+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za
Introduction to Machine Learning, Fourth Edition by
A substantially revised fourth edition of a comprehensive textbook, including new coverage of recent advances in deep learning and neural networks.The goal of machine learning is to program computers to use example data or past experience to solve a given problem. Machine learning underlies such exciting new technologies as self-driving cars, speech recognition, and translation applications. This substantially revised fourth edition of a comprehensive, widely used machine learning textbook offers new coverage of recent advances in the field in both theory and practice, including developments in deep learning and neural networks. The book covers a broad array of topics not usually included in introductory machine learning texts, including supervised learning, Bayesian decision theory, parametric methods, semiparametric methods, nonparametric methods, multivariate analysis, hidden Markov models, reinforcement learning, kernel machines, graphical models, Bayesian estimation, and statistical testing. The fourth edition offers a new chapter on deep learning that discusses training, regularizing, and structuring deep neural networks such as convolutional and generative adversarial networks; new material in the chapter on reinforcement learning that covers the use of deep networks, the policy gradient methods, and deep reinforcement learning; new material in the chapter on multilayer perceptrons on autoencoders and the word2vec network; and discussion of a popular method of dimensionality reduction, t-SNE. New appendixes offer background material on linear algebra and optimization. End-of-chapter exercises help readers to apply concepts learned. Introduction to Machine Learning can be used in courses for advanced undergraduate and graduate students and as a reference for professionals.
Perspectives on Rural Tourism Geographies by
This book examines rural tourism across three different contexts, acknowledging the complexity of rural places. It applies a systematic comparative framework across nine case studies from Australia, Canada and Sweden. The case studies address the uniqueness of different rural spaces, while the framework incorporates many theoretical aspects from human geography including spatial, historic, institutional, demographic, socio-economic and network perspectives. In the course of applying this comparative case study framework, the book identifies numerous implications for planning and policy in rural settings. These contributions from international, expert authors help to identify the opportunities and challenges that affect rural regions, from places at the urban fringe to exotic remote spaces and taking in the 'boring bits in between.' Both the analysis and the framework used will be of value to scholars and students of rurality, tourism, regional development, rural policy, geography, and destination management. Readers will gain a deeper understanding of the rural context in developed countries and a robust conceptualization of rural tourism geographies.
The Busy Librarian's Guide to Information Literacy in Science and Engineering by
The Busy Librarian's Guide to Information Literacy in Science and Engineering provides a practical guide for librarians responsible for science, engineering, and/or technology information literacy instruction to understand and apply the Information Literacy Standards for Science and Engineering/Technology into curriculum design and ongoing instruction. The book highlights unique needs and challenges for information literacy instruction within science/engineering curricula. Experienced science and engineering librarians share their effective approaches and concrete strategies for meeting the information literacy needs of students in a variety of science and engineering disciplines. Each chapter details the unique aspects of a particular discipline, key information literacy standards and outcomes for the discipline along with strategies for instruction and integration into the curriculum. The book is particularly helpful for librarians new to science or engineering, instruction librarians, instruction coordinators and generalists who need to understand the nature of information literacy in the sciences, technology and engineering.
Covid-19 by
Premised on the disruption and lessons learnt from the Covid-19 pandemic, and in meticulous response to the impact of the pandemic on higher education - especially in South Africa - this collection of chapters spotlights the effects, consequences, and ramifications of an unprecedented pandemic in the areas of knowledge production, knowledge transfer and innovation. With the pandemic, the traditional way of teaching and learning was completely upended. It is within this context that this book presents interdisciplinary perspectives that focus on what the impact of Covid-19 implies for higher education institutions. Contributors have critically reflected from within their specific academic disciplines in their attempt to proffer solutions to the disruptions brought to the South African higher education space. Academics and education leaders have particularly responded to the objective of this book by focusing on how the academia could tackle the Covid-19 motivated disruption and resuscitate teaching, research, and innovation activities in South African higher education, and the whole of Africa by extension.
