New Books List

Competitiveness of Global Agriculture by Attila Jambor; Suresh Babu The book combines food security and agricultural competitiveness issues and treat them together. It starts with definitions and evolution of both concepts, followed by reviews on global and regional food security challenges. The book identifies global agricultural trade and competitiveness patterns and uses it as a basis for analysing global food security. Further, the book also identifies countries/regions/products groups and develops a typology of agricultural competitiveness, giving policy lessons and recommendations on how to increase national/regional/global agricultural competitiveness to achieve sustainable food security goals. The motivation behind writing such a book are numerous. First, as researchers interested in both food security and agricultural competitiveness issues, we have always found a gap in the scientific literature in treating the two notions together. Second, as lecturers of various agricultural policy and food security related courses, we have many times been faced with questions related to the competitive positions of different countries and the factors lying behind these positions. Third, as economic advisors, we have been faced with the need to provide clear policy recommendations and lessons on how increase competitiveness and associated food security many times. Such a need is mainly coming from developing country policy and decision makers. We think the book is unique in many ways. First, it provides a consistent analysis of global agricultural trade patterns over 25 years. Second, it analyzes and synthetizes the definitions, concepts and measurement methods of competitiveness, covering a major gap in the current literature. Third, it establishes a link between the analysis of global agricultural competitiveness and food security, which is also an understudied area. Finally, the book provides policy lessons to increase a country's agricultural competitiveness and food security by identifying its determinants.

Food Security among Small-Scale Agricultural Producers in Southern Africa by Josephine Phillip Msangi The book focuses on food security highlighting the role of indigenous knowledge and scientific research in addressing the plight of poor small-scale agricultural producers. Rapidly growing global population and global policies and management governing sustainability, hunger, food security and poverty alleviation are discussed. Additionally, impacts of probable climate change, research on land productivity and performance of dependable food crops i.e. cassava and pearl millet are discussed. Analyzed in great detail are roles of small stock, urban/peri-urban agriculture and advantages of climate-smart agriculture and participatory research in enhancing food security of the small-scale agricultural producers in Southern Africa.

The World's Challenge by Marion Guillou; Gérard Matheron; Gérard Matheron If a global population of 9 billion by 2050 is to be fed adequately, more food must be produced and this in keeping with increasingly stringent standards of quality and with respect for the environment. Not to mention the land that must be set aside for the production of energy resources, industrial goods, carbon storage and the protection of biodiversity.

Business Information Systems and Technology 4. 0 by Rolf Dornberger (Editor) This book discusses digitalization trends and their concrete applications in business and societal contexts. It summarizes new findings from research, teaching and management activities comprising digital transformation, e-business, the representation of knowledge, human-computer interaction and business optimization. The trends discussed include artificial intelligence, virtual reality, robotics, blockchain, and many more. Professors and researchers who conduct research and teach at the interface between academia and business present the latest advances in their field. The book adopts the philosophy of applied sciences and combines both rigorous research and practical applications. As such, it addresses the needs of both professors and researchers, who are constantly seeking inspiration, and of managers seeking to tap the potential of the latest trends to take their business to the next level. Readers will find answers to pressing questions that arise in their daily work.

Data Management: A Practical Guide for Librarians by Margaret E. Henderson Libraries organize information and data is information, so it is natural that librarians should help people who need to find, organize, use, or store data. Organizations need evidence for decision making; data provides that evidence. Inventors and creators build upon data collected by others. All around us, people need data. Librarians can help increase the relevance of their library to the research and education mission of their institution by learning more about data and how to manage it. Data Management will guide readers through: 1.Understanding data management basics and best practices. 2.Using the reference interview to help with data management 3.Writing data management plans for grants. 4.Starting and growing a data management service. 5.Finding collaborators inside and outside the library. 6.Collecting and using data in different disciplines.

Data Management for Researchers by Kristin Briney A comprehensive guide to everything scientists need to know about data management, this book is essential for researchers who need to learn how to organize, document and take care of their own data. Researchers in all disciplines are faced with the challenge of managing the growing amounts of digital data that are the foundation of their research. Kristin Briney offers practical advice and clearly explains policies and principles, in an accessible and in-depth text that will allow researchers to understand and achieve the goal of better research data management. Data Management for Researchers includes sections on: * The data problem - an introduction to the growing importance and challenges of using digital data in research. Covers both the inherent problems with managing digital information, as well as how the research landscape is changing to give more value to research datasets and code. * The data lifecycle - a framework for data's place within the research process and how data's role is changing. Greater emphasis on data sharing and data reuse will not only change the way we conduct research but also how we manage research data. * Planning for data management - covers the many aspects of data management and how to put them together in a data management plan. This section also includes sample data management plans. * Documenting your data - an often overlooked part of the data management process, but one that is critical to good management; data without documentation are frequently unusable. * Organizing your data - explains how to keep your data in order using organizational systems and file naming conventions. This section also covers using a database to organize and analyze content. * Improving data analysis - covers managing information through the analysis process. This section starts by comparing the management of raw and analyzed data and then describes ways to make analysis easier, such as spreadsheet best practices. It also examines practices for research code, including version control systems. * Managing secure and private data - many researchers are dealing with data that require extra security. This section outlines what data falls into this category and some of the policies that apply, before addressing the best practices for keeping data secure. * Short-term storage - deals with the practical matters of storage and backup and covers the many options available. This section also goes through the best practices to insure that data are not lost. * Preserving and archiving your data - digital data can have a long life if properly cared for. This section covers managing data in the long term including choosing good file formats and media, as well as determining who will manage the data after the end of the project. * Sharing/publishing your data - addresses how to make data sharing across research groups easier, as well as how and why to publicly share data. This section covers intellectual property and licenses for datasets, before ending with the altmetrics that measure the impact of publicly shared data. * Reusing data - as more data are shared, it becomes possible to use outside data in your research. This chapter discusses strategies for finding datasets and lays out how to cite data once you have found it. This book is designed for active scientific researchers but it is useful for anyone who wants to get more from their data: academics, educators, professionals or anyone who teaches data management, sharing and preservation. "An excellent practical treatise on the art and practice of data management, this book is essential to any researcher, regardless of subject or discipline." --Robert Buntrock, Chemical Information Bulletin

The Internet of Things by Scott J. Shackelford The Internet of Things (IoT) is the notion that nearly everything we use, from gym shorts to streetlights, will soon be connected to the Internet; the Internet of Everything (IoE) encompasses not just objects, but the social connections, data, and processes that the IoT makes possible.Industry and financial analysts have predicted that the number of Internet-enabled devices will increase from 11 billion to upwards of 75 billion by 2020. Regardless of the number, the end result looks to be a mind-boggling explosion in Internet connected stuff. Yet, there has been relatively littleattention paid to how we should go about regulating smart devices, and still less about how cybersecurity should be enhanced. Similarly, now that everything from refrigerators to stock exchanges can be connected to a ubiquitous Internet, how can we better safeguard privacy across networks andborders? Will security scale along with this increasingly crowded field? Or, will a combination of perverse incentives, increasing complexity, and new problems derail progress and exacerbate cyber insecurity? For all the press that such questions have received, the Internet of Everything remains atopic little understood or appreciated by the public.This volume demystifies our increasingly "smart" world, and unpacks many of the outstanding security, privacy, ethical, and policy challenges and opportunities represented by the IoE. Scott J. Shackelford provides real-world examples and straightforward discussion about how the IoE is impacting ourlives, companies, and nations, and explain how it is increasingly shaping the international community in the twenty-first century. Are there any downsides of your phone being able to unlock your front door, start your car, and control your thermostat? Is your smart speaker always listening? How areother countries dealing with these issues? This book answers these questions, and more, along with offering practical guidance for how you can join the effort to help build an Internet of Everything that is as secure, private, efficient, and fun as possible.

Building Climate Resilience Through Virtual Water and Nexus Thinking in the Southern African Development Community by Anna Entholzner (Editor); Charles Reeve (Editor) This book puts the spotlight on Southern Africa, presentinga cutting-edge concept never previously explored in the context of climatechange and putting forward arguments for regional integration and cooperation.The Climate Resilient Infrastructure Development Facility (CRIDF) is the newwater infrastructure program of the UK Department for International Development(DFID) for Southern Africa. The CRIDF promotes the establishment of small tomedium-scale infrastructure across the Southern African Development Community(SADC) through technical assistance aimed at developing sustainable pro-poorprojects, while also facilitating access to the financial resources needed todeliver said infrastructure. Further, it focuses on regional water resourcemanagement goals and basin plans, as well as on building climate resilience forthe beneficiary communities. The Facility's Virtual Water and Nexus Projectworks to improve regional peace dividends by translating the Nexus concept intonational and regional policies; it ultimately promotes sovereign securitythrough greater regional integration across the water, food and energy sectors,while taking into account potential benefits in connection with carbonsequestration and emission mitigation.

