+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za
African Dominion by
A groundbreaking history that puts early and medieval West Africa in a global context Pick up almost any book on early and medieval world history and empire, and where do you find West Africa? On the periphery. This pioneering book, the first on this period of the region's history in a generation, tells a different story. Interweaving political and social history and drawing on a rich array of sources, including Arabic manuscripts, oral histories, and recent archaeological findings, Michael Gomez unveils a new vision of how categories of ethnicity, race, gender, and caste emerged in Africa and in global history more generally. Scholars have long held that such distinctions arose during the colonial period, but Gomez shows they developed much earlier. Focusing on the Savannah and Sahel region, Gomez traces the exchange of ideas and influences with North Africa and the Central Islamic Lands by way of merchants, scholars, and pilgrims. Islam's growth in West Africa, in tandem with intensifying commerce that included slaves, resulted in a series of political experiments unique to the region, culminating in the rise of empire. A major preoccupation was the question of who could be legally enslaved, which together with other factors led to the construction of new ideas about ethnicity, race, gender, and caste--long before colonialism and the transatlantic slave trade. Telling a radically new story about early Africa in global history, African Dominion is set to be the standard work on the subject for many years to come.
Children in South African families : lives and times by 
Epidemiology and the People's Health by
Epidemiology is often referred to as the science of public health. However, unlike other major sciences, its theoretical foundations are rarely articulated. While the idea of epidemiologic theory may seem dry and arcane, it is at its core about explaining the people's health. It is about lifeand death. It is about biology and society. It is about ecology and the economy. It is about how myriad aspects of people's lives - involving work, dignity, desire, love, play, conflict, discrimination, and injustice - become literally incorporated into our bodies and manifest in our health status,individually and collectively. And it is about essential knowledge critical for improving the people's health and minimizing inequitable burdens of disease, disability, and death.Woven from a vast array of schools of thought, including those in the natural, social, and biomedical sciences, epidemiologic theory is a rich tapestry whose time for analysis is long overdue. By tracing its history and contours from ancient societies on through the development of - and debateswithin - contemporary epidemiology worldwide, Dr. Krieger shows how epidemiologic theory has long shaped epidemiologic practice, knowledge, and the politics of public health. Outlining an ecosocial theory of disease distribution that situates both population health and epidemiologic theory insocietal and ecologic context, she offers a more holistic picture of how we embody the human experience.
Intersectionality by
The concept of intersectionality has become a hot topic in academic and activist circles alike. But what exactly does it mean, and why has it emerged as such a vital lens through which to explore how social inequalities of race, class, gender, sexuality, age, ability and ethnicity shape one another? In this new book Patricia Hill Collins and Sirma Bilge provide a much-needed, introduction to the field of intersectional knowledge and praxis. They analyze the emergence, growth and contours of the concept and show how intersectional frameworks speak to topics as diverse as human rights, neoliberalism, identity politics, immigration, hip hop, global social protest, diversity, digital media, Black feminism in Brazil, violence and World Cup soccer. Accessibly written and drawing on a plethora of lively examples to illustrate its arguments, the book highlights intersectionality's potential for understanding inequality and bringing about social justice oriented change. Intersectionality will be an invaluable resource for anyone grappling with the main ideas, debates and new directions in this field.