Developing Science Literacy in the 21st Century by
The development of science literacy has the potential to have an enormous impact on real world outcomes. Specifically, developing science literacy may persuade individuals to act. We hope that this book will influence scientists, science journalists, sociologists, anthropologists, communication specialists, political leaders, media outlets, educational institutions, and individual science content consumers. The chapters in this book describe a definition of science literacy that draws on the emotional, cognitive, and social. The authors strive to help prepare individuals to read, write, and speak science in a continuously evolving information landscape. In order to meet these objectives, the chapters examine both qualitative and quantitative research. It is within these frameworks that we can begin to address science literacy in the 21st century.
A Research Agenda for Tourism Geographies by
Elgar Research Agendasoutline the future of research in a given area. Leading scholars are given the space to explore their subject in provocative ways, and map out the potential directions of travel. They are relevant but also visionary. 'Müller's accessible and timely volume takes a bold step closer to keeping pace with the constantly evolving sub-discipline of tourism geographies, unafraid to challenge earlier foundations and keen to prioritise academic diversity and real-world contexts. The contributors' flair, perspective and passion comes across throughout what is arguably the ideal backdrop for shaping future research agendas in the field.' - Julie Wilson, Open University of Catalonia, Spain Over recent years, tourism geographies have developed into a vibrant field of research, facing increasing challenges from globalisation and environmental change. This Research Agendapresents a unique and original collection of contributions from both established and up-and-coming scholars in the field. Encompassing both contemporary issues, and paving the way for future avenues of research, this book explores and develops research on tourism geographies. Chapters address emerging themes and apply new methodologies, allowing for intellectual and practical challenges to be tackled. With fresh global insights, this book expands on the geographic dimension of tourism work and workers, the challenges brought by changing economic atmospheres, spatial dynamics, big data and climate change to provide a thorough understanding of the field. Ideal for graduate and post-graduate students of geography and tourism studies looking to develop thesis ideas, this Research Agendahighlights the interest and potential of tourism geographers to contribute to a geographical tradition and influence the future content of geography as a discipline. Contributors: M. Bauder, P. Brouder, R. de Cássia Ariza da Cruz, K. Debbage, M.G. Gren, M. Hall, H.V. Haraldsson, X. Honggang, E.H. Huijbens, Z. Ibrahim, D. Ioannides, D.K. Müller, R. Ólafsdóttir, J. Saarinen, R. Steiger, R. Tremblay, G. Visser, Y. Wu, K. Zampoukos
The academic teaching librarian's handbook by
The Academic Teaching Librarian's Handbook is a comprehensive resource on teaching and professional development for information professionals and instructors at all career stages. It explores the current landscape of teaching librarianship, and highlights and discusses the important developments, issues, and trends that are shaping current and future practice. Key to the book is the examination of the roles and responsibilities of academic teaching librarians in the digital era, looking at the essential areas of development, skills and knowledge that will empower current and future teaching librarians to perform well in these roles. The theme of reflective practice runs throughout the book which also features numerous exercises and real world illustrations. This book will be relevant for all academic library professionals, including students on MLIS programmes who wish to pursue an instructional role in their work and to develop this aspect of their professional lives in a holistic way throughout their careers. It is suitable for early career professionals at the start of their teaching journey, as well as mid- and late-career librarians who may have moved into managerial roles, and who wish to advance their teaching role to the next level. It is also a useful resource for LIS instructors who teach courses on instructional skills for information professionals.
Teaching Information Literacy Threshold Concepts by
"Teaching Information Literacy Threshold Concepts: Lesson Plans for Librarians is a collection designed by instruction librarians to promote critical thinking and engaged learning. It provides teaching librarians detailed, ready-to-use, and easily adaptable lesson ideas to help students understand and be transformed by information literacy threshold concepts. The lessons in this book, created by teaching librarians across the country, are categorized according to the six information literacy frames identified in the ACRL Framework for Information Literacy in Higher Education (2015). This volume offers concrete and specific ways of teaching the threshold concepts that are central to the ACRL Framework and is suitable for all types of academic libraries, high school libraries, as well as a pedagogical tool for library and information schools". --Publisher.
