+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za
Chokers en Survivors by
'n Oorrompelende debuutbundel wat stem gee aan die lewe in en om die Kaapse vlakte. Geskryf in die taal eie aan die gebied, hanteer die skrywer die alledaagse lewe op die Kaapse vlakte met kragtige verse wat die leser laat huiwer tussen lag en huil.
Emotions in Social Life by
The development of a sociology of emotions is crucial to our understanding of social life as they hold the key to our understanding of social processes and sociological investigation. First published in 1997, Emotions in Social Life consolidates the sociology of emotions as a legitimate and viable field of enquiry. It provides a comprehensive assessment of the sociology of emotions using work from scholars of international stature, as well as newer writers in the field. It presents new empirical research in conjunction with innovative and challenging theoretical material, and will be essential reading for students of sociology, health psychology, anthropology and gender studies.
Interviewing in Social Science Research by
What is interviewing and when is this method useful? What does it mean to select rather than sample interviewees? Once the researcher has found people to interview, how does she build a working relationship with her interviewees? What should the dynamics of talking and listening in interviews be? How do researchers begin to analyze the narrative data generated through interviews? Lee Ann Fujii explores the answers to these inquiries in Interviewing in Social Science Research, the latest entry in the Routledge Series on Interpretive Methods. This short, highly readable book explores an interpretive approach to interviewing for purposes of social science research. Using an interpretive methodology, the book examines interviewing as a relational enterprise. As a relational undertaking, interviewing is more akin to a two-way dialogue than a one-way interrogation. Fujii examines the methodological foundations for a relational approach to interviewing, while at the same time covering many of the practical nuts and bolts of relational interviewing. Examples come from the author's experiences conducting interviews in Bosnia, Rwanda, and the United States, and from relevant literatures across a variety of social scientific disciplines. Appendices to the book contain specific tips and suggestions for relational interviewing in addition to interview excerpts that give readers a sense of how relational interviews unfold. This book will be of great value to graduate students and researchers from across the social sciences who are considering or planning to use interviews in their research, and can be easily used by academics for teaching courses or workshops in social science methods.
Nancy Fraser and Participatory Parity by
Nancy Fraser and Participatory Parity provides a philosophical framework based on the work of Nancy Fraser, examining how her ideas can be used to analyse contemporary issues in higher education and reimagine higher education practices. Providing a forum for considering Fraser's work in relation to participatory parity in higher education, the book shows how her political philosophy is relevant to higher education pedagogies, scholarship and practice. The recent student protests in South Africa in 2015 and 2016 has created an impetus to think about how to do things differently in higher education in response to economic, cultural and political inequities. This South African experience is aptly used as a prime example of rethinking issues of coloniality and social injustice in higher education. The contributors' use of Nancy Fraser's theories provides their analyses and reflections with a particularly sharp lens and clear focus. The book also puts her work into conversation with other contemporary writers on social justice and explores the resonances and differentiations of the various approaches. This book will be of great interest for academics, researchers and post-graduate students in the fields of social justice in education and educational policy.
Biodiversity, Food and Nutrition by
This book examines the challenges and impacts of poor diets and nutrition from current food systems and the potential contribution of biodiversity and ecosystem services in addressing these problems. There is a strong need for a multi-level, cross-sectoral approach that connects food biodiversity conservation and sustainable use to address critical problems in our current food systems, including malnutrition. Building on research from the Biodiversity for Food and Nutrition Project (BFN), which aims to better link biodiversity, diets and nutrition, the book presents a multi-country, cross-sectoral analysis of initiatives that have promoted local food biodiversity in four countries: Brazil, Kenya, Turkey and Sri Lanka. This book offers a comprehensive summary of the BFN Project results in each of the four countries along with lessons learned and how this work could be upscaled or applied in other regions. It argues that the strategic promotion and use of food biodiversity is critical in uniting attempts to address conservation, nutrition and livelihood concerns. The book is structured around chapters and case studies encompassing the BFN Project with specific experiences related by partners who played key roles in the work being done in each country. By offering a comparative view capable of furthering dialogue between the respective countries, it is also meant to connect the individual cases for a "greater than the sum of its parts" effect. This means consideration of how localized activities can be adapted to more countries and regions. Therefore, the book addresses global issues with a foot planted firmly in the grounded case study locations. This book will be of great interest to policymakers, practitioners and NGOs working on food and nutrition, as well as students and scholars of agriculture, food systems and sustainable development.
Biomarkers in Periodontal Health and Disease by
This book examines all aspects of the progress being made towards the development of highly specific and sensitive biomarkers that will overcome the shortcomings of clinical assessments in periodontics. The opening chapters present the basic anatomic features of periodontal tissues, outline the nature and pathogenic mechanisms of periodontal diseases, and discuss both conventional and novel methods of diagnosis with reference to their specificity and sensitivity. The potential role of biomarkers in periodontal diagnosis is then presented in the light of the published data. The biological samples in which potential biomarkers are sought are evaluated comparatively, drawing attention to their strengths and weaknesses, and the available technologies for biomarker studies are reviewed. The potential benefits of biomarkers are also discussed with regard to the possible bidirectional interactions between periodontal diseases and systemic health. Finally, the past, present, and future of periodontics are examined from a broader perspective. Readers will find the book to be an ideal summary of the state of the art in the field as biomarkers emerge that promise to facilitate periodontal diagnostics and permit timely, personally tailored interventions.
Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions by
The revised edition of the Handbook offers the only guide on how to conduct, report and maintain a Cochrane Review 
 The second edition of The Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions contains essential guidance for preparing and maintaining Cochrane Reviews of the effects of health interventions. Designed to be an accessible resource, the Handbook will also be of interest to anyone undertaking systematic reviews of interventions outside Cochrane, and many of the principles and methods presented are appropriate for systematic reviews addressing research questions other than effects of interventions. This fully updated edition contains extensive new material on systematic review methods addressing a wide-range of topics including network meta-analysis, equity, complex interventions, narrative synthesis, and automation. Also new to this edition, integrated throughout the Handbook, is the set of standards Cochrane expects its reviews to meet. Written for review authors, editors, trainers and others with an interest in Cochrane Reviews, the second edition of The Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions continues to offer an invaluable resource for understanding the role of systematic reviews, critically appraising health research studies and conducting reviews.
Nutrition for Dental Health: A Guide for the Dental Professional, Enhanced Edition by 
Addressing Barriers to Learning 4: A South African Perspective 2019 by
Addressing barriers to learning covers the complete continuum of barriers to learning as reflected in Education White Paper 6, including the most vulnerable of them: those who are economically and educationally disadvantaged; those with physical, sensory, intellectual, and/or learning impairment; those who are subjected to xenophobic behaviour and those displaying challenging behaviour who are at risk of exclusion. This latest edition also includes a new section on discrimination and sociocultural injustice towards LGBTQI (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, questioning and intersex) learners. Case studies offer practical examples and activities provide opportunities for hands-on experience with classroom practice and management, collaboration with all role players and mobilisation of community involvement, which is at the heart of true inclusion.
Addressing barriers to learning is aimed at both prospective and current educators and other support professionals, including psychologists and therapists.