Economics for a Fairer Society Going Back to Basics using Agent-Based Models / by Gooding, Tim, author. This Palgrave Pivot presents experiments that reveal core dynamics of trade in a complex system. Monetary trade is stripped of all its complications and placed in agent-based models, a complexity research tool capable of reproducing emergent behaviour and evolution. Included are ground-breaking repeatable experiments exploring the impact of evolutionary prerequisites empirically present in markets. Isolating the core dynamics of trade results in very simple agent-based models. However, decades of complexity research demonstrate that even the simplest systems result in emergent behaviour that is extremely difficult to anticipate. Readers who are only familiar with the linear-system theories and models used to train almost all undergraduate economics students might be surprised to witness price detaching from supply and demand, and extreme poverty and wealth arising in trade systems populated by agents with equal ability and opportunity. Watch as empirical evolutionary prerequisites are introduced and price patterns characterising two different markets – asset markets and speculative markets – emerge irrespective of supply and demand. In addition to laying the groundwork of monetary trade in a complex system, more complicated models feature mortal reproductive agents. Including ‘living’ populations in economic models reveal how the complexity characteristics of our market economy are impacting impoverishment and starvation. This book invites anyone interested in economics to join the growing ranks of people who are fascinated by the insights offered by complexity research.

The Political Economy of Underdevelopment in the Global South by Justin van der Merwe; Nicole Dodd This book presents a new theory explaining underdevelopment in the global South and tests whether financial inputs, the government-business-media (GBM) complex and spatiotemporal influences drive human development. Despite the entrance of emerging powers and new forms of aid, trade and investment, international political-economic practices still support well-established systems of capital accumulation, to the detriment of the global South. Global asymmetrical accumulation is maintained by 'affective' (consent-forming hegemonic practices) and 'infrastructural' (uneven economic exchanges) labours and by power networks. The message for developing countries is that 'robust' GBMs can facilitate human development and development is constrained by spatiotemporal limitations. This work theorizes that aid and foreign direct investment should be viewed with caution and that in the global South these investments should not automatically be assumed to be drivers of development.

Sustainable bioeconomy : pathways to sustainable development goals by V. Venkatramanan (Editor); Shachi Shah (Editor); Ram Prasad (Editor) Sustainable development is the most important challenge facing humanity in the 21st century. The global economic growth in the recent past has indeed exhibited marked progress in many countries. Nevertheless, the issues of income disparity, poverty, gender gaps, and malnutrition are not uncommon in the global landscape, in spite of the upward growth of the economy and technological advances. This grim picture is further exacerbated by our growing human population, unmindful resource use, ever-increasing consumption trends, and changing climate. In order to protect humanity and preserve the planet, the United Nations issued the "2030 agenda for sustainable development," which includes but is not limited to sustainable production and consumption practices, e.g. in a sustainable bioeconomy. The hallmark of the sustainable bioeconomy is a paradigm shift from a fossil-fuel-based economy to a biological-based one, which is driven by the virtues of sustainability, efficient utilization of resources, and "circular economy." As the sustainable bioeconomy is based on the efficient utilization of biological resources and societal transformations, it holds the immense potential to achieve the UN's Sustainable Development Goals. This book shares valuable insights into the linkages between the sustainable bioeconomy and Sustainable Development Goals, making it an essential read for policymakers, researchers and students of environmental studies. 

Sustainable Growth and Development of Economic Systems by Svetlana Ashmarina (Editor); Marek Vochozka (Editor) This contributed volume presents the outcomes of multidisciplinary studies on the problem of sustainable economic development. The key issues addressed here are economic transformation, crisis management, formation and implementation of industrial policy in the innovative economy, and the development of individual industries (oil refining, transport, education, tourism, the financial sector, etc.), as well as the problem of resistance to changes in the economy. Special attention is paid to economic growth under unstable conditions and the impact of digitalization on the development of economic processes. This book is dividided into five parts, the first of which deals with factors and conditions determining the sustainable development of different socio-economic systems, as well as issues in connection with the post-crisis development of regional economies. In turn, the second part is devoted to an analysis of the innovative development of the economy, risk assessment for innovation projects, readiness for changes and innovations, and various instruments of innovative economic development. Prospects for the digitalization of the economy and the current changes in economic systems caused by digitalization are considered in the third part of the book. In the fourth part, the authors discuss the specific features of labor market development, and professional competencies that will be essential to the sustainable development of the economy. In closing, the fifth part presents sectoral and intra-organizational aspects of sustainable economic development.

The Transnational Land Rush in Africa by Logan Cochrane (Editor); Nathan Andrews (Editor) This volume provides up-to-date information on what has happened in the African 'land rush', providing national case studies for countries that were heavily impacted.  The research will be a critical resource for students, researchers, advocates and policy makers as it provides detailed, long-term assessments of a broad range of national contexts. In addition to the specific questions of land and investment, this book sheds light on the broader international political economy of development in different African countries.  

Waterworlds by Kirsten Hastrup (Editor); Frida Hastrup (Editor) In one form or another, water participates in the making and unmaking of people's lives, practices, and stories. Contributors' detailed ethnographic work analyzes the union and mutual shaping of water and social lives. This volume discusses current ecological disturbances and engages in a world where unbounded relationalities and unsettled frames of orientation mark the lives of all, anthropologists included. Water emerges as a fluid object in more senses than one, challenging anthropologists to foreground the mutable character of their objects of study and to responsibly engage with the generative role of cultural analysis.

Agency and Social Transformation in South African Higher Education by Grace Ese-osa Idahosa This book explores the process of transformation, discussing how individuals are capable of acting to enable transformation of structures and cultures through the lens of South African higher education. Agency and Social Transformation in South African Higher Education examines the role of agency in effecting change amidst the rigid conditions within South African universities. Arguing for a focus on transformation from below, it explores transformation and agency from the perspective of academic staff. Through discussing moments at which faculty members embedded in rigid structures and cultures perceive themselves as having had the agency to interrupt and transform them, despite their rigidity, this book describes the nuances of social action and agency within the South African higher education institutional context and the ways in which contextual histories may provide enabling/limiting conditions to individuals within them. This book makes an important contribution to the field of agency and social transformation theoretically, methodologically and geographically as it details the motivations for transformation, how individuals become agents of change and the practical experiences of these individuals from a localised perspective. Agency and Social Transformation in South African Higher Education will be of interest to scholars and students of African higher education, transformation studies and postcolonial studies.

Civil Society and Social Responsibility in Higher Education by Enakshi Sengupta (Editor); Patrick Blessinger (Editor); Craig Mahoney (Editor) As an increasing number of universities across the world focus efforts on giving back to the communities they exist in, there is now a growing appetite for information, examples, and case studies of best practice for social responsibility in Higher Education. This volume explores different angles of sustainability, university corporate social responsibility, and the role of civil society in the context of education, with a focus on curriculum development and teaching. The chapters provide international examples of new and innovative intiatives, focusing on areas including eliminating racism in nursing education, teaching writing for advocacy and active citizenship, and several examples of service learning in different contexts. The chapters also importantly provide theoretical frameworks for teaching sustainability in Higher Education. This book will prove an invaluable resource for those looking to reorienting curriculums, develop programs and modules, and implement innovative teaching methods which integrate sustainability and civil society into their institutions and educational programmes.

Facilitating Language Learning in the Foundation Phase by Marguerite Wessels Facilitating language learning in the Foundation Phase is a comprehensive resource covering the teaching of English Home Language (HL) and English First Additional Language (FAL) learners in the Foundation phase. Additional pre-listening and pre-reading activities support FAL learners while HLlearners have more advanced texts and tasks. Phonetic charts in Sesotho, Afrikaans, Zulu, Xhosa and Setswana are included so that the student-teacher may adapt the lessons according to the language of learning and teaching employed in the classroom.

