New Books List

Value Chains, Social Inclusion and Economic Development by A. H. J. ( Bert) Helmsing (Editor); Sietze Vellema (Editor) Lead firms, development organisations, donors and governments view value chains and voluntary standards as vital instruments for achieving millennium development goals through trade and market-related interventions. The precise foundations for these development strategies, which suggest positive development outcomes from integration of poor actors into value chains, are as yet underdeveloped. The interdisciplinary work in this volume shows how trade is managed and asks theory-driven questions about how value chains relate to locally-rooted development processes. Policy makers and development practitioners are increasingly using value chain analysis to frame pro-poor development interventions. This book offers multiple conceptualizations of development outcomes of inclusion of small producers, firms and workers in value chains. Processes of inclusion at different scales are unpacked in order to identify the terms of participation of small producers, firms and workers. As value chains are embedded, the book further argues that inclusion can be conceptualized as the degree of alignment between value chain logics and the institutions and capacities in the local business system. The combination of inclusive governance and endogenous development informs a grounded debate on roles of development-oriented partnerships. Chapters in this volume draw on multiple strands of economics, sociology, political science, geography and management studies; and for empirical grounding engage in comparative analysis of cases from Latin America, SubSaharan Africa and East and South East Asia. These are combined with processes taking place at a global level, such as the proliferation of standards and the growth of roundtables and multi-stakeholder partnerships. The contributions explore contrasts - between contexts, between industries or commodities/products, and between conceptual frameworks; and the context dependency of development impact necessitates cross-case investigations. This collection will be of interest to scholars in development studies, economics, business studies, as well as to development policy makers.

Advanced Dental Biomaterials by Zohaib Khurshid (Editor); Shariq Najeeb (Editor); Muhammad Sohail Zafar (Editor); Farshid Sefat (Editor) Advanced Dental Biomaterials is an invaluable reference for researchers and clinicians within the biomedical industry and academia. The book can be used by both an experienced researcher/clinician learning about other biomaterials or applications that may be applicable to their current research or as a guide for a new entrant into the field who needs to gain an understanding of the primary challenges, opportunities, most relevant biomaterials, and key applications in dentistry. Provides a comprehensive review of the materials science, engineering principles and recent advances in dental biomaterials Reviews the fundamentals of dental biomaterials and examines advanced materials' applications for tissues regeneration and clinical dentistry Written by an international collaborative team of materials scientists, biomedical engineers, oral biologists and dental clinicians in order to provide a balanced perspective on the field

Advanced Dental Biomaterials by Zohaib Khurshid (Editor); Shariq Najeeb (Editor); Muhammad Sohail Zafar (Editor); Farshid Sefat (Editor) Advanced Dental Biomaterials is an invaluable reference for researchers and clinicians within the biomedical industry and academia. The book can be used by both an experienced researcher/clinician learning about other biomaterials or applications that may be applicable to their current research or as a guide for a new entrant into the field who needs to gain an understanding of the primary challenges, opportunities, most relevant biomaterials, and key applications in dentistry. Provides a comprehensive review of the materials science, engineering principles and recent advances in dental biomaterials Reviews the fundamentals of dental biomaterials and examines advanced materials' applications for tissues regeneration and clinical dentistry Written by an international collaborative team of materials scientists, biomedical engineers, oral biologists and dental clinicians in order to provide a balanced perspective on the field

Dental Implant Prosthetics (2nd Edition) by Carl E. Misch Written by the foremost authority in the field, Dental Implants Prosthetics, 2nd Edition helps you advance your skills and understanding of implant prosthetics. Comprehensive coverage includes both simple and complicated clinical cases, with practical guidance on how to apply the latest research, diagnostic tools, treatment planning, implant designs, materials, and techniques to provide superior patient outcomes. Treatment supported by clinical evidence equips students with a more targeted evidence-based approach to patient procedures.NEW Emphasis on treatment planning helps decrease the number of visits while providing effective, long-term results for the patient.NEW Focus on the patient presentation offers the latest treatment options for bone harvesting, restoration and recovery.NEW Original illustrations and photos highlight and clarify key clinical concepts and techniques.

Public Economics 7e by Estian, Calitz; Krige, Siebrits; Tjaart, Steenekamp Public Economics 7e is a southern African textbook on the subject, written by well-respected South African experts. The new edition equips senior undergraduate and postgraduate students with the basic analytic skills and demonstrates how these apply these.