An Educator's Guide to Effective Classroom Management 3 by
http://www.vanschaiknet.com/backoffice/coverimages/WkqBwdiGirEJ.jpg
Essentials of Literacy From 0-7 by
Children flourish in their development and learning when practitioners and parents work together. Childrens' development and learning are further enhanced when interconnected knowledge and understanding work together. In this new edition the authors guide readers in understanding of child development. They highlight the need for those who work with young children to become reflective practitioners. Through a focus on the introduction of nursery rhymes, finger rhymes, action songs and poetry cards, the authors provide a gentle, child-friendly way to develop literacy 0-7. Thoroughly revised and updated, this book includes: - Case studies and examples - Discussion of the primary framework - Inclusion of schools as an educational setting - Age-appropriate activities - Further reading suggestions at the end of each chapter This book is useful for teachers, practitioners, teaching assistants and childminders and for anyone working with children from birth to seven years in nursery and primary schools, children's centres, foundation units, and at home. Tina Bruce is an Honorary visiting professor in Early Childhood at Roehampton University. Jenny Spratt is Head of EYFS and Children's Centre Services for Peterborough Local Authority
Geletterdheid in die grondslagfase 3 by
Die boek behandel die onderrig van Afrikaans as huistaal in Graad 1, 2 en 3 soos beskryf in die Kurrikulum en Assesseringsbeleidverklaring (KABV) van 2011. Die boek bevat ook inligting vir die onderrig van Graad R. Dit fokus op die onderwyspraktyk en het terselfdertyd 'n sterk navorsingsinslag. 'n Teoretiese agtergrond tot taalontwikkeling en basiese geletterdheid is in hierdie uitgawe ingesluit. Die belangrikheid van moedertaal of huistaal word beklemtoon. 'n Hoofstuk oor die onderrig van Afrikaans as eerste addisionele taal is egter ook ingesluit. Die onderrig van luister, praat, lees en kyk, skryf, dink en redeneer asook taalstruktuur en -gebruik word breedvoerig bespreek en praktiese idees word gegee. Handskrifonderrig word behandel met voorbeelde uit die praktyk. Assessering word by elke taalvaardigheid bespreek en voorbeelde word gegee. Die teks is krities gelees deur kundiges in die praktyk en die akademiese wêreld soos onder andere professors Marike de Witt, Anna Hugo en Susan Kubic Barnes van die James Madison Universiteit Harrisonburg, Virginia, VSA. Aan die einde van elke hoofstuk is vrae ingesluit wat gebruik kan word vir selfstudie. 'n Graad 1 handskriftipe is ingesluit. Die handskriftipe is ontwikkel deur dr. Judy van Heerden en Marietjie Schutte. Dr. Van Heerden is 'n dosent in die Departement Vroeê Kinderonderwys aan die Universiteit van Pretoria en Marietjie Schutte is 'n dosent in die Departement Inligtingskunde aan die Universiteit van Pretoria."--Publisher's website
Learner Support in a Diverse Classroom 2: A Guide for Foundation, Intermediate and Senior Phase Teachers of Language and Mathematics by 
Life Orientation for South African Teachers 2 by 
Literacy in the Foundation Phase 3/e by
Good reading and writing skills are not only essential for effective communication in today’s world – they also form the basis of a child’s continuing education and therefore need to be mastered in the first few years of schooling. Literacy in the Foundation Phase discusses the teaching of English as home language in Grades 1, 2 and 3 as described by the Curriculum and Assessment Policy Statement (CAPS) of 2011. It also touches on the teaching of literacy in Grade R.
Literacy in the Foundation Phase focuses on the practical teaching of English. In addition, the book’s strong research foundation will enhance any researcher’s knowledge of literacy and how to teach it. The assessment of each language skill is discussed, and examples are provided.
This edition offers a theoretical background to language development and basic literacy. The book is premised on the importance of a solid language foundation as key to effective learning and, although it advocates the desirability of mothertongue education, a chapter on the teaching of English as an additional language is included.
Literacy in the Foundation Phase is aimed at educators in search of basic and new ideas for the teaching of English as home language or as first additional language in the Foundation Phase, parents doing home schooling, and lecturers and students of the Foundation Phase at tertiary level.
Managing Discipline in Schools by
The management of discipline is an essential element in educational practice, and at a time when teachers and managers are anxious about reported increases in violence and other forms of anti-social behaviour there's a need for practical guidance and a review of current thinking. Based on the author's experience and research in a range of secondary and primary schools, this book presents accessible summaries of relevant legislation and guides the reader through management theories towards effective practice. By placing the teacher at the centre of the management of discipline in schools and focusing on teacher and pupil esteem, a disciplined environment is not only desirable, but achievable too. Written in an accessible style, the book; * highlights the real problems and offers real solutions * includes case-studies, recent research and legislation * considers the classroom as well as the whole-school context * describes the support networks within education * provides a multi-agency approach. This book is aimed at trainee and practising teachers, managers, and all those who work with children.
A Practical Guide to Discipline in Schools by
Over the past decade the teaching environment in South Africa has changed drastically. One of the thorny issues facing the current education dispensation is that of learner discipline. Traditional views and disciplinary methods have had to give way for the Constitution's Bill of Rights. In light of this, the Faculty of Education Sciences at North-West University launched a research project on learner discipline and found that where before the emphasis was on reward and punishment, aspects such as co-ownership, mutual respect and co-responsibility are now key to the creation of a learning environment characterised by order and discipline. A practical guide to discipline in schools introduces some of the information gained from this study in the form of a practical manual and explores creative ways to transform impending chaos in the classroom into opportunities. It discusses the formulation of an equitable, fair and reasonable code of conduct and outlines the correct procedure to be followed for disciplinary hearings. A practical guide to discipline in schools is for educators and prospective educators, and aims to promote security in education practice through an orderly teaching-learning climate.
Responding to the Challenges of Inclusive Education in Southern Africa 2 by
Since the publication in 2007 of the first edition of this seminal work, the broader concept of inclusive education has become well established in many African countries. The editors believe it is time to look carefully at the successes and concerns associated with inclusive education in southern Africa (South Africa, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Malawi, and Lesotho) and to highlight strategies that have been shown to increase the likelihood of success.
This new edition presents readers with cultural-historical contexts and the voices that emerge from them, together with insights into challenges and opportunities associated with inclusive education in southern African contexts. The first section of the book describes a number of such contexts and reviews progress to date. The second section focuses on strategies to respond to, circumvent or reframe the challenges that have been identified. These include changing the discourses on diverse learning needs, facilitating institutional change, creating new collaborative partnerships, involving parents, moving towards teacher education for inclusion, thinking differently about education support, understanding how the curriculum can contribute to exclusion and developing inclusive pedagogy within the southern African context. The discussion of these strategies links evidence from international and local research with the unique characteristics of particular contexts and illustrates how ideas can be put into practice in creative ways.
In addition to providing an academic update, this text will be of practical value to teachers, learning support personnel and administrators, and indeed, anyone interested in promoting inclusive education.
Teaching Life Skills in the Foundation Phase by 
Teaching to transgress education as the practice of freedom / by
"After reading Teaching to TransgressI am once again struck by bell hooks's never-ending, unquiet intellectual energy, an energy that makes her radical and loving." -- Paulo Freire In Teaching to Transgress,bell hooks--writer, teacher, and insurgent black intellectual--writes about a new kind of education, education as the practice of freedom. Teaching students to "transgress" against racial, sexual, and class boundaries in order to achieve the gift of freedom is, for hooks, the teacher's most important goal. bell hooks speaks to the heart of education today: how can we rethink teaching practices in the age of multiculturalism? What do we do about teachers who do not want to teach, and students who do not want to learn? How should we deal with racism and sexism in the classroom? Full of passion and politics, Teaching to Transgress combines a practical knowledge of the classroom with a deeply felt connection to the world of emotions and feelings. This is the rare book about teachers and students that dares to raise questions about eros and rage, grief and reconciliation, and the future of teaching itself. "To educate is the practice of freedom," writes bell hooks, "is a way of teaching anyone can learn." Teaching to Transgress is the record of one gifted teacher's struggle to make classrooms work.
The Wiley Handbook of Social Studies Research by
The Wiley Handbook of Social Studies Research is a wide-ranging resource on the current state of social studies education. This timely work not only reflects on the many recent developments in the field, but also explores emerging trends. This is the first major reference work on social studies education and research in a decade An in-depth look at the current state of social studies education and emerging trends Three sections cover: foundations of social studies research, theoretical and methodological frameworks guiding social studies research, and current trends and research related to teaching and learning social studies A state-of-the-art guide for both graduate students and established researchers Guided by an advisory board of well-respected scholars in social studies education research
Anticolonial Afterlives in Egypt by
This study presents an alternative story of the 2011 Egyptian revolution by revisiting Egypt's moment of decolonisation in the mid-twentieth century. Anticolonial Afterlives in Egypt explores the country's first postcolonial project, arguing that the enduring afterlives of anticolonial politics, connected to questions of nationalism, military rule, capitalist development and violence, are central to understanding political events in Egypt today. Through an imagined conversation between Antonio Gramsci and Frantz Fanon, two foundational theorists of anti-capitalism and anticolonialism, Anticolonial Afterlives in Egypt focuses on issues of resistance, revolution, mastery and liberation to show how the Nasserist project, created by Gamal Abdel Nasser and the Free Officers in 1952, remains the only instance of hegemony in modern Egyptian history. In suggesting that Nasserism was made possible through local, regional and global anticolonial politics, even as it reproduced colonial ways of governing that continue to reverberate into Egypt's present, this interdisciplinary study thinks through questions of traveling theory, global politics, and resistance and revolution in the postcolonial world.