NGOs and Social Justice in South Africa and Beyond by
Non-Governmental Organisations (NGOs) are regarded by many as vital role players in improving the lives of the poor and bringing about social justice. This book includes contributions from NGO workers, academics and social movement activists in order to provide varying perspectives on what possible role NGOs can rightly play in popular struggles. Consequently, the essays included here do not have a single message about what role NGOs ought to play in struggles for social justice, but rather invite careful reflection and critical discussion on their role both in South Africa and further afield. Contributors include: Kirk Helliker, Mazibuko Jara, Ayanda Kota, Injairu Kulundu, Tshepo Madlingozi, Firoze Manji, Sally Matthews, Koketso Moeti, Gladys Mpepho, Michael Neocosmos, Patronella Nqaba, Thapelo Tselapedi, and Ashley Westaway. (Series: Thinking Africa) [Subject: Politics, African Studies]
Queer Kinship by
What makes kinship queer? This collection from leading and emerging thinkers in gender and sexualities interrogates the politics of belonging, shining a light on the outcasts, rebels, and pioneers. Queer Kinship brings together an array of thought-provoking perspectives on what it means to love and be loved, to 'do family' and to belong in the South African context. The collection includes a number of different topic areas, disciplinary approaches, and theoretical lenses on familial relations, reproduction, and citizenship. The text amplifies the voices of those who are bending, breaking, and remaking the rules of being and belonging. Photo-essays and artworks offer moving glimpses into the new life worlds being created in and among the 'normal' and the mundane. Taken as a whole, this text offers a critical and intersectional perspective that addresses some important gaps in the scholarship on kinship and families. Queer Kinship makes an innovative contribution to international studies in kinship, gender, and sexualities. It will be a valuable resource to scholars, students, and activists working in these areas.
Youth, inequality and social change in the global south : Perspectives on children and young people by 
Agricultural nanobiotechnology : modern agriculture for a sustainable future by 
Data Visualization by
This is the age of data. There are more innovations and more opportunities for interesting work with data than ever before, but there is also an overwhelming amount of quantitative information being published every day. Data visualisation has become big business, because communication is the difference between success and failure, no matter how clever the analysis may have been. The ability to visualize data is now a skill in demand across business, government, NGOs and academia. Data Visualization: Charts, Maps, and Interactive Graphics gives an overview of a wide range of techniques and challenges, while staying accessible to anyone interested in working with and understanding data. Features: Focusses on concepts and ways of thinking about data rather than algebra or computer code. Features 17 short chapters that can be read in one sitting. Includes chapters on big data, statistical and machine learning models, visual perception, high-dimensional data, and maps and geographic data. Contains more than 125 visualizations, most created by the author. Supported by a website with all code for creating the visualizations, further reading, datasets and practical advice on crafting the images. Whether you are a student considering a career in data science, an analyst who wants to learn more about visualization, or the manager of a team working with data, this book will introduce you to a broad range of data visualization methods. Cover image: Landscape of Change uses data about sea level rise, glacier volume decline,increasing global temperatures, and the increasing use of fossil fuels. These data linescompose a landscape shaped by the changing climate, a world in which we are now living.Copyright © Jill Pelto (jillpelto.com).
Environmental DNA : for biodiversity research and monitoring by 
Extending R by
Written by John M. Chambers, the leading developer of the original S software, Extending R covers key concepts and techniques in R to support analysis and research projects. It presents the core ideas of R, provides programming guidance for projects of all scales, and introduces new, valuable techniques that extend R. The book also incorporates a new structure for interfaces applicable to a variety of languages. A reflection of what R is today, this guide explains how to design and organize extensions to R by correctly using objects, functions, and interfaces. It enables current and future users to add their own contributions and packages to R.
