+27 21 959 2946library@uwc.ac.za
Walking, Landscape and Environment by
Walking, Landscape and Environment explores walking as a method of research and practice in the humanities and creative arts, emerging from a recent surge of growth in urban and rural walking. This edited collection of essays from leading figures in the field presents an enquiry into, and a critique of, the methods and results of cutting-edge 'walking research'. Walking negotiates the intersections between the human self, place and space, offering a cross-disciplinary collaborative method of research which can be utilised in areas such as ecocriticism, landscape architecture, literature, cultural geography and the visual arts. Bringing together a multitude of perspectives from different disciplines, on topics including health and wellbeing, disability studies, social justice, ecology and gender, this book provides a unique appraisal of the humanist perspective on landscape. In doing so, it challenges Romantic approaches to walking, applying new ideas in contemporary critical thought and alternative perspectives on embodiment and trans-corporeality.
The Secret Lives of Anthropologists by
This book addresses the difficult conditions researchers may face in the field and provides lessons in how to navigate the various social, political, economic, health, and environmental challenges involved in fieldwork. It also sheds important light on aspects often considered "secret" or taboo. From anthropologists just starting out to those with over forty years in the field, these researchers offer the benefit of their experience conducting research in diverse cultures around the world. The contributions combine engaging personal narrative with consideration of theory and methods. The volume emphasizes how being adaptable, and aware, of the many risks and rewards of ethnographic research can help foster success in quantitative and qualitative data collection. This is a valuable resource for students of anthropological methods and those about to embark on fieldwork for the first time.
Development as Freedom by
In Development as Freedom Amartya Sen explains how in a world of unprecedented increase in overall opulence millions of people living in the Third World are still unfree. Even if they are not technically slaves, they are denied elementary freedoms and remain imprisoned in one way or another byeconomic poverty, social deprivation, political tyranny or cultural authoritarianism. The main purpose of development is to spread freedom and its 'thousand charms' to the unfree citizens.Freedom, Sen persuasively argues, is at once the ultimate goal of social and economic arrangements and the most efficient means of realizing general welfare. Social institutions like markets, political parties, legislatures, the judiciary, and the media contribute to development by enhancingindividual freedom and are in turn sustained by social values. Values, institutions, development, and freedom are all closely interrelated, and Sen links them together in an elegant analytical framework. By asking 'What is the relation between our collective economic wealth and our individualability to live as we would like?' and by incorporating individual freedom as a social commitment into his analysis Sen allows economics once again, as it did in the time of Adam Smith, to address the social basis of individual well-being and freedom.
Applied Business Statistics by
Applied business statistics: methods and excel-based applications is an introductory statistics text for management students who want to know how to use statistics to analyse data generated from any area of business - be it marketing, finance, human resources, production or logistics.
Capital in the Twenty-First Century by
The main driver of inequality--returns on capital that exceed the rate of economic growth--is again threatening to generate extreme discontent and undermine democratic values. Thomas Piketty's findings in this ambitious, original, rigorous work will transform debate and set the agenda for the next generation of thought about wealth and inequality.
Exploring the Dynamics of Consumerism in Developing Nations by
As developing nations increase their consumption rate, their relevance in the global marketplace grows. Existing assumptions and postulations about consumer consumption in various societies are being displaced largely due to the dynamic nature of the market. However, research has not been adequately devoted to explore the developments in consumer behavior in developing nations, which has resulted in numerous unanswered questions. Exploring the Dynamics of Consumerism in Developing Nations provides vital research on consumer behavior in developing countries and changes in the socio-cultural dimensions of marketing. While highlighting topics such as celebrity influence, marketing malpractices, and the adoption of e-government, this publication is ideally designed for researchers, advanced-level students, policymakers, and managers.
The Microfinance Revolution by
Around the world, a revolution is occurring in finance for low-income people. The microfinance revolution is delivering financial services to the economically active poor on a large scale through competing, financially self-sufficient institutions. In a few countries this has already happened; in others it is under way. The emerging microfinance industry has profound implications for social and economic development. For the first time in history, capital is well on its way to being democratized.
Structural Equation Modeling by
Structural Equation Modeling provides a conceptual and mathematical understanding of structural equation modelling, helping readers across disciplines understand how to test or validate theoretical models, and build relationships between observed variables. In addition to a providing a background understanding of the concepts, it provides step-by-step illustrative applications with AMOS, SPSS and R software programmes. This volume will serve as a useful reference for academic and industry researchers in the fields of engineering, management, psychology, sociology, human resources, and humanities.