Archives, Recordkeeping and Social Justice by
Archives, Recordkeeping, and Social Justice expands the burgeoning literature on archival social justice and impact. Illuminating how diverse factors shape the relationship between archives, recordkeeping systems, and recordkeepers, this book depicts struggles for different social justice objectives. Discussions and debates about social justice are playing out across many disciplines, fields of practice, societal sectors, and governments, and yet one dimension cross-cutting these actors and engagement spaces has remained unexplored: the role of recordkeeping and archiving. To clarify and elaborate this connection, this volume provides a rigorous account of the engagement of archives and records--and their keepers--in struggles for social justice. Drawing upon multidisciplinary praxis and scholarship, contributors to the volume examine social justice from historical and contemporary perspectives and promote impact methodologies that align with culturally responsive, democratic, Indigenous, and transformative assessment. Underscoring the multiplicity of transformative social justice impacts influenced by recordmaking, recordkeeping, and archiving, the book presents nine case studies from around the world that link the past to the present and offer pathways towards a more just future. Archives, Recordkeeping, and Social Justice will be an essential reading for researchers and students engaged in the study of archives, truth and reconciliation processes, social justice, and human rights. It should also be of great interest to archivists, records managers, and information professionals.
As We Have Always Done by
Across North America, Indigenous acts of resistance have in recent years opposed the removal of federal protections for forests and waterways in Indigenous lands, halted the expansion of tar sands extraction and the pipeline construction at Standing Rock, and demanded justice for murdered and missing Indigenous women. In As We Have Always Done, Leanne Betasamosake Simpson locates Indigenous political resurgence as a practice rooted in uniquely Indigenous theorizing, writing, organizing, and thinking. Indigenous resistance is a radical rejection of contemporary colonialism focused around the refusal of the dispossession of both Indigenous bodies and land. Simpson makes clear that its goal can no longer be cultural resurgence as a mechanism for inclusion in a multicultural mosaic. Instead, she calls for unapologetic, place-based Indigenous alternatives to the destructive logics of the settler colonial state, including heteropatriarchy, white supremacy, and capitalist exploitation.
Beyond the Periphery of the Skin : Rethinking, Remaking, and Reclaiming the Body in Contemporary Capitalism by 
Decolonial Judaism by
Decolonial Judaism: Triumphal Failures of Barbaric Thinking explores the relationship among geopolitics, religion, and social theory. It argues that during the postcolonial and post-Holocaust era, Jewish thinkers in different parts of the world were influenced by Global South thought and mobilized this rich set of intellectual resources to confront the assimilation of normative Judaism by various incipient neo-colonial powers. By tracing the historical and conceptual lineage of this overlooked conversation, this book explores not only its epistemological opportunities, but also the internal contradictions that led to its ultimate unraveling, especially in the post-9/11 world.
Decolonizing Solidarity by
In this highly original and much-needed book, Clare Land interrogates the often fraught endeavours of activists from colonial backgrounds seeking to be politically supportive of Indigenous struggles. Blending key theoretical and practical questions, Land argues that the predominant impulses which drive middle-class settler activists to support Indigenous people cannot lead to successful alliances and meaningful social change unless they are significantly transformed through a process of both public political action and critical self-reflection. Based on a wealth of in-depth, original research, and focussing in particular on Australia, where - despite strident challenges - the vestiges of British law and cultural power have restrained the nation's emergence out of colonizing dynamics, Decolonizing Solidarity provides a vital resource for those involved in Indigenous activism and scholarship.
Freedom Dreams by
This exciting history of renegade intellectuals and artists of the African diaspora throughout the twentieth century begins with the premise that the catalyst for political engagement has rarely been misery, poverty, or oppression. People are drawn to social movement because of hope: their dreams of a new world radically different from the one they inherited. Our imagination may be the most revolutionary tool available to us, and yet we have failed to understand its political importance and recognize it as a powerful social force. From Paul Robeson to Aime Cesaire to Jayne Cortez, Kelley unearths freedom dreams in African and Third World liberation movements, in the hope that Communism offered, in the imaginative mindscapes of Surrealism, in the transformative potential of radical feminism, and in the four-hundred-year-old dream of reparations for slavery and Jim Crow. With Freedom Dreams, Kelley affirms his place as "a major new voice on the intellectual left" (Frances Fox Piven) and shows us that any serious movement toward freedom must begin in the mind.
Freedom Dreams : The Black Radical Imagination by
Kelley unearths freedom dreams in this exciting history of renegade intellectuals and artists of the African diaspora in the twentieth century. Focusing on the visions of activists from C.L.R. James to Aime Cesaire and Malcolm X, Kelley writes of the hope that Communism offered, the mindscapes of Surrealism, the transformative potential of radical feminism, and of the four-hundred-year-old dream of reparations for slavery and Jim Crow. From'the preeminent historian of black popular culture' (Cornel West), an inspiring work on the power of imagination to transform society.
Gender, Protests and Political Change in Africa by
This book brings together conceptual debates on the impact of youth-hood and gender on state building in Africa. It offers contemporary and interdisciplinary analyses on the role of protests as an alternative route for citizens to challenge the ballot box as the only legitimate means of ensuring freedom. Drawing on case studies from seven African countries, the contributors focus on specific political moments in their respective countries to offer insights into how the state/society social contract is contested through informal channels, and how political power functions to counteract citizen's voices. These contributions offer a different way of thinking about state-building and structural change that goes beyond the system-based approaches that dominate scholarship on democratization and political structures. In effect, it provides a basis for organizers and social movements to consider how to build solidarity beyond influencing government institutions.
The Intimacies of Four Continents by
In this uniquely interdisciplinary work, Lisa Lowe examines the relationships between Europe, Africa, Asia, and the Americas in the late eighteenth- and early nineteenth- centuries, exploring the links between colonialism, slavery, imperial trades and Western liberalism. Reading across archives, canons, and continents, Lowe connects the liberal narrative of freedom overcoming slavery to the expansion of Anglo-American empire, observing that abstract promises of freedom often obscure their embeddedness within colonial conditions. Race and social difference, Lowe contends, are enduring remainders of colonial processes through which "the human" is universalized and "freed" by liberal forms, while the peoples who create the conditions of possibility for that freedom are assimilated or forgotten. Analyzing the archive of liberalism alongside the colonial state archives from which it has been separated, Lowe offers new methods for interpreting the past, examining events well documented in archives, and those matters absent, whether actively suppressed or merely deemed insignificant. Lowe invents a mode of reading intimately, which defies accepted national boundaries and disrupts given chronologies, complicating our conceptions of history, politics, economics, and culture, and ultimately, knowledge itself.
Maroon the Implacable by
Russell Maroon Shoatz is a political prisoner who has been in solitary confinement for 30 years. This is the first collection of his accumulated written works. Despite the having spent decades in prison, Shoatz has remained on the cutting edge of history, writing wide-range of essays covering past and current issues. He gives a fresh retelling of the Black Liberation Movement, as well as an analysis of the prison system. His sharp understanding of current historical movements includes proposals on how to move forward to embrace new political practices.
Clinical Paediatric Dietetics by
Clinical Paediatric Dietetics is a comprehensive guide to the nutritional management of a wide range of paediatric disorders. It provides key information on how conditions may benefit from nutritional support or be ameliorated or resolved by dietary intervention. Covering assessment, requirements and normal healthy eating as well as the dietetic management and nutrition support of inherited metabolic disorders and diseases of all major organ systems, it is an indispensable guide for all those involved in the nutritional treatment of children. Fully revised and updated for its fourth edition, this practical manual now includes links to useful online content and incorporates a range of case studies to place material in clinical context. Written by dietitians for dietitians and officially supported by the British Dietetic Association, Clinical Paediatric Dietetics is an indispensable resource for all healthcare practitioners caring for children.
Counselling Skills for Dietitians by
The third edition Counselling Skills for Dieticians has been fully revised and updated to reflect the recent developments, research and interests in the field. It explores the skills required for dietetic counselling, and includes frequent examples of dialogue from patient consultations, as well as exercises and activities so that the reader can undergo experiential learning relevant to their practice. Includes examples from daily practice to illustrate the difficulties encountered by dietitians and demonstrate the application of counselling skills Clearly explains theoretical models of accepted counselling practice underpinning the skills described Has been updated to include additional information on topics such as assertiveness skills and eating distress Addresses practical and psychological issues faced by dietitians and patients Includes the latest research evidence for counselling skills in dietetic practice Draws upon research evidence, theory and experience from the fields of psychotherapy and counselling Now provides access to a range of supportive online material including videos of consultations, case studies and resources for trainers
Careers: An Organisational Perspective 5e by
The fifth edition of this market-leading textbook on careers in the organisational context retains its popular blend of theory, classical and contemporary research, application activities and real-life case scenarios that represent the diverse population groups of South Africa.
