+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za
Habermas and Social Research by
One of the greatest contributors to the field of Sociology, Jürgen Habermas has had a wide-ranging and significant impact on understandings of social change and social conflict. He has inspired researchers in a range of disciplines with his multidimensional social theory, however an overview of his theory in applied settings is long overdue. This collection brings together in one convenient volume a set of researchers who place Jürgen Habermas' key concepts such as colonisation, deliberation and communication at the centre of their research methodologies. Full of insight and innovation, this book is an essential read for those who want to harness the potential of Habermas' core concepts in their own work, thereby helping to bridge the gap between theory and method in social research. Structured around three core themes, Habermas and Social Research provides a range of research case studies looking at system colonization, the politics of deliberation and communicative interactions. Issues as diverse as social movements, the digital public sphere, patient involvement, migration and preschool education, are all covered in the book, intertwined with a set of innovative approaches to theory application in social research. Designed to help researchers harness the potential of Habermas' core concepts as methodological tools, this timely volume will prove highly useful for graduate and upper level undergraduates within the fields of theory and method, research design, public policy, education policy, urban and environmental planning.
Handbook of Quality of Life in African Societies by
This handbook reflects on quality-of-life in societies on the continent of Africa. It provides a widely interdisciplinary text with insights on quality-of-life from a variety of scientific perspectives. The handbook is structured into sections covering themes of social context, culture and community; the environment and technology; health; education; and family. It is aimed at scholars who are working towards sustainable development at the intersections of multiple scientific fields and it provides measures of both objective and subjective quality-of-life. The scholarly contributions in the text are based on original research and it spans fields of research such as cultures of positivity, wellbeing, literacy and multilinguism, digital and mobile technologies, economic growth, food and nutrition, health promotion, community development, teacher education and family life. Some chapters take a broad approach and report on research findings involving thousands, and in one case millions, of participants. Other chapters zoom in and illustrate the importance of specificity in quality-of-life studies. Collectively, the handbook illuminates the particularity of quality-of-life in Africa, the unique contextual challenges and the resourcefulness with which challenges are being mediated. This handbook provides empirically grounded conceptualizations about life in Africa that also encapsulate the dynamic, ingenious ways in which we, as Africans, enhance our quality-of-life.
International Handbook of Information Technology in Primary and Secondary Education by
Since the introduction of the computer into education in the 1960 s its potential for K-12 education has been widely recognized. The terminology used, at times confusing due to rapid technology change, has continuously evolved. We are in transition to an information society, and the term computer technology has been replaced by information technology (IT) or information and communication technology (ICT). New demands from the information society require education to focus on information management and communication skills, for which IT can be an essential resource. IT offers promising environments and tools to support new approaches to teaching and learning. Despite major investments, the implementation of IT in education has been a persistent problem. And, although it is generally assumed that IT has high potential for improving education, major research findings have only recently confirmed positive results of IT on students performance. While there is a vast amount of research on information technology (IT) in K-12 education, most of it is scattered. Until now, a unified presentation of the research from a broad international perspective has not been accomplished. As a ground-breaking publication, the two-volume International Handbook on Information Technology (full title) synthesizes the major issues and directions of research in the field. One major focus of the Handbook is the design and potential of IT-based student learning environments. Offering the latest research in IT and the learning process, distance learning, and emerging technologies for education, these chapters address the critical issue of the potential for IT to improve K-12 education. A second important theme deals with the implementation of IT in educational practice. In these chapters, barriers and opportunities for IT implementation are studied from several perspectives: the teacher, the curriculum, the school organization and educational policy.Curriculum, competencies and attitudes, teacher learning, schools, and international and regional programs and policies are examined, to improve understanding how the implementation of IT in K-12 educational practice can be supported. Additional topics addressed in the Handbook include the role of education in the information society, threats to equity in education and as well various approaches to research in IT in education. The International Handbook on Information Technology in Primary and Secondary Education provides researchers, policy makers and practitioners with an integrated and detailed overview of this complex field, making it an essential reference for all libraries and educators."