How to Support English Second Language Learners by Nel, Mirna In the modern world, language is the most important tool to succeed socially, academically and professionally. Since the foundation of any learning is established in the Foundation and Intermediate Phases, it is critical that ESL learners who struggle with English as the LOLT should be supported as early as possible, in order to ensure that they achieve their optimal learning potential. How to support English Second Language learners provides a background to the language-in-education scenario in South African as well as related theoretical issues on learning in a second language. It pays special attention to practical support strategies for ESL learners in the Foundation and Intermediate Phase who experience barriers to learning with regard to reading, writing, listening and speaking. Contents include the following: • How language, and specifically how a second language, is acquired • Factors influencing the learning of a second language in the school-aged child • Creating a relevant context for language learning • Support strategies to improve English language proficiency • Literacy assessments as part of a comprehensive school assessment system How to support English Second Language learners is aimed at both student teachers and teachers already practising in South African schools today.

Decolonising the Mind by Ngugi wa Thiong'o Ngugi describes this book as 'a summary of some of the issues in which I have been passionately involved for the last twenty years of my practice in fiction, theatre, criticism and in teaching of literature.' East Africa (Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda and Rwanda): EAEP

Writing for Publication in Nursing and Healthcare by Karen Holland (Editor); Roger Watson (Editor) Writing for Publication in Nursing and Healthcare helps readers develop the skills necessary for publishing in professional journals, presenting conference papers, authoring books, research reports, and literature reviews, and more. This comprehensive resource covers all aspects of writing for publication, including good practice in reviewing, the editorial process, ethical aspects of publishing, and the rules that govern academic writing, publishing, and dissemination. Assuming no prior expertise in the subject, the text uses an accessible, step-by-step approach that incorporates a wealth of real-life examples, hands-on activities, and valuable tips throughout.  The second edition reflects the latest developments, guidelines, and practices both in academic publishing and in research assessment and dissemination. New and updated material covers the increasing use of social media to disseminate published work, post-publication scrutiny, contemporary issues surrounding predatory or unethical publishers, and new requirements for research registration and submission data. Edited by leading experts in the field, this practical 'how to' guide:  Describes the basics of writing for publication and how to get started   Includes numerous examples illustrating the practical ways abstracts, papers, book reviews, and other publications are written and disseminated  Discusses current issues and developments, such as the impact of major ethics organisations on publishing worldwide and the rise of online journals, blogging, and podcasting  Features contributions by internationally recognised academics and practitioners   Explains how to turn research reports and other assignments into publishable works  The definitive introduction to the subject, Writing for Publication in Nursing and Healthcare is a must-have for all nurses and healthcare professionals, as well as undergraduate and graduate students in nursing and healthcare programs who are required to write for publication. 

Entre Amis by Larbi Oukada; Michael D. Oates The seamless articulation of vocabulary, grammar, activities and cultural content is what makes ENTRE AMIS so effective in the classroom! ENTRE AMIS is a performance-oriented program designed to expand students' interpersonal, interpretive, and presentational communicative skills by presenting and rehearsing situations similar to those they will encounter in real life. Based on a progressive approach, ENTRE AMIS features thorough coverage of all four-language skills with a strong emphasis on oral communication. The language presented and practiced is always embedded in a French cultural context.

Age Estimation by Joe Adserias-Garriga (Editor) Age Estimation: A Multidisciplinary Approach is the only reference in the field covering all techniques and methods involving age estimation from different perspectives in just one volume. The book provides comprehensive coverage of all aspects of age estimation: aging the living and the dead, human rights, and skeletal, dental, histological and biochemical techniques and methods available. Each chapter is written by internationally known expert contributors. Age Estimation: A Multidisciplinary Approach is a one of a kind resource for those involved in estimating the age of the living and the dead. Presents a concentration of all techniques and methods involving age estimation in a single volume Provides a multidisciplinary approach that lends itself to researchers, practitioners and students from a variety of different fields Includes contributions by world renowned forensic specialists

Visual Anatomy and Physiology, EBook, Global Edition by Frederic Martini, William Ober, Judi, Nath; Edwin, Bartholomew and Kevin Petti For courses in Two-Semester A&P. Using Art Effectively with the Most Visual Approach to A&P Visual Anatomy & Physiologycombines a one-of-a-kind visual approach with a modular organization that uniquely meets the needs of today's students--without sacrificing the comprehensive coverage of A&P topics required for careers in nursing and other allied health professions. The3rd Editionpresents key new features based on recent research about how students use and digest visual information.New modules in the first chapteremphasize how to use art effectively when studying; newIntegrated Figure Questionsincreases the likelihood that students will spend time viewing the art and prompts them to consider what they have just learned; and newSmartArt Videos, accessible via QR code in the book, help students navigate key, complex pieces of art on some of the toughest topics. New Interactive Physiology 2.0 tutorials, SmartArt Video Activities, and a mobile-friendly eText expand the options for students to use Mastering(tm)A&P as an effective practice and learning tool. Also available with Mastering A&P Mastering(tm)A&P is an online homework, tutorial, and assessment program designed to engage students and improve results. Instructors ensure that students arrive ready to learn by assigning educationally effective content before class, and encourage critical thinking and retention with in-class resources such as Learning Catalytics(tm). Students can further master concepts after class through assignments that provide hints and answer-specific feedback. With a wide range of activities available, students can actively learn, understand, and retain even the most difficult concepts. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with Mastering A&P, ask your instructor for the correct package ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information.