Social Information Research by
Information we receive from and create together with our social networks is becoming increasingly important. Social information has a great impact on our information behaviour and there are many possible angles and layers in studying social aspects in information science. This book presents some of these angles. Social Information Research, co-edited by Gunilla Widen and Kim Holmberg communicates current research looking into different aspects of social information as part of information behaviour research. There is a special emphasis on the new innovations supporting contemporary information behavior and the social media context within which it can sit. As a concept, social information has been studied in biology, psychology and sociology among other disciplines. This book is relevant for various actors in the library and information science field and will be useful for researchers, educators, and practitioners while coordinating empirical research on social information and providing an overview of some of the present research about social information.
A basic guide to civil procedure in the magistrates' courts by
"A Basic Guide to Civil Procedure in the Magistrates' Courts provides basic information about civile procedure in the magistrates' courts, and includes examples of the forms that are required for the process, as well as a glossary of legal terms. It is intended for use by anyone who needs to understand the basics of civil procedure"
Beginner's guide for law students by
"The fifth edition of Beginner's Guide for Law Students is a foundational text which introduces first-year law students to: basic legal terminology and definitions; the South African legal system's objectives, history and subdivisions; and legal research skills. Students are introduced to the law as it stands, in accessible terms, with reference to the different sources of law and popular media, to demonstrate how the law affects the everyday lives of individuals and groups in South Africa. Without detracting from the book's accessibility, students are made aware of the law's complexity, contestability and uncertainties. Beginner's Guide for Law Students goes further in exposing students to critical voices on existing law and encourages students to start developing their own informed opinions about the legal system and what it can and cannot achieve in addressing South African problems today. Students are invited to continuously reflect on the implications of the 'transformative' Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1996 for the various dimensions of law. However, it is also shown that transformative constitutionalism is not the be-all and end-all of South African law, free from its own limits and criticism. As such, relevant 'decolonial' critiques of transformative constitutionalism are explored."
Caney's The Law of Suretyship in South Africa by 
Case Book on the Law of Delict by
This casebook contains 122 of the most important decisions on the law of delict from The South African Law Reports.
Child Offenders in South African Criminal Justice by
Child Offenders in South African Criminal Justice: Concepts and Process explains the Child Justice Act 75 of 2008 for the various sectors involved in the administration of child justice in South Africa.
Commercial Mediation by
"Commercial Mediation is the first South African publication that explains how to conduct mediation in commercial matters. While mediation is well established in many parts of the world as a speedier, less costly and more effective method of resolving commercial disputes than traditional litigation, it is only beginning to emerge as an option in the dispute resolution landscape of South Africa. In March 2014, the Department of Justice and Constitutional Development promulgated a mediation rule. The rule is set out and discussed in this second edition of the book. Commercial Mediation explains the processes that take place before and during commercial mediation and analyses the different types of consensus-seeking approaches and the key principles of mediation. The book includes specimen agreements to mediate and a specimen clause which allows for referral to mediation or arbitration. Each chapter concludes with a useful summary."
Contract by
Contract General Principles examines the concepts, principles and rules relating to contracts, and considers the jurisprudentJal, constitutional and social context in which contract law operates. The authors' expert analysis and exposition of the legislative and common-law principles underlying the law of contract provides a rich, illuminating reading experience for legal practitioners, law students and members of the general public with an interest in the subject. The authors explore the theoretical basis and structure of the South African law of contract and discuss the role played by the courts - including discussions of the latest court decisions - in the interpretation and application of these rules and principles. Where the law is not settled divergent opinions are considered and solutions offered, sometimes also with reference to foreign jurisdictions. This fifth edition of Contract General Principles highlights the importance ot the Consumer Protection Act in relation to the construction and conclusion of contracts, while close attention is also paid to the influence of constitutional jurisprudence and the principle of good faith in the formation of binding legal agreements. While the basic approach of the work has been retained, it has been substantially refined and reworked in many chapters.
Contract law : casebook = Kontraktereg : vonnisbundel by
This bilingual casebook is intended as a study aid for students of the general principles of the law of contract. Extracts from leading cases, supplemented by explanatory notes, are set out in traditional textbook style, which should provide students with easy access to cases.
Corporate governance in South Africa : with international comparisons Wiese, Tobie author. by
The second edition of corporate governance in South Africa: with international comparisons addresses the changes in the corporate governance landscape in South Africa brought about by the king iv report on governance for South Africa, 2016 and changes to several international codes.
Crime Scene Investigation by
Crime Scene Investigation is a practical book dealing with the management, investigation, and control and processing of crime scenes, or scenes of incident, as they are now called. The book explains the important principles of continuity of possession and the importance of preventing contamination of the scene and evidence. It also focuses on the roles ol' experts and aids who can help investigating officers to solve complex and varied crimes. The book pays particular attention to the administrative process involved in the handling of evidence. This includes: the responsibilities of the investigating officer who has to deal with the incident; the various ways in which a scene of incident can be documented; the handling of people who may be present at the scene; the proper identification, collection, packaging and dispatch of evidence. Two of the unique features of the book is the introduction and explanation of a new investigation principle, namely the Lochner principle, and a new search method, namely the Lochner/Zinn search method.
Criminal procedure casebook = Strafprosesreg vonnisbundel by
"The second edition of this bilingual Criminal Procedure Casebook provides the reader with excerpts of judgments that illustrate the most important aspects and underlying principles of South African criminal procedure. It also contains a section on international and transnational criminal matters. This edition includes new topics such as the accused's capacity to understand proceedings (mental illness and criminal matters), undue delays in criminal matters and child justice. A summary of the facts and important issues precedes each case excerpt. The excerpts are followed by a critical note evaluating and explaining the relevance and importance of the judgment. The method employed by the authors in their selection of cases reflects a principled approach to the subject. All introductory and explanatory notes are in English and Afrikaans, and Afrikaans judgments are followed by an English translation. This book will be of invaluable assistance in the study of the dynamic field of criminal procedure. It can be used as a companion to the Criminal Procedure Handbook twelfth ed by Joubert (editor) et al. Die tweede uitgawe van die Strafprosesreg Vonnisbundel verskaf aan die gebruiker uittreksels uit hofbeslissings wat die belangrikste aspekte van en beginsels onderliggend aan die Suid-Afrikaanse strafprosesreg illustreer. Dit bevat ook 'n afdeling wat internasionale en transnasionale strafregtelike aangeleenthede aanraak. Hierdie tweede uitgawe bevat nuwe onderwerpe wat insluit: die beskuldigde se vermoë om verrigtinge te begryp (geestesongesteldheid en strafregtelike toerekenbaarheid), onbehoorlike vertragings in strafregtelike verrigtinge en kinderstrafproses. Elke uittreksel word voorafgegaan deur 'n opsomming (in Engels en Afrikaans) van die feite en belangrike kwessies. Die uittreksels word gevolg deur 'n kritiese aantekening (weereens in Engels en Afrikaans) waarin die belang van die uitspraak oorweeg en verduidelik word. Uitsprake in Afrikaans word gevolg deur 'n Engelse vertaling. Die skrywers se keuse van uitsprake weerspieël 'n beginselmatige benadering tot die onderwerp. Die boek sal nuttig wees by die bestudering van die dinamiese gebied van die strafprosesreg. Dit kan saam met die Strafprosesreghandboek twaalfde uitgawe deur Joubert (redakteur) et al gebruik word."
Criminal procedure legislative guide by
"Criminal procedure legislative guide is for use by students studying criminal procedure. This guide is a useful collection of legislation which will assist students in their study and exam preparation as well as in the answering of assignments. The purpose of this guide is to equip students with the theoretical knowledge and applied skills, aptitudes and competencies necessary to analyse and solve issues and disputes arising from the adjectival process of South African criminal procedure as it applies to adult accused and child offenders."--Back cover.
Dugard's international law : a South African perspective by
This fifth edition of International Law: A South African Perspective is now titled Dugard's International Law: A South African Perspective, in recognition of the fact that this work is a continuation of the earlier editions written by John Dugard.
Erfreg by
Hierdie is die uitgawe van die title wat in vorige uitgawes bekend was as onderskeidelik Erfreg: Studentehandboek en inleiding tot die Erfreg. Die title is nog steeds primer bedoel as handboek vir studente in die erfreg.
Farlam and Hathaway by
The 3rd edition of Farlam and Hathaway's popular case book on the law of contract builds an extensive series of notes, central materials and commentary upon its solid foundation of cases.