Young Consumer Behaviour by
Although one perspective depicts young consumers as vulnerable and passive in the marketplace system, our knowledge of this consumer group will be inadequate if limited to this contention. Their roles and relevance in family consumption activities are becoming increasingly profound. Available evidence shows that they cannot be ignored in the marketplace dynamics as they consume goods and services in their households and are involved in various other active roles in their household consumption including making decisions where applicable. Hence, the landscape of young consumer behaviour is changing. Young Consumer Behaviour: A Research Companion focusses on exploring the behaviour of young consumers as individuals and societal members. The chapters address different aspects of consumption activities of children as individuals like motivation, involvement, perception, learning, attitude, the self, and personality. Similarly, chapters on consumer behaviour in social settings contextualised to young consumers including culture, sub-culture, family, and groups are incorporated into the book. This book fills a gap in the literature by addressing the dynamics of consumption patterns of this consumer group, in relation to various marketing stimuli and different stakeholders. It combines eclectic perspectives on the topic and specifically, bridges the gap between historical perspectives and contemporary issues. Building on the extant literature in the field of marketing and consumer behaviour, this book is a compendium of research materials and constitutes an essential reference source on young consumer behaviour issues with both academic and managerial implications.
Dietetic and Nutrition by
The ideal companion resource to 'Manual of Dietetic Practice', this book takes a problem-based learning approach to dietetics and nutrition with cases written and peer reviewed by registered dietitians, drawing on their own experiences and specialist knowledge Each case study follows the Process for Nutrition and Dietetic Practice published by the British Dietetic Association in 2012 Includes case studies in public health, an increasingly important area of practice
Psychiatric Nursing Care Plans by
An outstanding resource for students and practicing nurses, the Ninth Edition of Lippincott's Manual of Psychiatric Nursing Care Plans contains 52 nursing care plans that address the most commonly encountered behaviors in psychiatric-mental health nursing. An excellent tool to introduce students to clinical psychiatric experience, the Manual demonstrates use of the nursing process in psychiatric nursing and gives suggestions for specific interventions--with rationale--to address particular behaviors, giving the student a sound basis on which to build clinical skills. Covering a range of problems and a variety of approaches, the care plans are meant to be adapted and individualized in planning nursing care for each client. The Ninth Edition has been thoroughly updated and includes new information on complementary and alternative medicine and using the internet; as well as new or expanded appendices on psychopharmacology; side effects of medications and related nursing interventions; and schizoid, histrionic, narcissistic, and avoidant personality disorders.
Adaptation Through Occupation by
Adaptation, as an internal human process, is an often-overlooked construct in occupational therapy education, research, and practice. Adaptation Through Occupation: Multidimensional Perspectives aims to change that by presenting different perspectives that challenge the reader's understanding of occupational adaptation. As the first of its kind text to explore, analyze, and present a comprehensive and multidimensional approach to understanding occupational adaptation, the collection of writings in this text add to the range of knowledge available in occupational therapy. Adaptation Through Occupation: Multidimensional Perspectives by Drs. Lenin Grajo and Angela Boisselle provides in-depth perspectives of occupation and adaptation that can be used to teach courses on foundational and theoretical perspectives in occupational therapy, occupational science undergraduate and graduate programs, and as a critical module in teaching Neuroscience to occupational therapy students. This text also aims to facilitate new bodies of research to define and apply the concept of adaptation in relation to occupational performance and participation. Some perspectives covered inside include: Historical and theoretical perspectives on occupation and adaptation Neural mechanisms of occupational adaptation Occupational science perspectives and international and lived-experience perspectives Instructors in educational settings can visit www.efacultylounge.com for additional materials to be used in the classroom. Adaptation Through Occupation: Multidimensional Perspectives opens the gates for new ways of understanding occupational adaptation and adds necessary information to the existing knowledge in the occupational therapy profession.
Occupational Science for Occupational Therapy by
Occupational Science for Occupational Therapy articulates how occupational science research produces unique insights into occupation and increases the effectiveness of occupational therapy interventions. This text illustrates the four key types of knowledge now being researched in occupational science: descriptive, relational, predictive, and prescriptive. This text also offers a comprehensive review of occupational science's history of emergence from the needs and interests of occupational therapy, conflicting origins and intents, and ongoing development as a discipline within academia. In Occupational Science for Occupational Therapy, Dr. Doris Pierce and an outstanding group of occupational scientists explain how their discoveries build the science and support practice. A rich variety of methods and perspectives mark the work of these career scientists as they respond to the knowledge base needs of occupational therapy. This fully evidence-based text also brings the research experience alive for occupational therapy students, describing the passions, challenges, and choices that are the reality of research as an occupation. All research chapters discuss how findings build both science and practice, including learning supports in which students can try out research activities, explore assessment, or develop interventions. Most importantly, Occupational Science for Occupational Therapy provides new and experienced practitioners a thorough exploration of the latest research in occupation-based practice. Occupational Science for Occupational Therapy synthesizes key works by occupational scientists, including a foreword by Dr. Elizabeth Yerxa, founder of the science. Occupational therapy and occupational science students, practitioners, and faculty will especially appreciate this book's comprehensive coverage of work by current leaders of research on occupation-based practice.