Knowledge-Building by
Education and knowledge have never been more important to society, yet research is segmented by approach, methodology or topic. Legitimation Code Theory or 'LCT' extends and integrates insights from Pierre Bourdieu and Basil Bernstein to offer a framework for research and practice that overcomes segmentalism. This book shows how LCT can be used to build knowledge about education and society. Comprising original papers by an international and multidisciplinary group of scholars, Knowledge-building offers the first primer in this fast-growing approach. Through case studies of major research projects, Part I provides practical insights into how LCT can be used to build knowledge by: - enabling dialogue between theory and data in qualitative research - bringing together quantitative and qualitative methodologies in mixed-methods research - relating theory and practice in praxis - conducting interdisciplinary studies with systemic functional linguistics Part II offers a series of studies of pressing issues facing knowledge-building in education and beyond, encompassing: - diverse subject areas, including physics, English, cultural studies, music, and design - educational sites: schooling, vocational education, and higher education - practices of research, curriculum, pedagogy and assessment - both education and informal learning contexts, such as museums and masonic lodges Carefully sequenced and interrelated, these chapters form a coherent collection that gives a unique insight into one of the most thought-provoking and innovative ways of building knowledge about knowledge-building in education and society to have emerged this century. This book is essential reading for all serious students and scholars of education, sociology and linguistics.
The Commons in a Glocal World by
This volume focuses on how, in Europe, the debate on the commons is discussed in regard to historical and contemporary dimensions, critically referencing the work of Elinor Ostrom. It also explores from the perspective of new institutional political ecology (NIPE) how Europe directly and indirectly affected and affects the commons globally. Most of the research on the management of commons pool resources is limited to dealing with one of two topics: either the interaction between local participatory governance and development of institutions for commons management, or a political- economy approach that focuses on global change as it is related to the increasingly globalised expansion of capitalist modes of production, consumption and societal reproduction. This volume bridges the two, addressing how global players affect the commons worldwide and how they relate to responses emerging from within the commons in a global- local (glocal) world. Authors from a range of academic disciplines present research findings on recent developments on the commons, including: historical insights; new innovations for participatory institutions building in Europe or several types of commons grabbing, especially in Africa related to European investments; and restrictions on the management of commons at the international level. European case studies are included, providing interesting examples of local participation in commons resource management, while simultaneously showing Europe as a centre for globalized capitalism and its norms and values, affecting the rest of the world, particularly developing countries. This book will be of interest to students and researchers from a wide range of disciplines including natural resource management, environmental governance, political geography and environmental history. plines present research findings on recent developments on the commons, including: historical insights; new innovations for participatory institutions building in Europe or several types of commons grabbing, especially in Africa related to European investments; and restrictions on the management of commons at the international level. European case studies are included, providing interesting examples of local participation in commons resource management, while simultaneously showing Europe as a centre for globalized capitalism and its norms and values, affecting the rest of the world, particularly developing countries. This book will be of interest to students and researchers from a wide range of disciplines including natural resource management, environmental governance, political geography and environmental history.
Globalism and Localization by
Considering the context of the present ecological and social crisis, this book takes an interdisciplinary approach to explore the relationship between globalism and localization. Globalism may be viewed as a positive emergent property of globalization. The latter depicts a worldwide economic and political system, and arguably a worldview, that has directly increased planetary levels of injustice, poverty, militarism, violence, and ecological destruction. In contrast, globalism represents interconnected systems of exchange and resourcefulness through increased communications across innumerable global diversities. In an economic, cultural, and political framework, localization centers on small-scale communities placed within the immediate bioregion, providing intimacy between the means of production and consumption, as well as long-term security and resilience. There is an increasing movement towards localization in order to counteract the destruction wreaked by globalization, yet our world is deeply and integrally immersed within a globalized reality. Within this collection, contributors expound upon the connection between local and global phenomenon within their respective fields including social ecology, climate justice, ecopsychology, big history, peace ecology, social justice, community resilience, indigenous rights, permaculture, food justice, liberatory politics, and both transformative and transpersonal studies.