Forensic Investigation by
The field of forensic investigation has grown significantly in South Africa over the past few years, which is mostly due to the fact that investigations are now also undertaken by private and corporate bodies, and by government institutions other than the South African Police Service. The field of investigation has moved from being the sole domain of the police to including other role-players. The latest developments in the forensic investigation discipline are a result of the fact that forensic investigation is a continually evolving science. The new democratic dispensation also requires that all investigations must be conducted within the ambit of the Constitution. Forensic Investigation: Legislative Principles and Investigative Practices aims to meet the needs of this field by examining how forensic investigations should be conducted in South Africa, with reference to local legislative principles and scientific processes. Forensic Investigation: Legislative Principles and Investigative Practices commences by covering aspects such as the constitutional basis for public and private policing, the investigation process, and the characteristics of a good investigator. The book highlights the basic concepts of investigation and then proceeds to examine more sophisticated specialised aspects, such as medico-legal evidence, DNA, and policing in a cyber-world. The work also features more recent developments in the field, such as analysing the behaviour of offenders and the choices they make during the commission of crimes. These aspects are dealt with in relation to forensic geography and offender profiling.
Gender, law and justice by
Feminist lawyers have long been engaged in critiquing the gendered nature of South African law. This book introduces readers to basic feminist concepts and arguments, and to a wealth of local, comparative and international material on gender and the law.
General Principles of Commercial Law by
The 8th edition is updated to incorporate statutory and other developments in commercial law, including: A revised chapter on credit agreements to reflect the effect of the National Credit Amendment Act 19 of 2014. A revised and expanded chapter on banking law, including a discussion of the 2012 version of the South African Code of Banking Practice. An expanded chapter on methods of payment which includes a discussion of selected modern types of electronic payment. A discussion on the application of the Consumer Protection Act 68 of 2008.
Hahlo's South African Company Law Through the Cases by
This work offers a systematic overview of company law. Each topic is dealt with through an introductory text followed first by extracts from a wide-ranging selection of academic writings and then by case extracts.
Hockly's Insolvency Law by
The 9th edition of Hockly's insolvency law follows the expanded format of the previous two editions. The basic purpose of the book remains the same: to provide a concise, yet fairly detailed, account of the law of insolvency, winding-up and judicial management. The book aims at a wide readership. For the subject specialist, it provides an update of developments in the law relating to insolvency and winding-up; for students, it is a text for both undergraduate and postgraduate study; and for insolvency practitioners, it may be used as a guide and a quick source of reference. The appendices contain specimen applications, specimen estate accounts, the Insolvency Act, relevant extracts from the Companies Act and the Close Corporations Act, and the Cross-Border Insolvency Act.
Hockly's Insolvency Law Casebook by
A proper grasp of the law of insolvency can be acquired only by reading and digesting a sizeable volume of case law. This text, designed to complement Hockly's Insolvency Law, allows students and practitioners to come to terms with a broad range of insolvency cases.
Law of Banking and Payment in South Africa by
The Law of Banking and Payment in South Africa provides an explanation of some of the more important aspects of the law applicable to banks and banking in South Africa, along with the principles that govern payment and payment systems in this country. The Law of Banking and Payment in South Africa covers the following areas: a general introduction to banks and banking law; the nature of banking law and its sources; the role and function of the Reserve Bank and the various statutes that regulate banks; the bank-customer relationship; miscellaneous banking services provided by banks; general principles of payment; the law applicable to various payment systems; unauthorised cheque payments and unauthorised electronic funds transfers; international sale transactions; and bank guarantees.
The Law of Business Structures by
The Law of Business Structures provides a comprehensive but simplified treatment of the different types of business structures in South African law. This work examines the law of partnerships, business trusts, close corporations and companies, whether large or small and whether formed for a profit-making or a non-profit-making objective. The chapters on company law provide a detailed discussion and explanation of core company law topics. Discussions of modern corporate governance best practices, insider trading and market manipulation are also included. Excessive theoretical analysis has been avoided, but important legal concepts and principles are nevertheless carefully explained and analysed. Case law and references to legislation have been kept to a minimum, but discussions of the important cases and relevant legislation are included. A glossary of important terms, intended to provide background and guidance to students, is included, and sample questions are provided for each chapter of the book.
Law of Succession by
Law of Succession was first published in 1992 as a relatively concise text, primarily aimed at students in the law of succession. In its successive editions the book has evolved into a more general source on the South African law of succession. Through its approach, presentation and systematic method the work remains ideal for use as a textbook in courses in the law of succession. The fifth edition again strives to provide the reader with a comprehensive overview of the different facets of the law of succession, in the light of recent developments that have affected this branch of the law.
Medical Ethics, Law and Human Rights 2: A South African Perspective by
Healthcare delivery in the 21st century has become increasingly complex and demanding. Clinical consultations frequently raise scientific, ethical and legal challenges. While scientific issues may be resolved using an evidence-based medicine (EBM) approach, ethical theory is needed to justify decision making in the face of ethical conflict. Medical ethics, law and human rights: a South African perspective provides the conceptual background and analytic skills necessary to assist with the resolution of ethical dilemmas encountered in the South African healthcare environment. Medical ethics, law and human rights uses case studies to help the healthcare team to identify and analyse ethical, moral and value concepts, and to apply these to scenarios that they may encounter on a daily basis. Part 1 explores theories and principles of ethics (including African philosophy), introduces medical law, discusses health and human rights, and also makes the transition from theory to practice. Part 2 looks at specific topics in healthcare that raise challenges from an ethics perspective – HIV/AIDS, use of social media, euthanasia, human reproduction, genetics and genomics. In view of the increasing emphasis on ethical considerations in healthcare from the Health Professions Council of South Africa (HPCSA), coupled with the rising incidence of litigation in healthcare, Medical ethics, law and human rights is essential reading for health science, law and philosophy students as well as practising healthcare professionals.
Principles of Criminal Law by
The fifth edition of this established work on criminal law now includes detailed discussion of major judicial pronouncements on dolus eventualis (Pistorius), the limits of common purpose liability in its active association form (Dewnath), robbery with aggravating circumstances (Masingili), treason (the Boeremag Treason trial), racketeering/retrospectivity (Sovoi) and consensual child sexual experimentation (Teddy Bear Clinic). With the important entry into force on 9 August 2015 of the Prevention and Combating of Trafficking in Persons Act 7 of 2013, definitions of human trafficking and related offences have now become an integral part of our criminal law. Moreover, the transitional provisions on human trafficking in the Criminal Law (Sexual Offences and Related Matters) Amendment Act 32 of 2007 have been replaced with more detailed provisions under this Prevention and Combating of Trafficking in Persons Act 7 of 2013. A significant amendment to abortion law has been effected by the Choice on Termination of 'regnancy Amendment Act 1 of 2008 (assented to 12 February and promulgated 18 February 2008), following the Constitutional Court's judgment in Doctors for Life International v Speaker of the National Assembly 2006 (6) SA 416 (CC). Judgments of the Supreme Court of Appeal, the Constitutional Court and legislative amendments relevant to criminal law up until the end of 2015 have been included in this fifth edition of Principles of Criminal Law.
Principles of Evidence by
The fourth edition of Principles of Evidence strikes a balance between the theory of the law of evidence and its practical application. This edition continues to assess the impact of the Constitution on the traditional Anglo-South African law of evidence, especially with regards to the admissibility of unconstitutionally obtained evidence. It further discusses the statutory provisions regulating diverse matters such as sexual history evidence and the admissibility of electronic evidence.
Sociological Constitutionalism by
This landmark book provides the first systematic overview of the key scholarly contributions in an emerging field of research on constitutionalism: the sociology of constitutions. It presents chapters offering very different normative and methodological approaches to constitutions, ranging from analysis of national constitutional law, to research on transnational legal forms, to discussions of the constitutional impact of international human rights law. The book makes an important contribution to a series of wider debates - spanning constitutional law, legal theory, comparative constitutionalism, sociology, and political science - about the changing nature of constitutionalism. Researchers and students in constitutional law will gain a comprehensive appreciation of a diverse range of distinctively sociological approaches to constitutional law and an in-depth understanding of distinctive sociological dimensions of constitutions. The book offers insights into the sources of constitutional normativity in society and it proposes different sociological methods for addressing them.
Statutory Interpretation by
The fifth edition of Statutory Interpretation: An Introduction for Students is a user-friendly introduction to the basic principles of statutory interpretation. It is aimed mainly at undergraduate students, but practitioners will also find it useful. The rules and principles of statutory interpretation are explained using hypothetical situations and practical examples from case law and legislation. A supplementary CD containing the full text of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1996 and the Interpretation Act 33 of 1957 is included.
