycle of model setup, mathematical analysis, and interpretation. The author has used the material over many decades in a variety of teaching and mentoring settings, including special topics courses and seminars in mathematical modeling, mathematical biology, and dynamical systems.
Urban Ecology and Global Climate Change by
Urban Ecology and Global Climate Change Urban Ecology and Global Climate Change contains the latest practical and theoretical concepts of the emerging issues in urban ecological studies. The authors highlight some of the major challenges currently impeding ecological restoration goals in urbanized regions across the globe. It is sobering that the majority of sustainable development projects are being defeated by the increasing pace of two particular phenomena - namely climate change and urbanization. This book includes coverage of the major threats to biodiversity conservation and the most significant contributors to the deterioration of urban ecosystems. In addition, various case studies that reflect the anthropogenic interventions on ecological restoration are included. The book looks at evolving growth and urbanization concepts, monitoring of urbanization trends, land-use land cover (LULC) changes in urban and non-urban cities based on the use of open access data, urbanization affecting rural ecology, soil carbon emissions, urban development, human well-being and case studies of sustainable smart cities. Urban Ecology and Global Climate Change will find an appreciative audience amongst students of urban ecology and environmental policy, as well as policymakers, scientists and industrialists. The book provides an excellent introduction to the principles of smart city planning and urban sustainability with a view to maintaining ecological and conservation status of urban environments.
Differential equations : a dynamical systems approach to theory and practice / by
This graduate-level introduction to ordinary differential equations combines both qualitative and numerical analysis of solutions, in line with Poincaré's vision for the field over a century ago. Taking into account the remarkable development of dynamical systems since then, the authors present the core topics that every young mathematician of our time-pure and applied alike-ought to learn. The book features a dynamical perspective that drives the motivating questions, the style of exposition, and the arguments and proof techniques. The text is organized in six cycles. The first cycle deals with the foundational questions of existence and uniqueness of solutions. The second introduces the basic tools, both theoretical and practical, for treating concrete problems. The third cycle presents autonomous and non-autonomous linear theory. Lyapunov stability theory forms the fourth cycle. The fifth one deals with the local theory, including the Grobman-Hartman theorem and the stable manifold theorem. The last cycle discusses global issues in the broader setting of differential equations on manifolds, culminating in the Poincaré-Hopf index theorem. The book is appropriate for use in a course or for self-study. The reader is assumed to have a basic knowledge of general topology, linear algebra, and analysis at the undergraduate level. Each chapter ends with a computational experiment, a diverse list of exercises, and detailed historical, biographical, and bibliographic notes seeking to help the reader form a clearer view of how the ideas in this field unfolded over time.
Geometric and computational spectral theory : Seminaire de Mathematiques Superieures, June 15-26, 2015, Centre de Recherches Mathematiques, Université de Montréal, Montréal, Québec, Canada / by
The book is a collection of lecture notes and survey papers based on the mini-courses given by leading experts at the 2015 Seminaire de Mathematiques Superieures on Geometric and Computational Spectral Theory, held from June 15-26, 2015, at the Centre de Recherches Mathematiques, Universite de Montreal, Montreal, Quebec, Canada. The volume covers a broad variety of topics in spectral theory, highlighting its connections to differential geometry, mathematical physics and numerical analysis, bringing together the theoretical and computational approaches to spectral theory, and emphasizing the interplay between the two.
Partial Differential Equations by
While partial differential equations (PDEs) are fundamental in mathematics and throughout the sciences, most undergraduate students are only exposed to PDEs through the method of separation of variations. This text is written for undergraduate students from different cohorts with one sole purpose: to facilitate a proficiency in many core concepts in PDEs while enhancing the intuition and appreciation of the subject. For mathematics students this will in turn provide a solid foundation for graduate study. A recurring theme is the role of concentration as captured by Dirac's delta function. This both guides the student into the structure of the solution to the diffusion equation and PDEs involving the Laplacian and invites them to develop a cognizance for the theory of distributions. Both distributions and the Fourier transform are given full treatment. The book is rich with physical motivations and interpretations, and it takes special care to clearly explain all the technical mathematical arguments, often with pre-motivations and post-reflections. Through these arguments the reader will develop a deeper proficiency and understanding of advanced calculus. While the text is comprehensive, the material is divided into short sections, allowing particular issues/topics to be addressed in a concise fashion. Sections which are more fundamental to the text are highlighted, allowing the instructor several alternative learning paths. The author's unique pedagogical style also makes the text ideal for self-learning.