Natural Resource Conflicts and Sustainable Development by
Providing both a theoretical background and practical examples of natural resource conflict, this volume explores the pressures on natural resources leading to scarcity and conflict. It is shown that the causes and driving forces behind natural resource conflicts are diverse, complex and often interlinked, including global economic growth, exploding consumption, poor governance, poverty, unequal access to resources and power. The different interpretations of nature-culture and the role of humans in the ecosystem are often at the centre of the conflict. Natural resource conflicts range from armed conflicts to conflicts of interest between stakeholders in the North as well as in the South. The varying driving forces behind such disputes at different levels and scales are critically analysed, and approaches to facilitate and enforce mediation, transformation and collaboration at these levels and scales are presented and discussed. In order to transform existing resource conflicts, as well as to decrease the risk of future conflicts, approaches that enhance and enforce collaboration for sustainable development at global, regional, national and local levels are reviewed, and sustainable pathways suggested. A range of global examples is presented including water resources, fisheries, forests, human-wildlife conflicts, urban environments and the consequences of climate change. It will be a valuable text for advanced students of natural resource management, environment and development studies and peace and conflict management. The book will also be of interest to practitioners in the field of natural resource management. resource conflicts, as well as to decrease the risk of future conflicts, approaches that enhance and enforce collaboration for sustainable development at global, regional, national and local levels are reviewed, and sustainable pathways suggested. A range of global examples is presented including water resources, fisheries, forests, human-wildlife conflicts, urban environments and the consequences of climate change. It will be a valuable text for advanced students of natural resource management, environment and development studies and peace and conflict management. The book will also be of interest to practitioners in the field of natural resource management.
Routledge Handbook of Ecocriticism and Environmental Communication by
Ecocriticism and environmental communication studies have for many years co-existed as parallel disciplines, occasionally crossing paths but typically operating in separate academic spheres. These fields are now rapidly converging, and this handbook aims to reinforce the common concerns and methodologies of the sibling disciplines. The Routledge Handbook of Ecocriticism and Environmental Communication charts the history of the relationship between ecocriticism and environmental communication studies, while also highlighting key new paradigms in information studies, diverse examples of practical applications of environmental communication and textual analysis, and the patterns and challenges of environmental communication in non-Western societies. Contributors to this book include literary, film and religious studies scholars, communication studies specialists, environmental historians, practicing journalists, art critics, linguists, ethnographers, sociologists, literary theorists, and others, but all focus their discussions on key issues in textual representations of human¿nature relationships and on the challenges and possibilities of environmental communication. The handbook is designed to map existing trends in both ecocriticism and environmental communication and to predict future directions. This handbook will be an essential reference for teachers, students, and practitioners of environmental literature, film, journalism, communication, and rhetoric, and well as the broader meta-discipline of environmental humanities.
Urban Geography in South Africa by
This book embraces South Africa and its place in the Global South, providing a succinct theoretical and empirical analysis and discussion of urban issues in the country. There have been sporadic calls from the Urban Geography community for the development of an overarching and comprehensive text that explores contemporary processes and practices taking place in urban South Africa and, more widely, the Global South. This is an edited collection of chapters by leading urban theorists and practitioners working on various themes within urban South Africa and serves as a base for scholars and students interested in urban perspectives from countries in the Global South.