Student's Guide to the Law of Contract by
Aims to improve students' knowledge and understanding of basic contractual principles, develop their ability to reason and stimulate their interest in the subject.
Workplace law by
First published in 1996, Workplace Law has become one of the most widely used and frequently quoted text books on South African labour law. This 12th edition has been revised and supplemented to incorporate the latest case law, as well as the latest amendments to labour legislation
New Directions in Human Information Behavior by
New Directions in Human Information Behavior, co-edited by Drs. Amanda Spink and Charles Cole provides an understanding of the new directions, leading edge theories and models in human information behavior. Information behavior is conceptualized as complex human information related processes that are embedded within an individual s everyday social and life processes. The book presents chapters by an interdisciplinary range of scholars who show new directions that often challenge the established views and paradigms of information behavior studies. Beginning with an evolutionary framework, the book examines information behaviors over various epochs of human existence from the Palaeolithic Era and within pre-literate societies, to contemporary behaviors by 21st century humans. Drawing upon social and psychological science theories the book presents a more integrated and holistic approach to the understanding of information behaviors that include multitasking and non-linear longitudinal processes, individuals information ground, information practices and information sharing, digital behaviors and human information organizing behaviors. The final chapter of the book integrates these new approaches and presents an overview of the key trends, theories and models for further research. This book is directly relevant to information scientists, librarians, social and evolutionary psychologists. Undergraduate and graduate students, academics and information professionals interested in human information behavior will find this book of particular benefit."
Social Information Research by
Information we receive from and create together with our social networks is becoming increasingly important. Social information has a great impact on our information behaviour and there are many possible angles and layers in studying social aspects in information science. This book presents some of these angles. Social Information Research, co-edited by Gunilla Widen and Kim Holmberg communicates current research looking into different aspects of social information as part of information behaviour research. There is a special emphasis on the new innovations supporting contemporary information behavior and the social media context within which it can sit. As a concept, social information has been studied in biology, psychology and sociology among other disciplines. This book is relevant for various actors in the library and information science field and will be useful for researchers, educators, and practitioners while coordinating empirical research on social information and providing an overview of some of the present research about social information.
Davidson's Principles and Practice of Medicine by
More than two million medical students, doctors and other health professionals around the globe have owned a copy of Davidson's Principles and Practice of Medicine since it was first published. Now in its 23rd Edition, this textbook describes the pathophysiology and clinical features of the most frequently encountered conditions in the major specialties of adult medicine and explains how to recognise, investigate, diagnose and manage them. Taking its origins from Sir Stanley Davidson's much-admired lecture notes, Davidson's has endured because it keeps pace with how modern medicine is taught and provides a wealth of information in an easy-to-read, concise and beautifully illustrated format. This book will serve readers everywhere as a core text that integrates medical science with clinical medicine, conveying key knowledge and practical advice in a highly accessible and readable format. The opening section describes the fundamentals of genetics, immunology, infectious diseases and population health, and discusses the core principles of clinical decision-making and good prescribing. A new second section on emergency and critical care medicine encompasses poisoning, envenomation and environmental medicine, and introduces a new chapter on acute medicine and critical illness. The third section covers the major medical specialties, each thoroughly revised and brought fully up to date. Two new chapters on maternal and adolescent/transition medicine complement the one on ageing and disease. A new chapter on medical ophthalmology has been included. Clinical Examination overviews summarise the main elements for each system and now feature in the biochemistry, nutrition and dermatology chapters. Presenting Problems sections provide a clear pathway for the assessment of and approach to the most common complaints in each specialty. Practice Point summaries detail the practical skills that medical students and junior doctors must acquire. Emergency boxes emphasise the core knowledge needed to manage acutely ill patients. In Old Age, In Pregnancy and In Adolescence boxes highlight differences in the practice of medicine in these patient groups, and illustrate the interfaces between medical, obstetric and paediatric services. The text is extensively illustrated, with over 1000 diagrams, clinical photographs, and radiology and pathology images. The global perspective is enhanced by an International Advisory Board of experts from 17 countries, and by authors from around the world. The new second section on emergency and critical care medicine introduces a significantly expanded and comprehensive account of the approaches to dealing with acute medical and critical illness. Two new chapters on maternal and adolescent/transition medicine complement the one on ageing and disease by addressing problems encountered at key stages of patients' lives. A new chapter on medical ophthalmology has been included as a direct response to readers' requests. The opening chapter has been completely rewritten with a new focus on the important principles of clinical decision-making or clinical reasoning. A new internal text design for this 23rd Edition provides a simpler and clearer presentation of the various categories of text boxes.
Mental Health Nursing: A South African Perspective 7e by
Now in its 7th edition, this well-established title has been updated and revised to reflect the latest research in the field of mental health nursing. A team of authors from a range of higher education institutions has revised the text to ensure the book remains relevant to the current realities of nursing mental health care users in South Africa. The text takes the curricula of mental health nursing into account to ensure it is suitable for the new nursing programme. Rich in evidence-based practice and case studies, the book incorporates the diagnostic criteria from the DSM-5 ™ with accompanying explanatory text.
Saunders Nursing Guide to Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests by
Saunders Nursing Guide to Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests, 2nd Edition is the perfect guide to laboratory testing for both students and practicing nurses alike. Featuring the latest testing information organized alphabetically for quick reference, this resource offers test formats that emphasize the nurse's specific role in all aspects of the testing process. Basics the Nurse Needs to Know and Nursing Care sections for every laboratory test explain what the nurse is to do during the pre-, post- and actual test stages, and highlights the nursing responses to critical values, complications, patient teaching, and health promotion. A new companion Evolve website also offers a variety of learning resources and skills videos to help you master diagnostic procedures and perform accurate testing. Alphabetical organization of the laboratory tests (featuring alphabetical thumb tabs) makes every test easy to find. Also Called sections feature synonyms and abbreviations that help you identify specific tests. Purpose of the Test states the indications of each test. Basics the Nurse Needs to Know offers an explanation of each test in clear, simple language. Normal Values in standard and SI units include variations for gender and age, where relevant. How the Test is Done succinctly describes how each test is performed. Significance of Test Results list the diseases and disorders that are associated with abnormal findings. Interfering Factors list the factors, such as drugs, herbs, and improper specimen collection and handling, that inadvertently affect test results. Nursing Care is divided into Pretest, During the Test, and Posttest, listing in detail what the nurse does in the testing process. Nursing Response to Critical Values and Nursing Response to Complications detail what you should be alert for before, during, and after the test and how to manage dangerous situations. Explicit incorporation of nursing concerns related to lab tests can only be found in this lab book. Over 50 new and updated pieces of art highlight how results are interpreted, what equipment is used, and how various techniques are performed. Over 20 new tests prepare you for the types of tests you will encounter during your clinical experience. Patient Teaching icons make crucial nursing content easy to find. New Student Resources on Evolve feature a variety of supplemental learning tools. Skills materials, including skills checklists, PDFs of skills, and brief skills video clips, help you master specimen collection and basic diagnostic procedures. Patient handouts provide practical, useable materials to make your clinical experience easier. Audio pronunciations simplify the process of learning difficult terminology.
Aulton's Pharmaceutics by
From a review of the previous edition: 'For all the pharmacy students out there part of your pharmacy degree will be to study formulation design and pharmaceutics. This is the holy grail of pharmaceutical technology books. The text reads well and introduces difficult concepts in a more easy-to-understand way, it is definitely worth the money to help you get through the module, if you're doing a research project in pharmaceutical design then this would also be an excellent buy.This is essential for passing exams and developing professional competence.' This is the best known text on pharmaceutics. Its strength lies mainly in being a complete course in one book. Reviewers consistently praise its comprehensiveness and its extremely high quality-quality content. Pharmaceutics is one of the most diverse subject areas in pharmaceutical science and an understanding of it is vital for all pharmacists and scientists involved in converting drugs to medicines that can be safely delivered to a patient. The editorial and author team deliver a tour de force of accessibility, coverage and currency in this new edition of a world-class textbook. Relevant chemistry covered throughout Reflects current and future use of biotechnology products throughout Covers ongoing changes in our understanding of biopharmaceutics, certain areas of drug delivery and the significance of the solid state Includes the science of formulation and drug delivery Designed and written for newcomers to the design of dosage forms Key points boxes throughout Summaries at the end of each chapter Fully updated throughout, with particular focus on delivery of biopharmaceuticals, nanotechnology and nanomedicines, parenteral and ocular drug delivery mechanisms. Now comes with online access on StudentConsult. From a review of the previous edition: 'For all the pharmacy students out there part of your pharmacy degree will be to study formulation design and pharmaceutics. This is the holy grail of pharmaceutical technology books. The text reads well and introduces difficult concepts in a more easy-to-understand way, it is definitely worth the money to help you get through the module, if you're doing a research project in pharmaceutical design then this would also be an excellent buy.This is essential for passing exams and developing professional competence.' This is the best known text on pharmaceutics. Its strength lies mainly in being a complete course in one book. Reviewers consistently praise its comprehensiveness and its extremely high quality-quality content. Pharmaceutics is one of the most diverse subject areas in pharmaceutical science and an understanding of it is vital for all pharmacists and scientists involved in converting drugs to medicines that can be safely delivered to a patient. The editorial and author team deliver a tour de force of accessibility, coverage and currency in this new edition of a world-class textbook.