The Craft of Scientific Writing by
The Craft of Scientific Writing is designed to help scientists and engineers - both professionals already active in the disciplines as well as students preparing to enter the professions - write about their work clearly and effectively. Written for use as a text in courses on scientific writing, the book includes many useful suggestions about approaching a wide variety of writing tasks from journal papers to grant proposals and from emails to formal reports, as well as a concise guide to style and usage appropriate for scientific writing. Also useful for self-study, the book will be an important reference for all scientists and engineers who need to write about their work. With this new and updated fourth edition, while most technical writing texts have gotten larger over the years, this one has streamlined, to provide busy readers with the essence of what distinguishes the style of the best scientific documents. With this new edition, readers will learn not just how to organize information, but how to emphasize the key details of that information. Also, readers will not just learn how to cast their ideas into precise and clear sentences, but how to connect these sentences in an energetic fashion. In the section on language, the new edition goes into much depth about how to make connections between ideas: an important issue that few technical writing texts address. Moreover, the new edition integrates the discussion of illustrations with language because those two aspects of style are so intertwined. Finally, the new edition does a better job of explaining how to make the process of writing more efficient. From a review of the first edition: "A refreshing addition to a genre dominated by English teacher-style textbooks. Instead of listing rules that constrain writers, the book uses examples to lay out the path to successful communication ... Especially helpful (and entertaining) is the chapter on the writing process. Anyone who has spent more time avoiding a writing task than actually doing it will appreciate Alley's tips." -Dr. Ellen Ochoa, Deputy Director of Flight Crew Operations, Johnson Space Center
Decolonizing memory : Algeria and the politics of testimony by
The magnitude of the legal violence exercised by the French to colonize and occupy Algeria (1830-1962) is such that only aesthetic works have been able to register its enduring effects. In Decolonizing Memory Jill Jarvis examines the power of literature to provide what demographic data, historical facts, and legal trials have not in terms of attesting to and accounting for this destruction. Taking up the unfinished work of decolonization since 1962, Algerian writers have played a crucial role in forging historical memory and nurturing political resistance--their work helps to make possible what state violence has rendered almost unthinkable. Drawing together readings of multilingual texts by Yamina Mechakra, Waciny Laredj, Zahia Rahmani, Fadhma Aïth Mansour Amrouche, Assia Djebar, and Samira Negrouche alongside theoretical, juridical, visual, and activist texts from both Algeria's national liberation war (1954-1962) and war on civilians (1988-1999), this book challenges temporal and geographical frameworks that have implicitly organized studies of cultural memory around Euro-American reference points. Jarvis shows how this literature rewrites history, disputes state authority to arbitrate justice, and cultivates a multilingual archive for imagining decolonized futures.
Stochastic Differential Equations by
This well-established textbook on stochastic differential equations has turned out to be very useful to non-specialists of the subject and has sold steadily in 5 editions, both in the EU and US market
A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge by
A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK Guide ) - PMI's flagship publication has been updated to reflect the latest good practices in project management. New to the sixth edition, each knowledge area will contain a section entitled Approaches for Agile, Iterative and Adaptive Environments, describing how these practices integrate in project settings. It will also contain more emphasis on strategic and business knowledge, including discussion of project management business documents and information on the PMI Talent Triangle and the essential skills for success in today's market.
Operations management by
Operations Management is a leading introductory text which focuses on the fundamental theory necessary within the production and service industries.
Stevens and Lowe's Human Histology by
Easy to read, well organized, and focused on high-yield content, Human Histology, 5th Edition, features concise, up-to-date coverage of the core knowledge in this complex field. Ideal for students in all areas of health care, this revised edition is aligned with recent developments in integrated and problem-based learning, providing rapid access to relevant, practical knowledge in histology. It provides students with opportunities to make important connections between histological knowledge, cell biology, anatomy, clinical understanding, and assessment. Features an easy-to-navigate, full-colour layout that includes summary headings, readable text, quick-reference tables, and key facts - all highlighted by nearly 900 clear illustrations, photos, and graphics throughout. Covers the latest concepts and advances in histology including developments in the primary cilium, the nuclear pore, extracellular matrix components, dendritic spines, subsets of astrocytes, haematopoiesis, classification of cells in the immune system, macrophage subsets, and much more. Includes NEW self-assessment questions. Provides just the right amount of detail for maximum readability and retention. Highlights key laboratory, clinical, and high-level scientific material in boxes. Presents advanced concepts such as the molecular and functional relevance of histological features. Provides review material in the book and online, self-assessment questions plus 180 additional review questions online. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references - including bonus videos showing important histological features for each chapter -from the book on a variety of devices.