Forensic DNA Profiling by
DNA testing and its forensic analysis are recognized as the "gold standard" in forensic identification science methods. However, there is a great need for a hands-on step-by-step guide to teach the forensic DNA community how to interpret DNA mixtures, how to assign a likelihood ratio, and how to use the subsequent likelihood ratio when reporting interpretation conclusions. Forensic DNA Profiling: A Practical Guide to Assigning Likelihood Ratios will provide a roadmap for labs all over the world and the next generation of analysts who need this foundational understanding. The techniques used in forensic DNA analysis are based upon the accepted principles of molecular biology. The interpretation of a good-quality DNA profile generated from a crime scene stain from a single-source donor provides an unambiguous result when using the most modern forensic DNA methods. Unfortunately, many crime scene profiles are not single source. They are described as mixed since they contain DNA from two or more individuals. Interpretation of DNA mixtures represents one of the greatest challenges to the forensic DNA analyst. As such, the book introduces terms used to describe DNA profiles and profile interpretation. Chapters explain DNA extraction methods, the polymerase chain reaction (PCR), capillary electrophoresis (CE), likelihood ratios (LRs) and their interpretation, and population genetic models--including Mendelian inheritance and Hardy-Weinberg equilibrium. It is important that analysts understand how LRs are generated in a probabilistic framework, ideally with an appreciation of both semicontinuous and fully continuous probabilistic approaches. KEY FEATURES: * The first book to focus entirely on DNA mixtures and the complexities involved with interpreting the results * Takes a hands-on approach offering theory with worked examples and exercises to be easily understood and implementable by laboratory personnel * New methods, heretofore unpublished previously, provide a means to innovate deconvoluting a mixed DNA profile, assign an LR, and appropriately report the weight of evidence * Includes a chapter on assigning LRs for close relatives (i.e., "It's not me, it was my brother"), and discusses strategies for the validation of probabilistic genotyping software Forensic DNA Profiling fills the void for labs unfamiliar with LRs, and moving to probabilistic solutions, and for labs already familiar with LRs, but wishing to understand how they are calculated in more detail. The book will be a welcome read for lab professionals and technicians, students, and legal professionals seeking to understand and apply the techniques covered.
Interpreting Complex Forensic DNA Evidence by
Interpreting Complex Forensic DNA Evidence is a handy guide to recent advances--and emerging issues--in interpreting complex DNA evidence and profiles for use in criminal investigations. In certain cases, DNA cannot be connected to a specific biological material such as blood, semen or saliva. How or when the DNA was deposited may be an issue. The possibility of generating DNA profiles from touched objects, where there may not be a visible deposit, has expanded the scope and number of exhibits submitted for DNA analysis. With such advances, and increasing improvements in technological capabilities in testing samples, this means it is possible to detect ever smaller amounts of DNA. There are also many efforts underway to seek was to interpret DNA profiles that are sub-optimal--either relative to the amount required by the testing kit and, potentially, the quality of the obtained sample. Laboratories often use enhancements in order to obtain a readable DNA profile. The broad-reaching implications of improving DNA sensitivity have led to this next, emerging generation of more complex profiles. Examples partial profiles that do not faithfully reflect the proposed donor, or mixtures of partial DNA from multiple people. A complexity threshold has been proposed to limit interpretation of poor-quality data. Research is now addressing the interpretation of transfer of trace amounts of DNA. Complex issues are arising in trial that need to be reconciled as such complexity has added challenges to the interpretation of evidence and its introduction or dismissal in certain cases in the courts. Key Features: Addresses DNA transfer, from person-to-person as well as to objects Outlines each stage required to produce a DNA profile from an exhibit--including collection, handling, storage, and analysis Discusses ethics, subjectivity, and bias--including cognitive dissonance--as they relate specifically to complex DNA evidence Highlights current techniques and the latest advances in DNA analysis, including advances in familial DNA searches Interpreting Complex Forensic DNA Evidence provides tools to assist the criminal investigator, forensic expert, and legal professional when posed with a DNA result in a forensic report or testimony. The result--and any associated statistic--may not reveal any ambiguity, complexity, or the assumptions involved in deriving it. Questions from resolved criminal cases are posed, and the relevant forensic literature, provided for the reader to assess a DNA result and any associated statistic. Case studies throughout illustrate concepts and emphasize the need for conclusions in the forensic report that are supported by the data.