Biochemistry by
Succeed in the course with BIOCHEMISTRY. The authors' innovative conceptual and organizing "Essential Questions" framework guides you through course concepts in a way that reveals the beauty and usefulness of biochemistry in the everyday world. Offering a balanced and streamlined presentation, this edition has been updated throughout with new material and revised presentations. This book is integrated with OWLv2, a powerful online learning system for chemistry with book-specific end-of-chapter material that will help you improve your grades and master course concepts.
FASTtrack: Pharmaceutical Compounding and Dispensing by
Are your exams coming up? Are you drowning in textbooks and lecture notes and wondering where to begin? Take the FASTtrack route to successful study for your examinations. FASTtrack is a new series of indispensable revision/study guides created especially for pharmacy students. Each book focuses on what pharmacy students really need to know in order to pass exams, providing concise, bulleted information, key points, tips and an all-important self-assessment section which includes MCQs, case studies, sample essay questions and worked examples. The FASTtrack series provides the ultimate lecture notes and is a must-have for all pharmacy students wanting to study and test themselves for forthcoming exams. FASTtrack: Pharmaceutical Compounding and Dispensing focuses on what pharmacy students really need to know in order to pass exams, providing concise, bulleted information, key points, tips and an all-important self-assessment section which includes MCQs, case studies, sample essay questions and worked examples.Based on the successful textbook, Pharmaceutical Compounding and Dispensing, this FASTtrack book has been designed to assist the student compounder in understanding the key dosage forms encountered within extemporaneous dispensing.All the references to modern texts (for example, the BNF) have been updated for this new edition, as well as labelling to reflect changes since the publication of the first edition. Some worked examples have been changed owing to the availability of pharmaceutical ingredients. Readers are now given access to online videos demonstrating various dispensing procedures.
Pharmacology by
For 25 years, Rang and Dale's Pharmacology has delivered the core basic and clinical science information required by students and healthcare practitioners worldwide. Authors H. P. Rang, J. M. Ritter, R. J. Flower, and G. Henderson have ensured that the 8th Edition of this easy-to-read, comprehensive text continues the tradition of excellence with new coverage of drugs affecting the skin and new components online at studentconsult.com. Consult this title on your favorite e-reader. Get the essential pharmacology information you need from one authoritative source with an outstanding global reputation for excellence. Progress confidently through all relevant aspects of pharmacology, beginning with a molecular understanding of receptors and drug actions through clinical uses of key groups of drugs. Find important content quickly thanks to a color-coded layout that enables easy navigation and cross-referencing. Master difficult concepts with Key Points boxes, Clinical Uses boxes, and full-color illustrations throughout. Stay up to date with new information in the field, including an all-new chapter on drugs that affect the skin. Take advantage of new and unique features online, including 500+ chapter-specific multiple choice questions for immediate self-assessment. eBook version included! For the first time, you can access the entire book online or offline across all devices with the Student Consult eBook!
Pharmacology for nurses : a pathophysiologic approach by 
Ethics and Chronic Illness by
This book provides an account of the ethics of chronic illness. Chronic illness differs from other illnesses in that it is often incurable, patients can live with it for many years, and its day-to-day management is typically carried out by the patient or members of their family. These features problematise key distinctions that underlie much existing work in medical ethics including those between beneficence and autonomy, between treatment and prevention, and between the recipient and provider of treatment. The author carries out a detailed reappraisal of the roles of both autonomy and beneficence across the different stages of treatment for a range of chronic illnesses. A central part of the author's argument is that in the treatment of chronic illness, the patient and/or the patient's family should be seen as acting with healthcare professionals to achieve a common aim. This aspect opens up unexplored questions such as what healthcare professionals should do when patients are managing their illness poorly, the ethical implications of patients being responsible for parts of their treatment, and how to navigate sharing information with those directly involved in patient care without violating privacy or breaching confidentiality. The author addresses these challenges by engaging with philosophical work on shared commitments and joint action, responsibility and justice, and privacy and confidentiality. The Ethics of Chronic Illnessprovides a new, and much needed, critical reappraisal of healthcare professionals' obligations to their patients. It will be of interests to academics working in bioethics and medical ethics, philosophers interested in the topics of autonomy, responsibility, and consent, and medical practitioners who treat patients with chronic illness. managing their illness poorly, the ethical implications of patients being responsible for parts of their treatment, and how to navigate sharing information with those directly involved in patient care without violating privacy or breaching confidentiality. The author addresses these challenges by engaging with philosophical work on shared commitments and joint action, responsibility and justice, and privacy and confidentiality. The Ethics of Chronic Illnessprovides a new, and much needed, critical reappraisal of healthcare professionals' obligations to their patients. It will be of interests to academics working in bioethics and medical ethics, philosophers interested in the topics of autonomy, responsibility, and consent, and medical practitioners who treat patients with chronic illness.
Kant's Conception of Freedom by
Although a good deal has been written about Kant's conception of free will in recent years, there has been no serious attempt to examine in detail the development of his views on the topic. This book endeavours to remedy the situation by tracing Kant's thoughts on free will from his earliest discussions of it in the 1750s through to his last accounts in the 1790s. This developmental approach is of interest for at least two reasons. First, it shows that the path that led Kant to view freedom as a transcendental power that is both radically distinct from and compatible with the causality of nature was a winding one. Second, it indicates that, despite the variety of views of free will that Kant held at various times, the concept occupied a central place in his thought, because it was the point of union between his theoretical and practical philosophy.
Locke's Ideas of Mind and Body by
This book begins with a survey of various readings of Locke as a materialist, as a substance dualist, and as a property dualist, and demonstrates that these inconsistent interpretations result from a general failure of modern commentators to notice the significance of Locke¿s ¿mind-body nominalism¿. By illuminating this largely overlooked aspect of Locke¿s philosophy, this book reveals a common mistake of previous interpretations: that of treating what Locke conceives to be ¿nominal¿ as real. The nominal symmetry that Locke posits between mind and body is distinct from any form of metaphysical dualism, whether substance dualism or property dualism. It is a brand of naturalism, but does not insist that the material is ontologically more basic than the mental or that the former determines the latter. On this view, the material and mental both relate solely to a certain set of functional roles, rather than to an intrinsic property that plays these roles. The term ¿matter¿ is thus rendered vague, and materialism is conceived as a precariously grounded ontological doctrine. Elaborating on this interpretation of Locke¿s Essay, this book examines the insightful readings of Locke developed by seventeenth- and eighteenth-century thinkers such as Richard Burthogge, William Carroll, and Joseph Priestley. This book also seeks to clarify what Locke¿s position would look like in a modern setting by noting some significant parallels with the ideas of leading contemporary philosophers such as Donald Davidson, David Lewis, and Colin McGinn.
Physical Therapy Ethics by
Uses case studies to bring to life ethical and philosophical concepts that can be hard to grasp. Explores the origin of four types of ethical issues: compliance issues, moral disagreements, moral vagueness, and ethical dilemmas. Stimulates class conversations with discussion questions that consider the practical and moral significance of the therapist's work.
Introduction to International Relations by
The hotly awaited second edition of this bestselling introductory textbook provides a truly comprehensive and accessible guide to international affairs. Bringing together the combined decades of experience in researching and teaching global politics of three acclaimed scholars, this text introduces students to what is happening in our complex and rapidly changing world as well as how to analyse those events. Pedagogically driven, the book is structured around enduring questions that reflect the key concepts in world politics. It makes use of the levels of analysis framework and boxed features to highlight connections between theory and practice, aspirations and reality and history and contemporary events. This fully updated second edition includes a brand new chapter on International Organizations, a new feature to give students an insight into the latest academic research, and has been extensively rewritten throughout. This is an ideal textbook for introductory modules for Political Science and International Relations undergraduate students.