Handbook of Research on Integrating Digital Technology with Literacy Pedagogies by Pamela M. Sullivan (Editor); Jessica L. Lantz (Editor); Brian A. Sullivan (Editor) The allure and marketplace power of digital technologies continues to hold sway over the field of education with billions spent annually on technology in the United States alone. Literacy instruction at all levels is influenced by these evolving and ever-changing tools. While this opens the door to innovations in literacy curricula, it also adds a pedagogical responsibility to operate within a well-developed conceptual framework to ensure instruction is complemented or augmented by technology and does not become secondary to it. The Handbook of Research on Integrating Digital Technology With Literacy Pedagogies is a comprehensive research publication that considers the integration of digital technologies in all levels of literacy instruction and prepares the reader for inevitable technological advancements and changes. Covering a wide range of topics such as augmented reality, literacy, and online games, this book is essential for educators, administrators, IT specialists, curriculum developers, instructional designers, teaching professionals, academicians, researchers, education stakeholders, and students.

Language and Decoloniality in Higher Education by Zannie Bock (Editor); Christopher Stroud (Editor) Language and Decoloniality in Higher Education brings together a collection of diverse papers that address, from various angles, the issue of decoloniality, language and transformation in higher education. It reflects the authors' cumulative years of experience as educators in higher education in different southern contexts. Distilled as case studies, the authors use a range of decolonial lenses to reflect on questions of knowledge, language and learning, and to build a reflexive praxis of decoloniality through multilingualism. Besides a number of decolonial persepectives which readers will be familiar with, this volume also explores a conceptual framework, Linguistic Citizenship, developed over the past two decades by scholars in southern Africa. In this collection, Linguistic Citizenship is used as a lens to 'think beyond' the inherited colonial matrices of language which have shaped this region (and many other southern contexts) for centuries, and to 're-imagine' multilingualism - and semiotics, more broadly - as a transformative resource in the broader project of social justice. Although each chapter has firm roots in the South African context, these studies have much to offer others in their 'quest for better worlds'. Of particular interest to global scholars are the authors' recounts of how they have grappled with leveraging the country's multilingual resources in the project of promoting academic access and success in the face of historical hierarchies of language and social power.

Teaching and Learning for Social Justice and Equity in Higher Education by Laura Parson (Editor); C. Casey Ozaki (Editor) This book is the first of four edited volumes designed to reconceptualize teaching and learning in higher education through a critical lens, with this inaugural publication focusing on the fundamentals behind the experience. Chapter authors explore recent research on the cognitive science behind teaching and learning, dispel myths on the process, and provide updates to the application of traditional learning theories within the modern, diverse university. Through reviews of fundamental theories of teaching and learning, together with specific classroom practices, this volume applies social justice principles that have been traditionally seen as belonging to K-12 or adult education to higher education.

Technology-Supported Teaching and Research Methods for Educators by Lazarus Ndiku Makewa (Editor); Baraka Manjale Ngussa (Editor); Joshua Michael Kuboja (Editor) Technology can be a powerful tool for transforming learning. It can help affirm and advance relationships between educators and students, reinvent approaches to learning and collaboration, shrink long-standing equity and accessibility gaps, and adapt learning experiences to meet the needs of all learners. Technology-Supported Teaching and Research Methods for Educators provides innovative insights into the utilization and maintenance of technology-supported teaching and research methods for educators. The content within this publication represents the work of e-learning, digital technologies, and current issues and trends in the field of teaching and learning in the context of contemporary technologies. It is a vital reference source for school educators, professionals, school administrators, academicians, researchers, and graduate-level students seeking coverage on topics centered on the integration of effective technologies that will support educators and students.

Transparent Design in Higher Education Teaching and Leadership by Mary-Ann Winkelmes (Editor); Allison Boye (Editor); Suzanne Tapp (Editor); Peter Felten (Foreword by); Ashley Finley (Foreword by) This book offers a comprehensive guide to the Transparency in Learning and Teaching (TILT) framework that has convincingly demonstrated that implementation increases retention and improved outcomes for all students. Its premise is simple: to make learning processes explicit and equitably accessible for all students. Transparent instruction involves faculty/student discussion about several important aspects of academic work before students undertake that work, making explicit the purpose of the work, the knowledge that will be gained and its utility in students' lives beyond college; explaining the tasks involved, the expected criteria, and providing multiple examples of real-world work applications of the specific academic discipline. The simple change of making objective and methods explicit - that faculty recognize as consistent with their teaching goals - creates substantial benefits for students and demonstrably increases such predictors of college students' success as academic confidence, sense of belonging in college, self-awareness of skill development, and persistence. This guide presents a brief history of TILT, summarizes both past and current research on its impact on learning, and describes the three-part Transparency Framework (of purposes, tasks and criteria). The three sections of the book in turn demonstrate why and how transparent instruction works suggesting strategies for instructors who wish to adopt it; describing how educational developers and teaching centers have adopted the Framework; and concluding with examples of how several institutions have used the Framework to connect the daily work of faculty with the learning goals that departments, programs and institutions aim to demonstrate.

What Works in Girls' Education by Gene B. Sperling; Rebecca Winthrop; Christina Kwauk (As told to); Malala Yousafzai (Foreword by) Hard-headed evidence on why the returns from investing in girls are so high that no nation or family can afford not to educate their girls. Gene Sperling, author of the seminal 2004 report published by the Council on Foreign Relations, and Rebecca Winthrop, director of the Center for Universal Education, have written this definitive book on the importance of girls’ education. As Malala Yousafzai expresses in her foreword, the idea that any child could be denied an education due to poverty, custom, the law, or terrorist threats is just wrong and unimaginable. More than 1,000 studies have provided evidence that high-quality girls’ education around the world leads to wide-ranging returns: Better outcomes in economic areas of growth and incomes Reduced rates of infant and maternal mortality Reduced rates of child marriage Reduced rates of the incidence of HIV/AIDS and malaria Increased agricultural productivity Increased resilience to natural disasters Women’s empowerment What Works in Girls’ Education is a compelling work for both concerned global citizens, and any academic, expert, nongovernmental organization (NGO) staff member, policymaker, or journalist seeking to dive into the evidence and policies on girls’ education.

Ethical Infrastructure: The Road to Moral Management by Bergoč, Jana Nadoh.; Andolsek, Dana Mesner. This book deals with the field of organization management and is based on the scientific discoveries of business ethics, which introduce concepts in organization research that traditionally did not merit a place in managerial theories. These include the issue of organization ethics, ethics management, and the development and implementation of ethical infrastructures within organizations. The book analyses the impact that all of the above have on the moral behaviour of managers and other members of organizations. It shows the presence and development of ethical infrastructures in organizations, the relationship between individual elements of the existing ethical infrastructures, and their effect on the moral behaviour of managers in companies.The subject of ethical infrastructures is a unique and under-researched area. This book will serve to diminish this gap by providing a clear overview of a variety of subjects that influence the way ethics is institutionalized in organizations and by stimulating not just knowledge, but also an understanding of the concept of ethical infrastructure and the place it has within each individual organization.

Opting for the Best by Douglas W. Portmore We ought to opt for the best-that is, we ought to choose the option that is best in terms of whatever ultimately matters. So, if maximizing happiness is what ultimately matters, then we ought to perform the option that results in the most happiness. And if, instead, abiding by the Golden Ruleis what ultimately matters, then we ought to perform the option that best abides by this rule. However, even if we know what ultimately matters, this is not always sufficient for determining which option we ought to perform. There are other questions that we need to consider as well. Which eventsare options for us? How do we rank our options - in terms of their own goodness or in terms of the goodness of the best options that entail them? How exactly does that which ultimately matters determine which options we ought to perform?In Opting for the Best, Douglas W. Portmore focuses on these three questions, which he argues can best be answered by putting aside any specific determination of what ultimately matters. He argues that tackling these three questions is crucial to solving many of the puzzles concerning what we oughtto do, including those involving supererogation, indeterminate outcomes, overdetermined outcomes, predictable future misbehavior, and good acts that entail bad acts, among others. Engaging with arguments in areas as wide-ranging as action theory and deontic logic, the solutions that Portmore offerssystematize our thinking about some of the most complex issues in practical philosophy.

Trouillot Remixed by Michel-Rolph Trouillot; Yarimar Bonilla (Editor); Greg Beckett (Editor); Mayanthi L. Fernando (Editor) This collection of writings from Haitian anthropologist Michel-Rolph Trouillot includes his most famous, lesser known, and hard to find writings that demonstrate his enduring importance to Caribbean studies, anthropology, history, postcolonial studies, and politically engaged scholarship more broadly.