Galactic Dynamics by
Since it was first published in 1987, Galactic Dynamics has become the most widely used advanced textbook on the structure and dynamics of galaxies and one of the most cited references in astrophysics. Now, in this extensively revised and updated edition, James Binney and Scott Tremaine describe the dramatic recent advances in this subject, making Galactic Dynamics the most authoritative introduction to galactic astrophysics available to advanced undergraduate students, graduate students, and researchers. Every part of the book has been thoroughly overhauled, and many sections have been completely rewritten. Many new topics are covered, including N-body simulation methods, black holes in stellar systems, linear stability and response theory, and galaxy formation in the cosmological context. Binney and Tremaine, two of the world's leading astrophysicists, use the tools of theoretical physics to describe how galaxies and other stellar systems work, succinctly and lucidly explaining theoretical principles and their applications to observational phenomena. They provide readers with an understanding of stellar dynamics at the level needed to reach the frontiers of the subject. This new edition of the classic text is the definitive introduction to the field. ? A complete revision and update of one of the most cited references in astrophysics Provides a comprehensive description of the dynamical structure and evolution of galaxies and other stellar systems Serves as both a graduate textbook and a resource for researchers Includes 20 color illustrations, 205 figures, and more than 200 problems Covers the gravitational N-body problem, hierarchical galaxy formation, galaxy mergers, dark matter, spiral structure, numerical simulations, orbits and chaos, equilibrium and stability of stellar systems, evolution of binary stars and star clusters, and much more Companion volume to Galactic Astronomy, the definitive book on the phenomenology of galaxies and star clusters
Coalition country : South Africa after the ANC / by
The ANC has governed South Africa for more than two decades but its iron grip is slipping. For the first time since the advent of democracy in 1994 there is no guarantee that it will retain power. If ANC support drops below 50% in the 2019 elections, the political landscape will be transformed dramatically: we will be governed by a coalition, and the consequences will be felt by everyone. One of South Africa's brightest political minds, Leon Schreiber, explores the myriad possibilities - and effects - of coalition country. Will Mmusi Maimane and Julius Malema be in charge? Or will the ANC and the EFF join forces? What will this mean for our nation? A must-read for every South African who wants to prepare for this new reality.
The organisation of government : an introduction by
A theoretical knowledge of the macro-organisation of the government and its fundamental philosophies is basic to the study of public administration and management. The whole government system is the structure within which public administration and management take place - it is the ëngine room'of all government activities. students in this field should therefore have a sound knowledge of how government institutions are, and should be, organised before embarking on a study of public management theories. The approach of the book is both normative and generic. Specific generic values and principles are identified which can serve as criteria for organising the ideal macrogovernment system. The book concentrates on how government systems should be organised rather than on how they are organised, with descriptions of typical examples from all over the modern world. There is no educational sense in explaining and studying the organisation of a specific country's government system as the purpose is to provide the student with the theoretical knowledge and skills needed for researching, analysing and evaluating existing government systems. The outcome of the study of this book would be that students are able to evaluate a specific government system, defining both its negative and positive characteristics and suggesting improvements, if necessary.
Africa in the Indian Imagination by
In Africa in the Indian Imagination Antoinette Burton reframes our understanding of the postcolonial Afro-Asian solidarity that emerged from the 1955 Bandung conference. Afro-Asian solidarity is best understood, Burton contends, by using friction as a lens to expose the racial, class, gender, sexuality, caste, and political tensions throughout the postcolonial global South. Focusing on India's imagined relationship with Africa, Burton historicizes Africa's role in the emergence of a coherent postcolonial Indian identity. She shows how--despite Bandung's rhetoric of equality and brotherhood--Indian identity echoed colonial racial hierarchies in its subordination of Africans and blackness. Underscoring Indian anxiety over Africa and challenging the narratives and dearly held assumptions that presume a sentimentalized, nostalgic, and fraternal history of Afro-Asian solidarity, Burton demonstrates the continued need for anti-heroic, vexed, and fractious postcolonial critique.