Public Security in Federal Polities by
Public Security in Federal Polities offers a broad comparative review of constitutional, institutional, and legislative frameworks that inform public security across nine federations, and the implications that follow for institutional design, public administration, and public policy.
A Research Agenda for Federalism Studies by
Elgar Research Agendas outline the future of research in a given area. Leading scholars are given the space to explore their subject in provocative ways, and map out the potential directions of travel. They are relevant but also visionary.This timely and insightful Research Agenda for Federalism Studies brings together comparative reflections from leading scholars across five continents on the past, present and future of federalism research. Addressing the research needs of federalism studies around the world, contributors focus on political theory, constitutionalism, self-rule, gender, diversity and conflict resolution, as well as challenges for federalism in Africa, Asia and Europe, to identify contemporary research lacunae and seek out new directions for investigation. In a world where more than 40 per cent of the world's people live in federal systems, this impressive book provides accessible guidance through a profuse and complex research terrain.This rich source of ideas and research pathways offers critical insight for graduate students of political science and comparative government, as well as senior scholars seeking fresh perspectives on federalism studies.
Territory and Power in Constitutional Transitions by
This collection of essays surveys the full range of challenges that territorial conflicts pose for constitution-making processes and constitutional design. It provides seventeen in-depth case studies of countries going through periods of intense constitutional engagement in a variety ofcontexts: small distinct territories, bi-communal countries, highly diverse countries with many politically salient regions, and countries where territorial politics is important but secondary to other bases for political mobilization. Specific examples are drawn from Iraq, Kenya, Cyprus, Nigeria,South Africa, Sri Lanka, the UK (Scotland), Ukraine, Bolivia, India, Spain, Yemen, Nepal, Ethiopia, Indonesia (Aceh), the Philippines (Mindanao), and Bosnia-Herzegovina.While the volume draws significant normative conclusions, it is based on a realist view of the complexity of territorial and other political cleavages (the country's "political geometry"), and the power configurations that lead into periods of constitutional engagement. Thematic chapters onconstitution-making processes and constitutional design draw original conclusions from the comparative analysis of the case studies and relate these to the existing literature, both in political science and comparative constitutional law. This volume is essential reading for scholars of federalism,consociational power-sharing arrangements, asymmetrical devolution, and devolution more generally. The combination of in-depth case studies and broad thematic analysis allows for analytical and normative conclusions that will be of major relevance to practitioners and advisors engaged inconstitutional design.
Theory and Practice of Counselling & Psychotherapy by 
Synthesizing Hope by
Synthesizing Hope opens up the material and social world of pharmaceuticals by focusing on an unexpected place: iThemba Pharmaceuticals. Founded in 2009 with a name taken from the Zulu word for hope, the small South African startup with an elite international scientific board was tasked with drug discovery for tuberculosis, HIV, and malaria. Anne Pollock uses this company as an entry point for exploring how the location of scientific knowledge production matters, not only for the raw materials, manufacture, licensing, and distribution of pharmaceuticals but also for the making of basic scientific knowledge. Consideration of this case exposes the limitations of global health frameworks that implicitly posit rich countries as the only sites of knowledge production. Analysis of iThemba identifies the problems inherent in global north/south divides at the same time as it highlights what is at stake in who makes knowledge and where. It also provides a concrete example for consideration of the contexts and practices of postcolonial science, its constraints, and its promise. Synthesizing Hope explores the many legacies that create conditions of possibility for South African drug discovery, especially the specific form of settler colonialism characterized by apartheid and resource extraction. Paying attention to the infrastructures and laboratory processes of drug discovery underscores the materiality of pharmaceuticals from the perspective of their makers, and tracing the intellectual and material infrastructures of South African drug discovery contributes new insights about larger social, political, and economic orders.