Introduction to the Chemistry of Food by Michael Zeece Introduction to the Chemistry of Food describes the molecular composition of food and the chemistry of its components. It provides students with an understanding of chemical and biochemical reactions that impact food quality and contribute to wellness. This innovative approach enables students in food science, nutrition and culinology to better understand the role of chemistry in food. Specifically, the text provides background in food composition, demonstrates how chemistry impacts quality, and highlights its role in creating novel foods. Each chapter contains a review section with suggested learning activities. Text and supplemental materials can be used in traditional face-to-face, distance, or blended learning formats. Describes the major and minor components of food Explains the functional properties contributed by proteins, carbohydrates and lipids in food Explores the chemical and enzymatic reactions affecting food attributes (color, flavor and nutritional quality) Describes the gut microbiome and influence of food components on its microbial population Reviews major food systems and novel sources of food protein

The Conceptual Foundations of Transitional Justice by Colleen Murphy Many countries have attempted to transition to democracy following conflict or repression, but the basic meaning of transitional justice remains hotly contested. In this book, Colleen Murphy analyses transitional justice - showing how it is distinguished from retributive, corrective, and distributive justice - and outlines the ethical standards which societies attempting to democratize should follow. She argues that transitional justice involves the just pursuit of societal transformation. Such transformation requires political reconciliation, which in turn has a complex set of institutional and interpersonal requirements including the rule of law. She shows how societal transformation is also influenced by the moral claims of victims and the demands of perpetrators, and how justice processes can fail to be just by failing to foster this transformation or by not treating victims and perpetrators fairly. Her book will be accessible and enlightening for philosophers, political and social scientists, policy analysts, and legal and human rights scholars and activists.

The Crime of Aggression by Claus Kreß (Editor); Stefan Barriga (Editor) The 2010 Kampala Amendments to the Rome Statute empowered the International Criminal Court to prosecute the 'supreme crime' under international law: the crime of aggression. This landmark commentary provides the first analysis of the history, theory, legal interpretation and future of the crime of aggression. As well as explaining the positions of the main actors in the negotiations, the authoritative team of leading scholars and practitioners set out exactly how countries have themselves criminalized illegal war-making in domestic law and practice. In light of the anticipated activation of the Court's jurisdiction over this crime in 2017, this work offers, over two volumes, a comprehensive legal analysis of how to understand the material and mental elements of the crime of aggression as defined at Kampala. Alongside The Travaux Préparatoires of the Crime of Aggression (Cambridge, 2011), this commentary provides the definitive resource for anyone concerned with the illegal use of force.

Decolonising International Law by Sundhya Pahuja The universal promise of contemporary international law has long inspired countries of the Global South to use it as an important field of contestation over global inequality. Taking three central examples, Sundhya Pahuja argues that this promise has been subsumed within a universal claim for a particular way of life by the idea of 'development'. As the horizon of the promised transformation and concomitant equality has receded ever further, international law has legitimised an ever-increasing sphere of intervention in the Third World. The post-war wave of decolonisation ended in the creation of the developmental nation-state, the claim to permanent sovereignty over natural resources in the 1950s and 1960s was transformed into the protection of foreign investors, and the promotion of the rule of international law in the early 1990s has brought about the rise of the rule of law as a development strategy in the present day.

Environmental law and local government in South Africa by Du Plessis, Anel, editor. Environmental Law and Local Government in South Africa is the first work of its kind to extensively analyse South African environmental law and policy for local government. This book meets an important need in the area of environmental management. This novel collection of theoretical scholarship and real-life examples presents different features of the interface between local government and environmental law. Each chapter is accessible yet detailed enough to be useful. In the scope of this comprehensive work, 32 authors collectively answer the question: What is the role of local government in moving South Africa towards a sustainable future, considering the dictates and scope of environmental law?

An Introduction to the Criminology of Genocide by William R. Pruitt This textbook provides an accessible and interdisciplinary introduction to genocide with an emphasis on the criminal aspect of genocide. It draws on sociological, political, and historical concepts to discuss how they contribute to our understanding of genocide as an international crime. It walks students through the evolution of genocide as a criminal act and the legal responses available using case studies to demonstrate how concepts work in action. It combines Criminology and Law, arguing that Criminology can help explain the 'why and how' while Law can explain the responses to crime. This textbook includes a chapter on genocide denial as well as discussion questions at the end of the chapters, boxed examples, and further reading. It speaks to students in Criminology, Law, Socio-Legal Studies, and beyond, as well as to practitioners in the criminal justice field.

Marketing Global Justice by Christine Schwöbel-Patel Marketing Global Justice is a critical study of efforts to 'sell' global justice. The book offers a new reading of the rise of international criminal law as the dominant institutional expression of global justice, linking it to the rise of branding. The political economy analysis employed highlights that a global elite benefit from marketised global justice whilst those who tend to be the 'faces' of global injustice - particularly victims of conflict - are instrumentalised and ultimately commodified. The book is an invitation to critically consider the predominance of market values in global justice, suggesting an 'occupying' of global justice as an avenue for drawing out social values.

Snyman's criminal law by Hoctor, Shannon Vaughn, 1967-; Snyman, C. R. Unafraid to challenge the status quo, CR Snyman's sixth edition of Criminal Law takes a challenging look at criminal law in South Africa. This work has been thoroughly revised in light of important changes in the South African legal system, with updated reference to the latest reported judgements. Free LexisNexis PassPlus to the value of R300 included with the purchase of this title.

States undermining international law : the League of Nations, United Nations, and failed utopianism by Deepak Mawar This book analyses the history of international law to reveal the significant role utopianism has played in developing the international legal system. In fact, when pinpointing the legal system's most accelerated phases of development, it becomes increasingly apparent how integral utopianism has been in dealing with the international community's most troubled periods such as the World Wars. However, States have on numerous occasions undermined utopianism, leading to situations where individuals and communities have been vulnerable to modes of oppression such as war or repressive regimes. Thus, by examining the League of Nations and United Nations, this book seeks to show why utopianism continues to be a vital ingredient when the international community is seeking to ensure its loftiest and most ambitious goals such as maintaining international peace and security, and why for the sake of such utopian aspirations, the primary position States enjoy in international law requires reassessment.

Juvenile Delinquency by Peter C. Kratcoski; Lucille Dunn Kratcoski; Peter Christopher Kratcoski Combining theory with practical application, this seminal introduction to juvenile delinquency and juvenile justice integrates the latest research with emerging problems and trends in an overview of the field.   Now in its sixth edition, this book features new interviews and discussions with child care professionals and juvenile justice practitioners on their experiences translating theory to practice. It addresses recent changes in the characteristics of delinquents alongside changes in laws and the rise of social media and smartphones.  It includes a new chapter of international perspectives on juvenile justice and delinquency.  Incorporated throughout is consideration of the mental health and special needs of youth in the juvenile justice system, as well as at-risk and non-fault children as victims. With attention to both quantitative and qualitative findings, this clear and comprehensive text will be useful for students of criminology, criminal justice, sociology and those interested in working with at-risk youth.

The Data Librarian's Handbook by Robin C. Rice; John Southall An insider's guide to data librarianship packed full of practical examples and advice for any library and information professional learning to deal with data. Interest in data has been growing in recent years. Support for this peculiar class of digital information - its use, preservation and curation, and how to support researchers' production and consumption of it in ever greater volumes to create new knowledge, is needed more than ever. Many librarians and information professionals are finding their working life is pulling them toward data support or research data management but lack the skills required. The Data Librarian's Handbook, written by two data librarians with over 30 years' combined experience, unpicks the everyday role of the data librarian and offers practical guidance on how to collect, curate and crunch data for economic, social and scientific purposes. With contemporary case studies from a range of institutions and disciplines, tips for best practice, study aids and links to key resources, this book is a must-read for all new entrants to the field, library and information students and working professionals. Key topics covered include: the evolution of data libraries and data archives handling data compared to other forms of information managing and curating data to ensure effective use and longevity how to incorporate data literacy into mainstream library instruction and information literacy training how to develop an effective institutional research data management (RDM) policy and infrastructure how to support and review a data management plan (DMP) for a project, a key requirement for most research funders approaches for developing, managing and promoting data repositories handling and sharing confidential or sensitive data supporting open scholarship and open science, ensuring data are discoverable, accessible, intelligible and assessable. This title is for the practising data librarian, possibly new in their post with little experience of providing data support. It is also for managers and policy-makers, public service librarians, research data management coordinators and data support staff. It will also appeal to students and lecturers in iSchools and other library and information degree programmes where academic research support is taught.