Cities and Climate Change by
This book explores climate change responsiveness policies for cities and discusses why they have been slow to gain traction despite having been on the international agenda for the last 30 years. The contributing role of cities in accentuating the effects of climate change is increasingly demonstrated in the literature, underscoring the unsustainable models on which urban life has been made to thrive. As these issues become increasingly apparent, there are global calls to adopt more sustainable and equitable models, however doing so will mean the disruption of economies that have historically relied upon pollution-generating industries. In order to address these issues the authors examine them from a cross-disciplinary perspective, bringing in regional, local and urban standpoints to subsequently propose an alternative short-term economic model that could accelerate the adoption of climate change mitigation infrastructures and urban sustainability in urban areas. This book will be of particular value to scholars and students alike in the field of urbanism, sustainability and resilience, as well as practitioners looking at avenues for economically incentivizing sustainable development in various geographical context.
From Eco-Cities to Sustainable City-Regions by
A political scientist and an urban architect explore China's odyssey to become an ecological civilization and transform its massive, unsustainable, urbanization process into one that creates hundreds of eco-cities. The resulting From Eco-Cities to Sustainable City-Regionsis the first book-length study combining analysis of politics and power, urban design and planning issues derived from the co-authors' interdisciplinary research, and on-site fieldwork from their political science and architectural area specialties. Begun in 1986, little-known policy actions have taken shape in the building of 285 eco-cities--and growing. What are the driving forces of these innovative developments? How is China going about converting its teeming urban areas into replicable and showcase cities? Can these new policy initiatives overcome the damage done to its air, waterways, and land, while significantly reducing public health dangers to its inhabitants? In searching for means for the People s Republic of China to take the next step from eco-cities to sustainable city-regions, the co-authors assess the potential success of China's present course and offer key recommendations for Chinese political leaders, urban planners, and citizen stakeholders to make the transition to a sustainable future for its people and the rest of the world. The primary market for this book will be eco-researchers, Asian studies scholars and teachers, eco- and urban architects, environmental and urban policy professionals, and advanced undergraduates in environmental and sustainability studies or sciences programs. The interdisciplinary reach and critical framework of analysis will appeal to a wide variety of scholars interested in Chinese ecological strides and seeking a critical assessment of its potential.
Global Change and Human Mobility by
This book demonstrates the benefits of applying a new interdisciplinary approach that combines global change and human mobility. The term "globility" was coined in the year 2000 when the commission with the same name was created by the International Geographical Union with the purpose of theorizing about and asserting the concept of human mobility. First the book offers theoretical reviews of human mobility. Then it proceeds to study patterns of mobility in today's world as it faces new challenges in migration policies (including border controls, management of refugee movements, social initiatives to empower unauthorized immigrants), the integration issue, environmental hazards, and so on. The response to these diverse challenges reveals an increasing fluidity of human mobility and new forms of engagement of people on the move. Readers will obtain a better understanding of current human mobility from a large number of regions and from different thematic perspectives.
Identity of Cities and City of Identities by
This book explores the hybridity of urban identities in multiple dimensions and at multiple scales, how they form as catalysts and mechanisms for urban transitions, and how they develop as city branding strategies and urban regeneration methods. Due to rapid globalisation, the notion of identity has become scarcer, more fragile, and inarguably more important. Given the significance of place and displacement for contemporary everyday life, and the continuous advancement of technologies, identifying relations and values that define humans and their environments in various ways has become crucial. Divided into seven chapters, this book provides extensive coverage of 'urban identity', an often-overlooked topic in the fields of urbanism, urban geography, and urban design. It approaches the topic from a novel dual perspective, by exploring cities with tangible commonalities and shared strategies for refining their identities, and by highlighting cities and urban environments characterised by multiple identities. Based on a decade of research in this field, the book provides a multi-disciplinary perspective on urban identity. In addition to comprehensive information for students, it offers a key reference guide for urbanists, urban designers and geographers, architectural and urban practitioners, decision-makers, and governing bodies involved in urban development strategies.
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville,
7535
Tel: 021 959 2946