Psychotherapy for the Advanced Practice Psychiatric Nurse by
"Dr. Wheeler has skillfully crafted a text that covers basic psychiatric principles and skills from developing a therapeutic relationship and assessing and diagnosing the client to providing evidence-based psychotherapy for a variety of patient populations... This text is an excellent primer for teaching therapy skills and, although targeting graduate psychiatric nursing students, would prove equally valuable for students of any mental health discipline. It is also a resource for experienced clinicians wanting to expand their understanding of trauma and how adaptive information processing might be used as an organizing framework for all psychotherapy." --Linda Mabey, Journal of EMDR Practice and Research DESCRIPTION This is a how-to compendium of evidence-based approaches to practicing psychotherapy for both the experienced and neophyte advanced practice psychiatric nurse. This book integrates neuroscience with relationship science and unites disparate psychotherapeutic approaches into a model that is concise and straightforward, yet sufficiently comprehensive to provide a framework for practice. The most useful therapeutic models are highlighted with principles, and techniques of treatment for nurse psychotherapists and those with prescriptive authority. This second edition expands the award-winning first edition, providing guidelines, forms, and case studies to assist APPNs in deciding which treatment to use based on psychotherapy outcome studies and practice guidelines.New Chapters in the Second Edition: Motivational Interviewing Dialectical Behavior Therapy Group Therapy Family Therapy Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing (EMDR) Therapeutic Approaches for Addictions New CPT Codes & Reimbursement Awards and Reviews for the First Edition: APNA Media Award AJN Book of the Year Award 5 Star Amazon Reviews 4 Star Doody Review "Lays out a holistic paradigm for advanced psychiatric nursing (APN) practice by drawing upon a neuroscience of information processing, human development, attachment theory, and trauma. . . (and) explains the essentials of psychotherapy by melding principles underlying the therapeutic alliance, adaptive information processing (AIP), change, and a hierarchically arranged treatment format that fosters healing through the resolution of dysfunctional memory this important text holds true to the historical basis for psychiatric nursing being organized around phases and principles of the nurse-patient relationship." Margaret England, PhD, RN, CNS, Perspectives in Psychiatric Care "Wheeler offers the field a scholarly training manual. . . grounded in Shapiro's (2001) adaptive information processing paradigm . . .(where) the brain is viewed as an information processing system with innate self-healing mechanisms that regulate its internal environment to survive and to maintain a stable, constant condition through dynamic regulation." Robert M. Greenfield, PhD, Journal of Trauma & Dissociation
Musculoskeletal Injuries and Conditions by
Musculoskeletal Injuries and Conditions: Assessment and Management is a practical guide to diagnosis and treatment of musculoskeletal conditions in clinical practice. More comprehensive than a handbook, yet more clinically-focused than a desk reference, this volume is a one-stop guide for clinicians who deal with musculoskeletal disorders and injuries in the practice setting. The book is organized by anatomic region, from neck to toe, and written in outline format. Each chapter concisely presents the basic knowledge that every practitioner needs to have at the ready in the outpatient clinical context. Taking a uniform approach based on isolating symptoms and the location of the pain, the book presents a uniquely practical template for nonoperative management of a broad spectrum of musculoskeletal problems. All chapters include epidemiology, anatomy, biomechanics, physical examination, diagnostic studies, and treatment. Flowcharts for differential diagnosis and initial management are provided for chief complaints. Helpful tables, lists, and over 150 anatomic illustrations supplement the text throughout. Given the increasing importance of ultrasound in clinical decision-making at the point of care, a mini-atlas of normal and abnormal findings for common injuries is presented as part of the imaging work-up. Designed to help busy practitioners diagnose and treat musculoskeletal disorders in the clinic or office, this book is an essential resource for physicians in rehabilitation and sports medicine, primary care, orthopedics, and other health care professionals who work in outpatient settings. KEY FEATURES Provides a consistent approach to managing common musculoskeletal conditions based on location of pain Bulleted format and clear heading structure make it easy to find informationMore than 30 flowcharts map out differential diagnosis, diagnostic approach, and initial management strategy for each complaintPacked with useful tables, lists, and over 150 illustrations of surface anatomyIntegrates musculoskeletal ultrasound into the imaging workup, with over 40 normal and abnormal scans to aid in recognizing signature pathologies at the point of care Purchase includes access to the fully-searchable downloadable e-book with image bank
Musculoskeletal Pain Conditions by
Fulfilling the need for an easy-to-use resource on managing musculoskeletal disorders and sports injuries, this book provides differential diagnostic workups with recommended gold standard evaluations that lead to a simple and accurate diagnosis, followed by first-line treatment options. Organized by five sections - head and neck, upper extremity, lower extremity, abdomen/pelvis with trunk and chest, and cervical, thoracic and lumbosacral spine - chapters present a concise summary and move on to a description of the most common symptoms, etiology, epidemiology and/or common causes if traumatic in nature. The best and most accepted diagnostic tests are illustrated, along with recommended evidence-based medicine and what may be done based on community standards of care. Treatment options will be listed in order of the most conservative to the most aggressive. This complete reference will provide primary care, physiatry, and ER physicians, residents, PA's and students a simple and practical approach for clinical and academic use.