Working As a Data Librarian: a Practical Guide by Eric O. Johnson Many librarians' job responsibilities increasingly require them to understand and handle data. Learn how to be an effective data librarian--even if you never expected to need data skills. The field of data librarianship is rapidly growing, and some librarians may feel that their training and experience does not cover data questions asked by patrons seeking advice. With this gentle guide for librarians moving--sometimes unexpectedly--into the world of data librarianship, all you need is a willingness to learn the skills required for the rapidly growing number of jobs requiring data librarianship. Working as a Data Librarian focuses on transferable skills and understanding and does not assume extensive knowledge. It introduces tasks and concepts needed to be an effective data librarian, such as best practices for data reference interviewing, finding data sources, data visualization, data literacy, the data lifecycle, metadata design, database design, understanding data management, and preparing data management plans. Additional sections focus on supporting creativity (Makerspaces and Fablabs, 3-D modeling), supporting analysis (GIS, data visualization, text mining, statistical methods), supporting research (digital scholarship, digital preservation, institutional data repositories, scholarly communication), and outreach (data librarian liaisonship, hackathons, developing outreach programs). Acquaints readers with the fast-growing field of data librarianship Teaches librarians the fundamental skills needed to be a data librarian Offers best practices for data reference interviewing, finding data sources, data visualization, data literacy, the data lifecycle, metadata design, database design, understanding data management, and preparing data management plans Helps librarians to support creativity and research and to run outreach programs

Combating Global Warming by Kodoth Prabhakaran Nair This book critically examines the environmental hazards posed by global warming with regard to future food security, which will depend on a combination of stresses, both biotic and abiotic, imposed by climate change; variability of weather within a growing season; and the development of cultivars that are more sensitive to different ambient conditions. Furthermore, the ability to develop effective adaptive strategies which allow these cultivars to express their genetic potential under changing climate conditions will be essential.  In turn, the book investigates those plant species which are very closely related to field crops and have the potential to contribute beneficial traits for crop improvement, e.g. resistance to a wide range of biotic and abiotic stresses, enriching the gene pool, and ultimately leading to enhanced plant yield, known as "Crop Wild Relatives" (CWRs). CWRs hold tremendous potential to sustain and enhance global food security, contributing to human well-being. Accordingly, their development, characterization and conservation in crop breeding programs have assumed great practical importance. Professor Kodoth Prabhakaran Nair is an internationally acclaimed agricultural scientist, with over three decades of experience in Europe, Africa and Asia, holding some of the most prestigious academic positions, including the National Chair of the Science Foundation, The Royal Society, Belgium. A Senior Fellow of the world renowned Alexander von Humboldt Research Foundation of The Federal Republic of Germany, he is best known, globally, for having developed a revolutionary soil management technique, known as "The Nutrient Buffer Power Concept", which, while questioning the scientific fallacies of the highly soil extractive farming, euphemistically known as the "green revolution", has opened up  an alternative path for sensible and scientific soil management

Plurilingual Pedagogies by Sunny Man Chu Lau (Editor); Saskia Van Viegen (Editor) This book critically engages with theoretical shifts marked by the 'multilingual turn' in applied linguistics, and articulates the complexities associated with naming and engaging with the everyday language practices of bi/multilingual communities. It discusses methodological approaches that enable researchers and educators to observe and interact with these communities and to understand their teaching and learning needs. It also highlights pedagogical approaches and instructional strategies involved with learning and teaching language and/or content curriculum to students across various learning and educational contexts. The book addresses recent debates on the multi/plural turn in applied linguistics and articulates the limitations of these debates - particularly the absence of discussion of social power relations and contexts in applying different theoretical lenses. It features empirical research from primarily North American classrooms to highlight how plurilingual pedagogies take shape in unique educational contexts, resisting monolingual approaches to language in education. Furthermore, it includes commentary/response pieces from established scholars in dialogue with recent plurilingual research in the field, to put the work in critical perspective within extant theories and literature.

Business Transformations in the Era of Digitalization by Karim Mezghani (Editor); Wassim Aloulou (Editor) In order to establish and maintain a successful company in the digital age, managers are digitally transforming their organizations to include such tools as disruptive technologies and digital data to improve performance and efficiencies. As these companies continue to adopt digital technologies to improve their businesses and create new revenues and value-producing opportunities, they must also be aware of the challenges digitalization can present. Business Transformations in the Era of Digitalization is a collection of innovative research on the latest trends, business opportunities, and challenges in the digitalization of businesses. Highlighting a range of topics including business-IT alignment, cloud computing, Internet of Things (IoT), business sustainability, small and medium-sized enterprises, and digital entrepreneurship, this book is ideally designed for managers, professionals, consultants, entrepreneurs, and researchers.

Gendered Success in Higher Education by Kate White (Editor); Pat O'Connor (Editor) This book examines higher education institutions that exemplify gendered success whether in terms of the presence of women in senior positions or attempts to change a gendered organisational culture.  It reflects a global perspective, drawing on case studies from eleven countries: Australia, Austria, Ireland, India, New Zealand , Portugal, South Africa, Sweden,  Turkey, United Arab Emirates, and the United Kingdom. In each country an organisation has been selected that demonstrate best practice in terms of gendered outcomes or processes. Gendered Success in Higher Education highlights both the importance and the limitations of indicators such as the proportion of women in senior positions. It proposes a new gender agenda,  identifies the factors that need to be included in a model of gendered change,  and provides important insights into the nature of gendered change globally and how it can be achieved.  

Human-Centered Digitalization and Services by Marja Toivonen, Eveliina Saari This book provides a timely overview of the impacts of digitalization from the perspective of everyday life, and argues that one central issue in digitalization is the development of new types of services that digitalization enables, but which are often overlooked due to the focus on new technologies and devices. The book summarizes the past 20 years of research into the relationship between information and communications technology (ICT) and service innovation, and reveals that the ongoing digitalization is a qualitatively different phenomenon and represents a true paradigm shift.

Introduction to Business Analytics by Majid Nabavi; David L. Olson This book presents key concepts related to quantitative analysis in business. Business analytics has grown to be a key topic in business curricula, and there is a need for stronger quantitative skills and understanding of fundamental concepts. This book is aimed at business students, undergraduate and graduate, taking an introductory core course. Topics covered include knowledge management, visualization, sampling and hypothesis testing, regression (simple, multiple, and logistic), as well as optimization modeling. It concludes with a brief overview of data mining. Concepts are demonstrated with worked examples.

Lateral Management by Roland Geschwill; Martina Nieswandt This book highlights lateral management as the answer to the strategic opportunities and challenges posed by digital transformation. Digitalization is now changing the economy and society as dramatically as the dawn of electrification a century ago. Production methods, products, sales structures, marketing, and even markets themselves are set to change in the digital era. In addition to introducing readers to the concept of lateral management, and detailing the structure and functioning of 'lateral companies', the authors show how leadership and cooperation norms carried over from the 20th century need to be adapted for the digital era. They demonstrate the opportunities that digitalization offers companies, employees and managers in terms of enhancing their freedom, individuality, job diversity, and creative and innovative power. The authors also provide a unique management instrument, the 'Lateral Culture Index®', which measures the hierarchies of leadership; provide new benchmarks; and identify seven essential factors for lateral companies. Readers will learn how to implement lateral management in their companies and be familiarized with the instruments that can help them do so.    

Transforming the Next Generation Leaders by Sattar Bawany This book is designed to provide insights into an understanding of the best practices and contemporary approaches to the identification, assessment, selection, and development of future leaders of an organization with a focus on executive and transition coaching as a development tool. A company's leadership pipeline is expected to deliver its next generation of leaders who are capable of leading now. It is evident that conventional leadership development practices are no longer adequate. Organizations need to incorporate the next-generation leadership competencies globally in order to address the development needs of their rising leaders. The current digital transformation that underpins the Fourth Industrial Revolution (also known as Industry 4.0) has ushered in a new business environment that is fast, open, and responsive, resulting in a number of organizational and leadership challenges. How do organizations develop the next generation of leaders to meet these challenges? This book is designed to provide insights into an understanding of the best practices and contemporary approaches to the identification, assessment, selection, and development of future leaders of an organization with a focus on executive and transition coaching as a development tool.