The Globalisation of Urban Governance by
The adoption of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) by the UN General Assembly in 2015 represents the latest attempt by the international community to live up to the challenges of a planet that is out of control. Sustainable Development Goal 11 envisages inclusive, safe, resilient and sustainable cities around the world by the year 2030. This globally agreed vision is part of a trend in international policy toward good urban governance, and now awaits implementation. Fourteen original contributions collectively examine how this global vision has been developed on a conceptual level, how it plays out in various areas of (global) urban governance and how it is implemented in varying local contexts. The overarching hypothesis presented herein is that SDG 11 proves that local governance is recognised as an autonomous yet interrelated part of the global pursuit of sustainable development. The volume analyses three core questions: How have the normative ideals set forth in SDG 11 been developed? What are the meanings of the four sub-goals of SDG 11 and how do these relate to each other? What does SDG 11 imply for urban law and governance in the domestic context and how are local processes of urban governance internationalised? The Globalisation of Urban Governance makes an important scholarly contribution by linking the narrative on globalisation of good urban governance in various social sciences with legal discourse. It considers global governance and connects the existing debate about cities and their place in global governance with some of the most pertinent questions that lawyers face today.
Making Social Sciences More Scientific by
In his challenging new book Rein Taagepera argues that society needs more from social sciences than they have delivered. One reason for falling short is that social sciences have depended excessively on regression and other statistical approaches, neglecting logical model building. Science is not only about the empirical 'What is?' but also very much about the conceptual 'How should it be on logical grounds?' Statistical approaches are essentially descriptive, whilequantitatively formulated logical models are predictive in an explanatory way. Why Social Sciences Are Not Scientific Enough contrasts the predominance of statistics in today's social sciences and predominance of quantitatively predictive logical models in physics. It shows how to constructpredictive models and gives social science examples. Why Social Sciences Are Not Scientific Enough is useful to students who wish to learn the basics of the scientific method and to all those researchers who look for ways to do better social science.
SPSS Survival Manual A step by step guide to data analysis using SPSS by 
Men's Health Equity by
Worldwide, men have more opportunities, privileges, and power, yet they also have shorter life expectancies than women. Why is this? Why are there stark differences in the burden of disease, quality of life, and length of life amongst men, by race, ethnicity, (dis)ability status, sexual orientation, gender identity, rurality, and national context? Why is this a largely unexplored area of research? Men's Health Equity is the first volume to describe men's health equity as a field of study that emerged from gaps in and between research on men's health and health inequities. This handbook provides a comprehensive review of foundations of the field; summarizes the issues unique to different populations; discusses key frameworks for studying and exploring issues that cut across populations in the United States, Australia, Canada, the United Kingdom, Central America, and South America; and offers strategies for improving the health of key population groups and achieving men's health equity overall. This book systematically explores the underlying causes of these differences, describes the specific challenges faced by particular groups of men, and offers policy and programmatic strategies to improve the health and well-being of men and pursue men's health equity. Men's Health Equity will be the first collection to present the state of the science in this field, its progress, its breadth, and its future. This book is an invaluable resource for scholars, researchers, students, and professionals interested in men's health equity, men's health, psychology of men's health, gender studies, public health, and global health.
Metrics by
This volume's contributors evaluate the accomplishments, limits, and consequences of using quantitative metrics in global health. Whether analyzing maternal mortality rates, the relationships between political goals and metrics data, or the links between health outcomes and a program's fiscal support, the contributors question the ability of metrics to solve global health problems. They capture a moment when global health scholars and practitioners must evaluate the potential effectiveness and pitfalls of different metrics--even as they remain elusive and problematic. Contributors. Vincanne Adams, Susan Erikson, Molly Hales, Pierre Minn, Adeola Oni-Orisan, Carolyn Smith-Morris, Marlee Tichenor, Lily Walkover, Claire L. Wendland
The Palgrave Handbook of Intersectionality in Public Policy by
Grounded in black feminist scholarship and activism and formally coined in 1989 by black legal scholar Kimberlé Williams Crenshaw, intersectionality has garnered significant attention in the field of public policy and other disciplines/fields of study. The potential of intersectionality, however, has not been fully realized in policy, largely due to the challenges of operationalization. Recently some scholars and activists began to advance conceptual clarity and guidance for intersectionality policy applications; yet a pressing need remains for knowledge development and exchange in relation to empirical work that demonstrates how intersectionality improves public policy. This handbook fills this void by highlighting the key challenges, possibilities and critiques of intersectionality-informed approaches in public policy. It brings together international scholars across a variety of policy sectors and disciplines to consider the state of intersectionality in policy research and analysis. Importantly, it offers a global perspective on the added value and "how-to" of intersectionality-informed policy approaches that aim to advance equity and social justice.
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Bellville,
7535
Tel: 021 959 2946