Quadrature Theory by
Every book on numerical analysis covers methods for the approximate calculation of definite integrals. The authors of this book provide a complementary treatment of the topic by presenting a coherent theory of quadrature methods that encompasses many deep and elegant results as well as a large number of interesting (solved and open) problems. The inclusion of the word ``theory'' in the title highlights the authors' emphasis on analytical questions, such as the existence and structure of quadrature methods and selection criteria based on strict error bounds for quadrature rules. Systematic analyses of this kind rely on certain properties of the integrand, called ``co-observations,'' which form the central organizing principle for the authors' theory, and distinguish their book from other texts on numerical integration. A wide variety of co-observations are examined, as a detailed understanding of these is useful for solving problems in practical contexts. While quadrature theory is often viewed as a branch of numerical analysis, its influence extends much further. It has been the starting point of many far-reaching generalizations in various directions, as well as a testing ground for new ideas and concepts. The material in this book should be accessible to anyone who has taken the standard undergraduate courses in linear algebra, advanced calculus, and real analysis.
How to Fix (unf*ck) a Country : Six Things to Reboot South Africa. by
After state capture, South Africa is f•cked not in a good place. The system is down. How do we reboot? Our is not the first country to find itself in a difficult spot. China, India, South Korea, Vietnam and many others have gone from being economic basket cases to powerhouses, lifting millions out of poverty. So how can we pick ourselves up and fix things? In this book, Roy Havemann argues that right now we need to focus on six basic'E's: Eskom, Education, Environment, Exports, Equality, and Ethics. Havemann lays out how we can practically bring in lessons from other countries and learn from their achievements and mistakes, for example, how China, Greece and Colombia solved load-shedding, how different South American countries are dealing with inequality and how Brazil and Kenya are upgrading their education systems. He shows that we are slowly moving in the right direction. Our own'Operation Vulindlela'delivery unit, which is a joint initiative of the Presidency and the Treasury, is implementing change where it's needed but more can be done to accelerate reforms to make South Africa a success. Sometimes the solutions to our problems are right here in our very own country – all that is needed is for us to recognise and harness them.
Disaster Recovery by
Now in its third edition, Disaster Recovery continues to serve as the most comprehensive book of its kind and will span the core areas that recovery managers and voluntary organizations must tackle after a disaster. It remains the go-to textbook for how to address and work through housing, donations, volunteer management, environmental recovery, historic and cultural resources, psychological needs, infrastructure and lifelines, economic recovery, public sector recovery, and much more. Special features include instructor's manual, PowerPoints, a free consultation with the authors upon adoption of the text; updated discussion questions; references and recommended readings; and updated resources for each chapter. New to the 3rd Edition A new co-author, Jenny Mincin, a recognized expert in international disaster recovery with direct field experience in emergency management, disaster recovery, and humanitarian relief to this text. New case examples from recent disasters and humanitarian crises will provide updated content and offer familiar events to readers (e.g., Hurricane María, the COVID-19 pandemic, active attackers). Increased visibility to the highest risk populations facing disaster recovery including refugees, immigrants, and asylees. New chapter on case management, which will be of particular interest to faculty in human services degree programs. Climate change as a hazard that requires adjustment before a disaster and during recovery. A broadened consideration of recovery needs including refugees and asylees fleeing both conflict and consensus disasters. This is an invaluable textbook in the field of recovery preparedness and execution.
Doing Performative Social Science by
Doing Performative Social Science: Creativity in Doing Research and Reaching Communities focuses, as the title suggests, on the actual act of doing research and creating research outputs through a number of creative and arts-led approaches. Performative Social Science (PSS) embraces the use of tools from the arts (e.g., photography, dance, drama, filmmaking, poetry, fiction, etc.) by expanding--even replacing--more traditional methods of research and diffusion of academic efforts. Ideally, it can include forming collaborations with artists themselves and creating a professional research, learning and/or dissemination experience. These efforts then include the wider community that has a meaningful investment in their projects and their outputs and outcomes. In this insightful volume, Kip Jones brings together a wide range of examples of how contributing authors from diverse disciplines have used the arts-led principles of PSS and its philosophy based in relational aesthetics in real-world projects. The chapters outline the methods and theory bases underlying creative approaches; show the aesthetic and relational constructs of research through these approaches; and show the real and meaningful community engagement that can result from projects such as these. This book will be of interest to all scholars of qualitative and arts-led research in the social sciences, communication and performance studies, as well as artist-scholars and those engaging in community-based research.
Outlaw culture : resisting representations / by
According to the Washington Post, no one who cares about contemporary African-American cultures can ignore bell hooks' electrifying feminist explorations. Targeting cultural icons as diverse as Madonna and Spike Lee, Outlaw Culture presents a collection of essays that pulls no punches. As hooks herself notes, interrogations of popular culture can b
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville,
7535
Tel: 021 959 2946