Public Health Informatics and Information Systems by J. A. Magnuson (Editor); Brian E. Dixon (Editor) This 3rd edition of a classic textbook examines the context and background of public health informatics, explores the technology and science underlying the field, discusses challenges and emerging solutions, reviews many key public health information systems, and includes practical, case-based studies to guide the reader through the topic. The editors have expanded the text into new areas that have become important since publication of the previous two editions due to changing technologies and needs in the field, as well as updating and augmenting much of the core content. The book contains learning objectives, overviews, future directions, and review questions to assist readers to engage with this vast topic. The Editors and their team of well-known contributors have built upon the foundation established by the previous editions to provide the reader with a comprehensive and forward-looking review of public health informatics. The breadth of material in Public Health Informatics and Information Systems, 3rd edition makes it suitable for both undergraduate and graduate coursework in public health informatics, enabling instructors to select chapters that best fit their students' needs.

Rock, Bone, and Ruin by Adrian Currie An argument that we should be optimistic about the capacity of "methodologically omnivorous" geologists, paleontologists, and archaeologists to uncover truths about the deep past. The "historical sciences"--geology, paleontology, and archaeology--have made extraordinary progress in advancing our understanding of the deep past. How has this been possible, given that the evidence they have to work with offers mere traces of the past? In Rock, Bone, and Ruin, Adrian Currie explains that these scientists are "methodological omnivores," with a variety of strategies and techniques at their disposal, and that this gives us every reason to be optimistic about their capacity to uncover truths about prehistory. Creative and opportunistic paleontologists, for example, discovered and described a new species of prehistoric duck-billed platypus from a single fossilized tooth. Examining the complex reasoning processes of historical science, Currie also considers philosophical and scientific reflection on the relationship between past and present, the nature of evidence, contingency, and scientific progress. Currie draws on varied examples from across the historical sciences, from Mayan ritual sacrifice to giant Mesozoic fleas to Mars's mysterious watery past, to develop an account of the nature of, and resources available to, historical science. He presents two major case studies: the emerging explanation of sauropod size, and the "snowball earth" hypothesis that accounts for signs of glaciation in Neoproterozoic tropics. He develops the Ripple Model of Evidence to analyze "unlucky circumstances" in scientific investigation; examines and refutes arguments for pessimism about the capacity of the historical sciences, defending the role of analogy and arguing that simulations have an experiment-like function. Currie argues for a creative, open-ended approach, "empirically grounded" speculation.

Are We Bodies or Souls? by Richard Swinburne What makes us human? Most contemporary philosophers and scientists hold that we are complicated machines, or animals different from other machines only by being conscious. In Are We Bodies or Souls? Richard Swinburne presents new philosophical arguments, supported by modern neuroscience, for the view that we are essentially immaterial souls sustained in existence by our brains.

God, Soul and the Meaning of Life by Thaddeus Metz This Element critically explores the potential relevance of God or a soul for life's meaning as discussed in recent Anglo-American philosophical literature. There have been four broad views: God or a soul is necessary for meaning in our lives; neither is necessary for it; one or both would greatly enhance the meaning in our lives; one or both would substantially detract from it. This Element familiarizes readers with all four positions, paying particular attention to the latter two, and also presents prima facie objections to them, points out gaps in research agendas and suggests argumentative strategies that merit development.

God, Soul and the Meaning of Life by Thaddeus Metz This Element critically explores the potential relevance of God or a soul for life's meaning as discussed in recent Anglo-American philosophical literature. There have been four broad views: God or a soul is necessary for meaning in our lives; neither is necessary for it; one or both would greatly enhance the meaning in our lives; one or both would substantially detract from it. This Element familiarizes readers with all four positions, paying particular attention to the latter two, and also presents prima facie objections to them, points out gaps in research agendas and suggests argumentative strategies that merit development.

Hume, Passion, and Action by Elizabeth S. Radcliffe David Hume's theory of action is well known for several provocative theses, including that passion and reason cannot be opposed over the direction of action. Elizabeth S. Radcliffe defends an original interpretation of Hume's views on passion, reason, and motivation which is consistent withother theses in Hume's philosophy, loyal to his texts, and historically situated. She challenges the now orthodox interpretation of Hume on motivation, presenting an alternative that situates Hume closer to "Humeans" than many recent interpreters have. Part of the strategy is to examine the thinkingof the early modern intellectuals to whom Hume responds. Most of these thinkers insisted that passions lead us to pursue harmful objects unless regulated by reason; and most regarded passions as representations of good and evil, which can be false.Understanding Hume's response to these claims requires appreciating his respective characterizations of reason and passion. The author argues that Hume's thesis that reason is practically impotent apart from passion is about beliefs generated by reason, rather than about the capacity of reason.Furthermore, the argument makes sense of Hume's sometimes-ridiculed description of passions as "original existences" having no reference to objects. The author also shows how Hume understood morality as intrinsically motivating, while holding that moral beliefs are not themselves motives, and why hethought of passions as self-regulating, contrary to the admonitions of the rationalists.

Religion and Faith in Africa by Agbonkhianmeghe E. Orobator Before his conversion to Christianity, A E Orobator was raised in the practice of traditional African religion - animism. This repository of African religion, he maintains - at its heart a deep belief in the livingness of creation - is the soil in which Christianity and Islam have taken root. Drawn from his "Duffy Lectures" delivered at Boston College, Orobator examines the living interplay between African religion, Christianity, and Islam in Africa, and argues that the religious experience and spiritual imagination of Africa offers a genius capable of renewing the global community of believers. Among these gifts: a deep conscience of transcendence in day-to-day living; reverence towards human and natural ecologies; and a holistic understanding of creation and shared responsibility of stewardship for the universe.

Wealth, Health, and Hope in African Christian Religion by Stan, Chu Ilo; Clement, Majawa; David, Tonghou Ngong Wealth, Health, and Hope in African Christian Religion offers a portrait of how contending narratives of modernity in both church and society play out in Africa today through the agency of African Christian religion. It explores the identity and features of African Christian religion and the cultural forces driving the momentum of Christian expansion in Africa, as well as how these factors are shaping a new African social imagination, especially in providing answers to the most challenging questions about poverty, wealth, health, human, and cosmic flourishing. It offers the academy a good road map for interpreting African Christian religious beliefs and practices today and into the future.

Why Free Will Is Real by Christian List Many scientists and scientifically-minded philosophers are skeptical that free will exists. In clear, scientifically rigorous terms, Christian List explains that free will is like other real phenomena that emerge from physical laws but are autonomous from them--like an ecosystem or the economy--and are indispensable for explaining our world.

Decolonisation in Universities : the Politics of Knowledge by Jansen, Jonathan.; Mbembe, Achille.; Keet, Andre.; Schmahmann, Brenda.; Soudien, Crain.; Galant, Jaamia.; Auerbach, Jess.; Le Grange, Lesley.; Lange, Lis.; Mamdani, Mahmood. What exactly is decolonisation? This volume brings together the most innovative thinking on curriculum theory to address an urgent question for scholars and teachers alike. Critical questions are raised: Is decolonisation simply a slogan representing a variety of concerns? What is the colonial legacy and can it be undone?

Thought Work by Elizabeth K. Minnich (Editor); Michael Quinn Patton (Editor) Thinking has, for many of us, become as passive as breathing. While it's essential to our very existence, we devote little energy or time to cultivating it. Thought Work: Thinking, Action, and the Fate of the World challenges us to reinstate the restless, complicated activity of thinking as the heart of all education, life, and work. Our underappreciation of careful thought has crippled our ability to sustain a moral, conscience-driven society, and it now falls to each of us to examine the underlying thought processes that guide our every action. Distinguished philosopher Elizabeth K. Minnich and evaluation studies pioneer Michael Quinn Patton gather a diverse cast of thought leaders to respond to this dilemma. From systems and strategic thinking, entrepreneurial thinking, and critical and evaluative thinking, to ethical and philosophical thinking and thinking grounded in and informed by the humanities and community organizing, this volume unpacks vital creative processes and develops schema to support increased thought training in and across individual professions. Together, the contributed thought works of this volume will empower students, scholars, and professionals in any field to reignite their dedicated, thoughtful progress towards long term conscience-driven goals.