Introduction to Food Biotechnology by
Universities throughout the US and the rest of the world offer Food Biotechnology courses. However, until now, professors lacked a single, comprehensive text to present to their students. Introduction to Food Biotechnology describes, explains, and discusses biotechnology within the context of human nutrition, food production, and food processing. Written for undergraduate students in Food Science and Nutrition who do not have a background in molecular biology, it provides clear explanations of the broad range of topics that comprise the field of food biotechnology. Students will gain an understanding of the methods and rationales behind the genetic modification of plants and animals, as well as an appreciation of the associated risks to the environment and to public health. Introduction to Food Biotechnology examines cell culture, transgenic organisms, regulatory policy, safety issues, and consumer concerns. It covers microbial biotechnology in depth, emphasizing applications to the food industry and methods of large-scale cultivation of microbes and other cells. It also explores the potential of biotechnology to affect food security, risks, and other ethical problems. Biotechnology can be used as a tool within many disciplines, including food science, nutrition, dietetics, and agriculture. Using numerous examples, Introduction to Food Biotechnology lays a solid foundation in all areas of food biotechnology and provides a comprehensive review of the biological and chemical concepts that are important in each discipline. The book develops an understanding of the potential contributions of food biotechnology to the food industry, and towards improved food safety and public health.
Plant Biotechnology: Principles and Applications by
The book traces the roots of plant biotechnology from the basic sciences to current applications in the biological and agricultural sciences, industry, and medicine. Providing intriguing opportunities to manipulate plant genetic and metabolic systems, plant biotechnology has now become an exciting area of research. The book vividly describes the processes and methods used to genetically engineer plants for agricultural, environmental and industrial purposes, while also discussing related bioethical and biosafety issues. It also highlights important factors that are often overlooked by methodologies used to develop plants' tolerance against biotic and abiotic stresses and in the development of special foods, bio-chemicals, and pharmaceuticals. The topics discussed will be of considerable interest to both graduate and postgraduate students. Further, the book offers an ideal reference guide for teachers and researcher alike, bridging the gap between fundamental and advanced approaches.
Introduction to legal pluralism in South Africa by 
Digital Curation in the Digital Humanities by
Archives and special collections departments have a long history of preserving and providing long-term access to organizational records, rare books, and other unique primary sources including manuscripts, photographs, recordings, and artifacts in various formats. The careful curatorial attention to such records has also ensured that such records remain available to researchers and the public as sources of knowledge, memory, and identity. Digital curation presents an important framework for the continued preservation of digitized and born-digital collections, given the ephemeral and device-dependent nature of digital content. With the emergence of analog and digital media formats in close succession (compared to earlier paper- and film-based formats) came new standards, technologies, methods, documentation, and workflows to ensure safe storage and access to content and associated metadata. Researchers in the digital humanities have extensively applied computing to research; for them, continued access to primary data and cultural heritage means both the continuation of humanities scholarship and new methodologies not possible without digital technology. Digital Curation in the Digital Humanities, therefore, comprises a joint framework for preserving, promoting, and accessing digital collections. This book explores at great length the conceptualization of digital curation projects with interdisciplinary approaches that combine the digital humanities and history, information architecture, social networking, and other themes for such a framework. The individual chapters focus on the specifics of each area, but the relationships holding the knowledge architecture and the digital curation lifecycle model together remain an overarching theme throughout the book; thus, each chapter connects to others on a conceptual, theoretical, or practical level.
Digital Literacy Unpacked by
Digital literacy is a powerful subject, which supports inclusivity, social mobility and digital citizenship globally. This book brings together thought-leaders and experts in the field, providing a blend of research and practice across sectors, and provides a valuable and timely insight into digital literacy and learning. Digital Literacy Unpacked not only offers a snapshot of innovative approaches to digital literacy, but also intends to provoke discussion, encourage collaboration and inspire - whatever the role or context. The editors open up the whole area of digital literacy in all its kaleidoscopic richness, and provide diverse perspectives, content and ideas to inform thinking and practice. The cross-sectoral and global significance of digital literacy is a key theme of the book. Digital literacy is relevant to higher education, further education, schools, children, and the workplace - but crucially at its heart it is a citizenship and inclusion issue, necessary for the full participation and achievement of all in society. Content covered includes: a discussion of terminology, institutional approaches, and existing frameworks digital literacy in learning and teaching copyright literacy teaching the use of digital tools and curriculum design critical approaches to literacy combatting social exclusion using digital skills. The book will be useful reading for library and information professionals across the sector (higher education, schools, business/corporate, special, public), institutional leaders and managers, and LIS students. It will also be useful reading for educational technologists, learning and teaching professionals.