Qualitative Research Methods in Mental Health and Psychotherapy by
This book provides a user-friendly introduction to the qualitative methods most commonly used in the mental health and psychotherapy arena. Chapters are written by leading researchers and the editors are experienced qualitative researchers, clinical trainers, and mental health practitioners Provides chapter-by-chapter guidance on conducting a qualitative study from across a range of approaches Offers guidance on how to review and appraise existing qualitative literature, how to choose the most appropriate method, and how to consider ethical issues Demonstrates how specific methods have been applied to questions in mental health research Uses examples drawn from recent research, including research with service users, in mental health practice and in psychotherapy
Climate Change and the People's Health by
Climate change and social inequity are both sprawling, insidious forces that threaten populations around the world. It's time we start talking about them together.Climate Change and the People's Health offers a brave and ambitious new framework for understanding how our planet's two greatest existential threats comingle, complement, and amplify one another - and what can be done to mitigate future harm. In doing so it posits three new modes of thinking:* That climate change interacts with the social determinants of health and exacerbates existing health inequities* The idea of a "consumptagenic system" - a network of policies, processes, governance and modes of understanding that fuel unhealthy, and environmentally destructive production and consumption* The steps necessary to move from denial and inertia toward effective mobilization, including economic, social, and policy interventionsWith insights from physical science, social science, and humanities, this short book examines how climate change and social inequity are indelibly linked, and considering them together can bring about effective change in social equity, health, and the environment.
Trade Agreements and Public Health by
The need for policy coherence between trade and health has never been greater, yet few public health workers are equipped to navigate this complex field. This book aims to fill this gap, providing a focused and readable introduction to the topic. It introduces the principles underpinning trade treaties and examines the implications of trade rules for health services and access to medicines, unhealthy commodities, labour rights and the environment. It explores the trade policy making process, methods for trade and health research, and recommendations for strengthening policy coherence.
When Culture Impacts Health by
Bringing the hard-to-quantify aspects of lived experience to analysis, and emphasizing what might be lost in interventions if cultural insights are absent, this book includes case studies from across the Asia and Pacific regions -Bangladesh, Malaysia, New Guinea, Indonesia, Thailand, South Korea, Australia, New Zealand, Tuvalu and the Cook Islands. When Culture Impacts Health offers conceptual, methodological and practical insights into understanding and successfully mediating cultural influences to address old and new public health issues including safe water delivery, leprosy, Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder and body image. It contains useful methodological tools - how to map cultural consensus, measure wealth capital, conduct a cultural economy audit, for example. It provides approaches for discerning between ethnic and racial constructs and for conducting research among indigenous peoples. The book will be indispensible for culture and health researchers in all regions. Discusses global application of case descriptions Demonstrates how a cultural approach to health research enriches and informs our understanding of intractable public health problems Covers methods and measurements applicable to a variety of cultural research approaches as well as actual research results Case studies include medical anthropology, cultural epidemiology, cultural history and social medicine perspectives
The good research guide : for small-scale social research projects Denscombe, Martyn, author. by 
Research at grass roots : for the social sciences and human services professions by 
Solution-Focused Therapy by
This second edition of Solution-focused Therapy remains the most accessible yet comprehensive case-based introduction to the history, theory, research and practice of solution-focused therapy (SFT) within mental health care and beyond. Drawing on contemporary research and the author's own extensive experience, the fully revised and updated new edition includes: " discussion of recent developments relevant to research and training " a new chapter on challenges to SFT and the integration of SFT with other therapeutic approaches " extended discussion on ethical issues " topical exploration of the application of SFT with patients with personality disorders and dementias " contemporary research on solution-focused coaching and approaches to organizational change " new case material. This highly practical guide should be on the desk of every student or trainee studying this strongly supported, growing approach. It is also a useful resource for practitioners wanting to update their core skills and knowledge.
Strategic Management in Sport by
What role can strategic thinking play in contemporary sport management? It can be the difference between leading or languishing - it's thatimportant! Covering sport at all levels, from community-based sport to elite sport, this is the first textbook to focus on strategic management in a sport context. The book introduces the fundamentals of strategic planning, environmental analyses, strategic direction and leadership, strategy formulation and selection, implementation, strategic control, and change management. Designed to encourage students to develop a strategic mindset, as well as critical thinking and problem-solving skills, the book unpacks key concepts such as leadership, governance, organizational change, and the multiple layers of strategy in sport. Full of real-world case studies from diverse, international sport business environments, and useful pedagogical features such as review questions and guides to online resources, this is an essential text for any sport management course and an invaluable resource for sport development, recreation management, or events management courses. tions and guides to online resources, this is an essential text for any sport management course and an invaluable resource for sport development, recreation management, or events management courses.
Sport Branding Insights by
In a sporting world dominated by media and money, an understanding of sport branding is an essential skill for any sport manager. Success means being able to 'brand' - and therefore differentiate - a sport club, player, code, or event in a highly competitive entertainment market. For anyone seeking to understand or manage sport, this book offers an immediate and salient insight into the complex and dynamic process of creating a powerful sport brand. The book explains how a sport brand goes beyond just an identifying badge, reinforced by a name or a logo that helps sport consumers recognise a product or an organisation. It reveals how a brand becomes linked with consumers' opinions and perceptions of a sport product and the organisation that owns it. Readers will learn how to create a powerful brand that has both recognition in the market and strong associated imagery, by imbuing it with a spirit of the past through appeals to tradition, by endowing it with human qualities of emotionality, thought, and volition, and through the use of characters, colours, texts, and symbols. It also provides a brief guide to the new domains of digital sport branding and social media. Concise, informative, and entertaining, this is an essential resource for anyone exploring or practising the business of sport.
The Global Sport Economy by
This book examines the global sports ecosystem through three of its central pillars: Sport marketing, sports equipment manufacture and sales, and sport governance and organization. By focusing on these three themes, the book presents a nuanced and multi-faceted view of how the global sports economy works and what its main strategic challenges and opportunities are. Offering a balance between theory and practice, and adopting an international perspective with case studies and examples from the Americas, Europe and Asia, the book addresses key issues such as corporate social responsibility, the impact of culture on international sport business, innovation and entrepreneurship, and consumer behaviour. The Global Sport Economyis fascinating reading for students, researchers and practitioners with an interest in sport business and management, sport marketing, the sporting goods industry and distribution and sport governance.
Critical Autoethnography by
This volume uses autoethnography--cultural analysis through personal narrative--to explore the tangled relationships between culture and communication. Using an intersectional approach to the many aspects of identity at play in everyday life, a diverse group of authors reveals the complex nature of lived experiences. They situate interpersonal experiences of gender, race, ethnicity, ability, and orientation within larger systems of power, oppression, and social privilege. An excellent resource for undergraduates, graduate students, educators, and scholars in the fields of intercultural and interpersonal communication, and qualitative methodology.
Fugitive Cultures by
Fugitive Cultures examines how youth are being increasingly subjected to racial stereotyping and violence in various realms of popular culture, especially children's culture. But rather than dismissing popular culture, Henry Giroux addresses its political and pedagogical value as a site of critique and learning and calls for a reinvigorated critical relationship between cultural studies and those diverse cultural workers committed to expanding the possibilities and practices of democratic public life.
Male Daughters, Female Husbands by
Challenging the received orthodoxies of social anthropology, Ifi Amadiume argues that in precolonial society, sex and gender did not necessarily coincide. Examining the structures that enabled women to achieve power, she shows that roles were neither rigidly masculinized nor feminized.Economic changes in colonial times undermined women's status and reduced their political role and Dr Amadiume maintains, patriarchal tendencies introduced by colonialism persist today, to the detriment of women.Critical of the chauvinist stereotypes established by colonial anthropology, the author stresses the importance of recognizing women's economic activities as an essential basis of their power. She is also critical of those western feminists who, when relating to African women, tend to accept the same outmoded projections.
Power and Privilege by
Power and Privilege seeks to answer the central question of the field of social stratification: Who gets what and why? Using a dialectical view of the development of thought in the discipline, Gerhard Lenski describes the outlines of an emerging synthesis of theories. He shows that perspectives as diverse and contradictory as those of Marx, Spencer, Sumner, Veblen, Mosca, Pareto, Sorokin, Parsons, and Dahrendorf are parts of an evolving and systematic body of theory.
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville,
7535
Tel: 021 959 2946