Contemporary Lusophone African Film by Paulo de Medeiros (Editor); Livia Apa (Editor) Offering a range of critical perspectives on a vibrant body of films, this collection of essays engages with questions specific to the various cinemas and films addressed while putting forward an argument for their inclusion in current debates on world cinema. The collection brings together 11 chapters by recognized scholars, who analyze a variety of films and videos from Angola, Cape Verde, Guiné-Bissau, and Mozambique. It also includes an interview with Pedro Pimenta, one of the most distinguished African film festival organizers. Drawing on various theoretical perspectives, the volume strives to reverse the relative invisibility that has afflicted these cinemas, arguing that most, if not all, Lusophone films are transnational in all aspects of production, acting, and reception. The initial three chapters sketch broad, comparative overviews and suggest theoretical approaches, while the ensuing chapters focus on specific case studies and discuss a number of key issues such as the convergence of film with politics, the question of gender and violence, as well as the revisiting of the period immediately following independence. Attention is given to fiction, documentary films and recent, short, alternative video productions that are overlooked by more traditional channels. The book stresses the need to pay attention to the significance of African film, and Lusophone African film in particular, within the developing field of world cinema. Bringing together general overviews, historical considerations, detailed case studies, and focused theoretical reflections, this book is a significant volume for students and researchers in film studies, especially African, Lusophone cultural studies, and world cinema.

1 and 2 Chronicles (Understanding the Bible Commentary Series) by Louis C. Jonker These accessible volumes break down the barriers between the ancient and modern worlds so that the power and meaning of the biblical texts become transparent to contemporary readers.

The Bible As Political Artifact by Susanne Sholz Biblical studies and the teaching of biblical studies are clearly changing, though it is less clear what the changes mean and how we should evaluate them. In this book, Susanne Scholz engages some of the issues as she has encountered them in the field over the last twenty years. She casts a feminist, class-critical eye on the politics of pedagogy, in higher education and in wider society alike, decrypting important developments in "the architecture of educational power." She also examines how the increasingly intercultural, interreligious, and diasporic dynamics in society inform the hermeneutical and methodological possibilities for biblical exegesis, whether the topic is rape in ancient Near Eastern legislation or Eve and Adam in the American Christian right's approaches. In bold strokes, Scholz lays out a program for biblical scholarship and pedagogy that connects to current events and ideas, such as the Title IX debate, inclusive language, or film. Taken as a whole, the fourteen chapters demonstrate that the foregrounding of gender, placed into its intersectional contexts, offers intriguing and valuable alternative ways of seeing the world and the Bible's place in it.

The Church As Salt and Light by Stan Chu Ilo (Editor); Joseph Ogbonnaya (Editor); Alex Ojacor (Editor) At once prophetic, pastoral, and personal, this book applies the symbols of 'salt' and 'light' as ecclesiological images for reimaging the African Church for today and tomorrow. The proposal of this book is to reconsider the path towards abundant life for God's people in the challenging context of African continent, and through the agency of African Christianity. The contributors stress the necessity of de-Westernizing African Christianity and ask these fundamental questions: What is the face of Jesus inAfrican Christianity? What is the face and identity of the Church in Africa? What positive imprint is Christianity leaving on the lives and societies of African Christians? Does the Christian message have the potential of positively affecting African civilization as it once did in Europe? What is the relevance and place of African Christianity as a significant voice in shaping both the future of Africa and that of world Christianity?

Explorations in Ecclesiology and Ethnography by Christian Batalden Scharen In Explorations in Ecclesiology and Ethnography Christian Scharen and several other contributors explore empirical and theological understandings of the church. Like the first volume in the Studies in Ecclesiology and Ethnography series, this second volume seeks to bridge the great divide between theological research and ethnography (qualitative research). The book's wide-ranging chapters cover such fascinating topics as geographic habits of American evangelicals, debates over difficult issues like homosexuality, and responses to social problems like drug abuse and homelessness. The contributors together model a collaborative, cross-disciplinary approach, with fruitful results that will set a new standard for ecclesiological research. Contributors: Christopher Brittain Helen Cameron Henk De Roest Paul Fiddes Matthew Guest Roger Haight Harald Hegstad Mark Mulder Paul Murray James Nieman Christian B. Scharen James K. A. Smith John Swinton Pete Ward Clare Watkins

Islamic Disputation Theory by Larry Benjamin Miller This book charts the evolution of Islamic dialectical theory (jadal) over a four-hundred year period. It includes an extensive study of the development of methods of disputation in Islamic theology (kalām) and jurisprudence (uṣūl al-fiqh) from the tenth through the fourteenth centuries. The author uses the theoretical writings of Islamic theologians, jurists, and philosophers to describe the concept Overall, this investigation looks at the extent to which the development of Islamic modes of disputation is rooted in Aristotle and the classical tradition. The author reconstructs the contents of the earliest systematic treatment of the subject by b. al-Rīwandī. He then contrasts the theological understanding of dialectic with the teachings of the Arab Aristotelians-al-Fārābī, Avicenna, and Averroes. Next, the monograph shows how jurists took over the theological method of dialectic and applied it to problems peculiar to jurisprudence. Although the earliest writings on dialectic are fairly free of direct Aristotelian influence, there are coincidences of themes and treatment. But after jurisprudence had assimilated the techniques of theological dialectic, its own theory became increasingly influenced by logical terminology and techniques. At the end of the thirteenth century there arose a new discipline, the ādāb al-baḥth. While the theoretical underpinnings of the new system are Aristotelian, the terminology and order of debate place it firmly in the Islamic tradition of disputation.

Job by Kathleen M. O'Connor The book of Job is a vivid testimony to pain, a plea for justice, and a wrenching theological debate about suffering and its causes. Central to this debate are questions about the roles that God and humans play in causing human suffering and whether divine-human relationships can proceed in the midst of overwhelming anguish. Like a riddle, the text grasps readers' minds and emotions, inviting them to participate in Job's story and to work toward their own solution to the dilemmas of both Job and his friends.

Liturgies from below : 462 acts of worship ; praying with people at the ends of the world by Carvalhaes, Cláudio, author. his book offers a wealth of resources from forgotten places to help us create a new vocabulary for worship and prayer, one that is located amidst the poor and the major issues of violence and destruction around the world today. It is a collection of prayers, songs, rituals, rites of healing, Eucharistic and baptismal prayers, meditations and art from four continents: Asia-Pacific Islands, Africa, Americas, and Europe. Liturgies from Below is the culmination of a project organized by the Council for World Mission (CWM) during 2018-2019.

Religion and Society in Sub-Saharan Africa and Southern Asia. by Rakodi, Carole, author. This book analyses how religion is entangled in people’s lives in Sub-Saharan Africa and southern Asia. It provides an introduction to the teachings, practices and values promoted by the main religious traditions in these regions and an overview of the evidence on what religion means to people in terms of their beliefs and religious practices and how it influences their values, attitudes and day-to-day relationships with others, especially their families. Over the course of the book Carole Rakodi explores similarities and differences between and within religious traditions and identifies some of the key factors that influence and explain the roles played by religion in people’s personal lives and social relationships. A separate companion volume will go on to focus on the social and political roles and relationships of religious groups and organisations. This book will be of great interest to academics and students working in a range of disciplines, especially sociology, religious studies and development studies but also anthropology, geography and area studies.

T&T Clark Handbook of Ecclesiology by Kimlyn J. Bender (Editor); D. Stephen Long (Editor) Divided into 3 parts, this handbook provides a wide-ranging survey and analysis of the Christian Church. The first section addresses the scriptural foundations of ecclesiology; the second section outlines the historical and confessional aspects of the topic; and the final part discusses a variety of contemporary and topical themes in ecclesiology. Compiled and written by leading scholars in the field, the T&T Clark Handbook of Ecclesiology covers a range of key topics in the context of their development and importance in each stream of historic Christianity and the confessional traditions. The contributors cover traditional matters such as creedal notes, but also tackle questions of ordination, orders of ministry, and sacraments. This handbook is extensive enough to provide a true overview of the field, but the essays are also concise enough to be read as reference selections.