Metadata for Information Management and Retrieval by
This new and updated second edition of a classic text provides a thought provoking introduction to metadata for all library and information students and professionals. Metadata for Information Management and Retrieval has been fully revised to bring it up to date with new technologies and standards. It builds on the concept of metadata through an exploration of its purposes and uses as well as considering the main aspects of metadata management. This new edition, containing new chapters on 'Very Large Data Collections' and the 'Politics and Ethics of Metadata', assesses the current theory and practice of metadata and examines key developments in terms of both policy and technology. Coverage includes: defining, describing and expressing metadata data modelling metadata and information retrieval big data, linked data, open data repositories, social media and research data collections metadata in information governance: compliance, risk and information security managing intellectual property rights the politics of metadata: ethics, power and money. This book is essential reading for library and information students at undergraduate and postgraduate level and will also be useful reading for LIS professionals looking for an accessible introduction to metadata.
Perspectives on Libraries As Institutions of Human Rights and Social Justice by
Academic, public, school, and special libraries are all institutions of human rights and social justice, with an increasingly apparent commitment to equality, to ethical principles based on rights and justice, and to programs that meet needs related to human rights and social justice. Key topics at the intersection of information, human rights, social justice, and technology include information access and literacy, digital inclusion, education, and social services, among many others. Edited by Ursula Gorham, Natalie Greene Taylor, and Paul T. Jaeger, this volume is devoted to the ideals, activities, and programs in libraries that protect human rights and promote social justice. With contributions from researchers, educators, and practitioners from a range of fields, this book is an important resource for library professionals in all types of libraries, a reference for researchers and educators about all types of libraries, and an introduction to those in other fields about the contributions of libraries to human rights and social justice.
Language, Society and Communication 2: An Introduction by
Language, society and communication explores how language is intricately bound up with issues of power, status and identity. It explores the tension between the diverse nature of everyday language practices, on the one hand, and the societal pressures towards managing and containing this diversity, on the other. It also demonstrates the relevance of linguistic study (e.g. phonology and syntax) to real-world problems (e.g. analysis of a child’s acquisition of language), within a southern African context. Study questions and case studies, which relate the theoretical ideas discussed to current research, are provided at the end of each chapter.
Child Health for All 5e by
Child Health for All takes a broad approach to child health, looking at the variety of factors affecting a child's well-being in the context of a developing country, more particularly South Africa.Child Health for All includes policies regarding community and child health issues, on children's legislation and government social assistance. Information boxes and pull quotes highlight important criteria and 'take-home' points for students, while end-of-chapter summary point boxes assist studentrevision. The fifth edition features an increased focus on the southern African context and is updated with the latest developments in the field of paediatrics.
Fundamentals of Midwifery by
Fundamentals of Midwifery: A Textbook for Students makes the subject of midwifery accessible, informative and motivating, ensuring that it is an essential text for the aspiring midwife! This resource brings together knowledge from a collection of clinical experts and experienced academics to support your learning and prepare you for the challenges faced in contemporary midwifery healthcare. It presents you with the 'must-have' information that you need concerning both the theoretical and practical aspects of what it means to be a midwife. With extensive full colour illustrations throughout, as well as activities and scenarios, this user-friendly textbook will support you throughout your entire education programme. Fundamentals of Midwifery is essential reading for all pre-registration student midwives, as well as newly qualified midwives. KEY FEATURES: * Broad and comprehensive in scope, with chapters on: team working; antenatal care, intrapartum and postnatal care; infant feeding; public health and health promotion; perinatal mental health; complementary therapies; pharmacology and medicines management; and emergencies. * Interactive and student-friendly in approach, with activities throughout. * Brings together professional and clinical topics in one user-friendly book. * Ties in with the latest NMC Standards for pre-registration midwifery education. * Supported by an online resource centre featuring interactive multiple-choice questions, additional scenarios and activities, and links to further reading.