Marxism Versus Liberalism by
"An extraordinary work of political historical analysis that methodically and convincingly argues for the superiority of a Marxist approach for pursuing democracy. Rich in historical detail and thoroughly engrossing in portraying the real-time analyses of and intervention in crucial events by prominent Marxist and liberal theorists and political actors, Marxism versus Liberalism is a truly impressive achievement that will have an enduring appeal." --John F. Sitton, Professor Emeritus, Political Science, Indiana University of Pennsylvania, USA Performing a comparative real-time political analysis, Marxism versus Liberalism presents convincing evidence to sustain two similarly audacious claims: firstly, that Karl Marx and Frederick Engels collectively had better democratic credentials than Alexis de Tocqueville and John Stuart Mill; and secondly, that Vladimir Lenin had better democratic credentials than Max Weber and Woodrow Wilson. When the two sets of protagonists are compared and contrasted in how they read and responded to big political events in motion, this book contends that these Marxists proved to be better democrats than the history's most prominent Liberals. Exploring the historical scenarios of The European Spring of 1848, the United States Civil War, the 1905 Russian Revolution, the 1917 Russian Revolution, and the end of World War I, Marxism versus Liberalism carefully tests each claim in order to challenge assumed political wisdom.
Handbook of Infant Mental Health Fourth Edition by
The definitive reference in the field--now significantly revised with 75% new material--this volume examines typical and atypical development from birth to the preschool years and identifies what works in helping children and families at risk. Foremost experts explore neurobiological, family, and sociocultural factors in infant mental health, with a major focus on primary caregiving relationships. Risk factors for developmental problems are analyzed, and current information on disorders and disabilities of early childhood is presented. The volume showcases evidence-based approaches to assessment and intervention and describes applications in mental health, primary care, child care, and child welfare settings. New to This Edition: *Chapters on genetic and epigenetic processes, executive functions, historical trauma, and neglect. *Chapters on additional clinical problems: hyperactivity and inattention, sensory overresponsivity, and relationship-specific disorder. *Chapters on additional interventions: attachment and biobehavioral catch-up, video-feedback intervention to promote positive parenting and sensitive discipline, parent-child interaction therapy, and home visiting programs. *Existing chapters all rewritten or revised to reflect a decade's worth of empirical and clinical advances.
Upheavals of Thought by
Emotions shape the landscape of our mental and social lives. Like geological upheavals in a landscape, they mark our lives as uneven, uncertain and prone to reversal. Are they simply, as some have claimed, animal energies or impulses with no connection to our thoughts? Or are they rather suffused with intelligence and discernment, and thus a source of deep awareness and understanding? In this compelling book, Martha C. Nussbaum presents a powerful argument for treating emotions not as alien forces but as highly discriminating responses to what is of value and importance. She explores and illuminates the structure of a wide range of emotions, in particular compassion and love, showing that there can be no adequate ethical theory without an adequate theory of the emotions. This involves understanding their cultural sources, their history in infancy and childhood, and their sometimes unpredictable and disorderly operations in our daily lives.
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville,
7535
Tel: 021 959 2946