A Theology of International Development by Thia Cooper Religion and development have been intertwined since development's beginnings, yet faith-based aid and development agencies consistently fail to consider how their theology and practice intersect. This book offers a Christian theology of development, with practical solutions to bridge the gap and return to truly faith-based policies and practices. Development aims to raise the living standard of the world's poor, mainly through small-scale projects that increase economic growth. A theology of liberation provided a critique to development practice, but a specific theology of development is still lacking, and many faith-based aid agencies have failed to adapt their practice. In applying theological thinking to development, the author argues that aid agencies need to address the entrenchment of unequal power relations, and embrace a holistic notion of development, defined by the needs of those most marginalized, instead of by a focus on economic growth. Development organisations need to consider the distinction between charity and justice, and to empower people in the Global South, paying particular attention to the intersections of race, class, sexuality, religion, and the environment. Overall this book is a powerful call to upend development practice as it currently exists and to return faith-based organizations to following Christian practices. It will be an important read for religion and development researchers, practitioners, and students.

Cultivating Food Justice by Alkon, Alison Hope.; Agyeman, Julian.; Dupuis, E. Melanie.; Getz, Christy.; Goodman, David.; Green, Eleanor M.; Green, John J.; Guthman, Julie.; Harper, Amy Breeze.; Harrison, Jill Lindsey. Documents how racial and social inequalities are built into our food system, and how communities are creating environmentally sustainable and socially just alternatives. Popularized by such best-selling authors as Michael Pollan, Barbara Kingsolver, and Eric Schlosser, a growing food movement urges us to support sustainable agriculture by eating fresh food produced on local family farms. But many low-income neighborhoods and communities of color have been systematically deprived of access to healthy and sustainable food. These communities have been actively prevented from producing their own food and often live in "food deserts" where fast food is more common than fresh food. Cultivating Food Justice describes their efforts to envision and create environmentally sustainable and socially just alternatives to the food system. Bringing together insights from studies of environmental justice, sustainable agriculture, critical race theory, and food studies, Cultivating Food Justice highlights the ways race and class inequalities permeate the food system, from production to distribution to consumption. The studies offered in the book explore a range of important issues, including agricultural and land use policies that systematically disadvantage Native American, African American, Latino/a, and Asian American farmers and farmworkers; access problems in both urban and rural areas; efforts to create sustainable local food systems in low-income communities of color; and future directions for the food justice movement. These diverse accounts of the relationships among food, environmentalism, justice, race, and identity will help guide efforts to achieve a just and sustainable agriculture.

Essentials of Epidemiology in Public Health by Ann Aschengrau; George R. Seage Essentials of Epidemiology in Public Health, Fourth Edition combines theory and practice in presenting traditional and new epidemiologic concepts. Broad in scope, the text opens with five chapters covering the basic epidemiologic concepts and data sources. A major emphasis is placed on study design, with separate chapters devoted to each of the three main analytic designs: experimental, cohort, and case-control studies.Full chapters on bias, confounding, and random error, including the role of statistics in epidemiology, ensure that students are well-equipped with the necessary information to interpret the results of epidemiologic studies. Up-to-date examples from the epidemiologic literature on diseases of public health importance are provided throughout the book.Key Features:* New examples and the latest public health statistics throughout* Coverage of the Ebola outbreak including an in-depth investigation of what happened* New examples that illustrate epidemiological principles including a greater emphasis on social factors that influence health, such as racism* Straightforward descriptions of the latest epidemiologic methods including mediation analysis, agent-based modelling, and the use of directed acyclic graphs (DAGs) to assess confounding.* An expanded glossary and key terms highlighted throughout the text

Collaborative Futures in Qualitative Inquiry by Norman K. Denzin (Editor); Michael D. Giardina (Editor) Collaborative Futures in Qualitative Inquiry critically reflects on and explores the role of qualitative research amidst the global COVID-19 pandemic. Against this unprecedented backdrop, it asks what research means during a global pandemic and what it means to be an academic. Leading international scholars from the United States, Canada, Chile, New Zealand, Norway, and the United Kingdom wrestle with the changing dynamics of research in pandemic times. Collectively and collaboratively, contributors call for a critical, performative, social justice inquiry directed at the multiple crises of our historical present--a rethinking of where we have been, and, critically, where we are going. More specifically, contributors focus on such topics as: the emotional geographies of academic writing; assaults on science and truth; pedagogies of the imagination; indigenization and reconciliation; the search for our common humanity; and the relevance of qualitative inquiry in an era of big data and digital transformation. Collaborative Futures in Qualitative Inquiry is a must-read for faculty and students alike who are interested in imagining new ways to collaborate, to engage in research and activism, and represent and intervene into social life in pandemic times.

Creative Research Methods in the Social Sciences by Helen Kara With foreword by Kenneth J. Gergen and Mary M. Gergen. Creative research methods can help to answer complex contemporary questions, which are hard to answer using traditional methods alone. Creative methods can also be more ethical, helping researchers to address social injustice. This accessible book is the first to identify and examine the four areas of creative research methods: arts-based research, research using technology, mixed-method research and transformative research frameworks. Written in a practical and jargon-free style, with over 100 boxed examples, it offers numerous examples of creative methods in practice, from the social sciences, arts, and humanities around the world. Spanning the gulf between academia and practice, this useful book will inform and inspire researchers by showing readers why, when, and how to use creative methods in their research.

Surfacing On Being Black and Feminist in South Africa. by Lewis, Desiree.; Baderoon, Gabeba.; Abrahams, Yvette.; Boswell, Barbara.; Chigumadzi, Panashe.; fester-wicomb, gertrude.; Gqola, Pumla Dineo.; Hames, Mary.; job, jacki.; Masondo, Ingrid. An anthology of academic and non-academic writings, dedicated to contemporary Black South African feminist perspectives currently influential in scholarship, radical thought and creative expression, includes Patricia McFadden, Sisonke Msimang, Yewande Omotoso, Zoe Wicomb and Pumla Dineo Gqola.

Waterworlds: Anthropology in fluid environments by Kirsten Hastrup (Editor); Frida Hastrup (Editor) In one form or another, water participates in the making and unmaking of people's lives, practices, and stories. Contributors' detailed ethnographic work analyzes the union and mutual shaping of water and social lives. This volume discusses current ecological disturbances and engages in a world where unbounded relationalities and unsettled frames of orientation mark the lives of all, anthropologists included. Water emerges as a fluid object in more senses than one, challenging anthropologists to foreground the mutable character of their objects of study and to responsibly engage with the generative role of cultural analysis.

Africa's Radicalisms and Conservatisms I by Edwin Etieyibo (Volume Editor); Obvious Katsaura (Volume Editor); Mucha Musemwa (Volume Editor) With Africa as its point of reference and departure, this volume examines why and how the two concepts - radicalisms and conservatisms - should not be taken as mere binaries around which to organize knowledge. It demonstrates that these concepts have multiple and diverse meanings as perceived and understood from different disciplinary vantage points, hence, the deliberate pluralization of the terms. The essays show what happens when one juxtaposes the two concepts and how they are easily intertwined when different peoples' lived experiences of poverty, political and social alienation, education, intolerance, youth activism, social (in)justice, violence, etc. across the length and breadth of Africa are brought to bear on our understandings of these two particularisms.Contributors are: Adekunle Victor Owoyomi, Adeshina Francis Akindutire, Adewale O. Owoseni, Bright Nkrumah, Clement Chipenda, Ebenezer Babajide Ishola, Edwin Etieyibo, Israel Oberedjemurho Ugoma, Jonah Uyieh, Jonathan O. Chimakonam, Madina Tlostanova, Maduka Enyimba, Muchaparara Musemwa, Odirin Omiegbe, Obvious Katsaura, Olufunke Olufunsho Adegoke, Peter Kwaja, Philip Akporduado Edema, Tafadzwa Chevo, and Temitope Owolabi.

Higher Education Hauntologies by Vivienne Bozalek (Editor); Michalinos Zembylas (Editor); Siddique Motala (Editor); Dorothee Holscher (Editor) Higher Education Hauntologies considers how higher education might benefit from thinking about Derrida's notion of hauntology and its implications for a justice-to-come. It contributes to the imperative to rethink the university across and with/in global geopolitical spaces and thus, has appeal for both Southern and international contexts. The book includes ideas which push boundaries that previously served higher education teachers and scholars and proposes new imaginaries of higher education. Additionally, the collection makes a contribution to ongoing debates about the epistemological, ethical, ontological and political implications of hauntology in higher education policies and practices, particularly in line with contemporary concerns for more socially just possibilities and visions in higher education. This book will be of great interest for academics, researchers and postgraduate students of posthumanism and new materialism who are looking for new perspectives to engage with, and for those who are concerned about a justice-to-come in education, higher education, and educational theory and policy.