Introduction to Health Services Management for the Unit Manager 4e by 
Juta's Complete Textbook of Medical Surgical Nursing by 
Juta's Manual of Nursing Volume 2: The Practical Manual 2e by 
Mental Health Nursing: A South African Perspective 7e by 
Oncofertility Communication by
​​Oncofertility integrates the two previously distinct fields of cancer treatment and fertility research and aims to explore and expand the reproductive future of cancer survivors. In order to achieve the goal of fertility preservation, the Oncofertility community must focus on communication and the way data is provided and received. Concomitant with the rapidly changing technology of Oncofertility, there have been radical shifts and advances in the way health educators and clinicians can produce and share information. As success rates of reproductive techniques such as egg freezing and banking continue to rise, providing increasing opportunities for young cancer patients to preserve their fertility prior to the onset of cancer treatments, communication among professionals in oncology, reproductive medicine, and psychosocial work, among others, becomes crucial, and clinical demand for Oncofertility information is expected to rise considerably. Oncofertility Communication describes and addresses the myriad channels through which the multiple audiences involved in Oncofertility can be served with appropriate and accurate information about cancer-related fertility issues. The text answers frequently asked questions and provides invaluable insights to scientific and health care professionals about communication among the diverse Oncofertility audiences. It incorporates timely discussions about traditional and emerging electronic communication tools and discusses the impact of health care policy changes on the Oncofertility field.​
Primary care psychiatry : a practical guide for southern Africa by 
Varney's Midwifery by
The gold standard for midwives and students is back with Varney's Midwifery, Fifth Edition. New to this edition are chapters describing the profession of midwifery, reproductive physiology, clinical genetics, and support for women in labor. Interwoven throughout is information on primary care, gynecology, maternity care, and neonatal care.With chapters written by a variety of expert midwives and an increased emphasis on reproductive anatomy and physiology, this new edition assists students and clinicians in understanding not only what to do but why. Updated to reflect evidence-based care, this edition also discusses the pathophysiology of various conditions in the context of normal changes in the reproductive cycle. Also included are numerous new anatomical and clinical illustrations.In this edition, the skills chapters have been significantly revised and reformatted into relevant chapter appendices to help students, new midwives, and international readers learn essential skills in sequential steps. These critical midwifery skills include performing a pelvic examination, hand maneuvers for birth, delivery of a fetus in breech presentation, and current evidence-based steps for managing a postpartum hemorrhage.New Chapters Include:* Professional Midwifery Today* Mental Health Conditions* Breast Conditions* Anatomy and Physiology of the Female Reproductive System* Physiologic Changes in Pregnancy and Fetal Development* Genetics* Anatomy and Physiology of Pregnancy: Placental, Fetal, and Maternal Adaptations* Support for Women in Labor* Anatomy and Physiology of Postpartum* Anatomy and Physiology of the Newborn
Contemporary customary land issues in Africa : navigating the contours of change by
This book examines current trends in customary land issues in Africa, focusing on the practice of converting customary land into leasehold tenure, particularly in Zambia. Since the enactment of the 1995 Lands Act No. 29 in Zambia, conversion of customary land has become a controversial policy, raising questions about the future of customary land and rural communities, and the role of traditional authorities in a changing environment. Alienating customary land into leasehold tenure has serious implications for local and national politics and gender dynamics. Analysis of these trends suggests that the policy of creating land markets on customary land is subjecting customary systems to the forces of change. However, governments that have adopted this policy have not, by and large, adopted measures to respond to these challenges.
Redeeming Leadership by
How might imperialist, masculinist and white supremacist grips on leadership be loosened? In this thought-provoking and accessible new study, Helena Liu suggests that anti-racist feminism can challenge conventional models and practices of power. Combining a critical review of leadership theory with enlightening examples from around the world, the book shows how the intellectual and activist elements of feminist movements provide antidotes to contemporary leadership research and practice. For those interested in management, organisation, feminism, race and many more studies, it sets the agenda for a radical reimagining of control and leadership in all its forms.
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville,
7535
Tel: 021 959 2946