Beginner's guide for law students by Kleyn, D; Viljoen, F; Zitzke, E; Madi, P The fifth edition of Beginner's Guide for Law Students is a foundational text which introduces first-year law students to: • basic legal terminology and definitions; • the South African legal system's objectives, history and subdivisions; and • legal research skills. Students are introduced to the law as it stands, in accessible terms, with reference to the different sources of law and popular media, to demonstrate how the law affects the everyday lives of individuals and groups in South Africa. Without detracting from the book's accessibility, students are made aware of the law's complexity, contestability and uncertainties. Beginner's Guide for Law Students goes further in exposing students to critical voices on existing law and encourages students to start developing their own informed opinions about the legal system and what it can and cannot achieve in addressing South African problems today. Students are invited to continuously reflect on the implications of the ‘transformative'Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1996 for the various dimensions of law. However, it is also shown that transformative constitutionalism is not the be-all and end-all of South African law, free from its own limits and criticism. As such, relevant'decolonial'critiques of transformative constitutionalism are explored.

Contemporary Company Law 2e by Cassim, FHI; Cassim, MF; Cassim, R; Jooste, R; Shev, J ; Yeats, JL The second edition of Contemporary Company Law discusses all aspects of the new Companies Act 71 of 2008, including the 2011 amendments and the Companies Regulations, 2011. The common law and relevant legislation are also examined. All the dominant company law topics are discussed in this work. In addition, insider trading and market manipulation receive detailed treatment although they do not strictly form part of core company law. Common-law precepts and principles which have been preserved by the new Act are also discussed wherever relevant. Comparative foreign law is taken into account as well. Reviews of the first edition: “The standard of the writing is excellent. The work adopts an engaging, discursive style that looks beneath the dry text of legislation and the bare principles of common law to unearth and debate the concepts and philosophical bases of company law, and to explain how this complex area of law endeavours to balance the competing and often conflicting interests of the many stakeholders in a modern company.” Prof RC Williams, University of KwaZulu-Natal “This is an astonishing book in scope and depth.... For anyone interested in the 2008 Companies Act, Contemporary Company Law shall be required reading.” Etienne Swanepoel, Webber Wentzel Attorneys

Law of Persons 6e by Boezaart, T Law of Persons (also available as Personereg), now in its sixth edition, has become a standard text on the South African law of persons. The book was first published in 1995, just after the dawn of South Africa's first democratic dispensation. The book constitutes a general and fully referenced source on the law of persons, and reflects the transformation of the law of persons in line with the values entrenched in the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1996, with specific reference to the Bill of Rights. First-year students will derive the most benefit from Law of Persons if the book is used in conjunction with the Law of Persons Sourcebook.

The Law of Persons in South Africa by Ann Skelton; Hannaretha Kruger; Marita Carnelly; Robbie Robinson; Sonia Human; Lesala Mofokeng; Johan Scott This book reflects the legislative change and consequent changes in common law that fundamentally affect the law of persons, in particular the Children's Act of 2007 and the application of the constitution.

Peace and Justice by Rachel Kerr; Eirin Mobekk In recent years there has been a tendency to intervene in the military, political and economic affairs of failed and failing states and those emerging from violent conflict. In many cases this has been accompanied by some form of international judicial intervention to address serious and widespread abuses of international humanitarian law and human rights in recognition of an explicit link between peace and justice. A range of judicial and non-judicial approaches has been adopted in recognition of the fact that there is no one-size-fits-all model through which to seek accountability. This book considers the merits and drawbacks of these different responses and sets out an original framework for analysing transitional societies and transitional justice mechanisms. Taking as its starting point the post-Second World War tribunals at Nuremburg and Tokyo, the book goes on to discuss the creation of ad hoc international tribunals in the 1990s, hybrid/mixed courts, the International Criminal Court, domestic trials, truth commissions and traditional justice mechanisms. With examples drawn from across the world, including the former Yugoslavia, Rwanda, Cambodia, Timor-Leste, Sierra Leone, Uganda and the DRC, it presents a compelling and comprehensive study of the key responses to war crimes. Peace and Justice is a timely contribution in a world where an ever-increasing number of post-conflict societies are grappling with the complex issues of transitional justice. It will be a valuable resource for students, scholars, practitioners and policy-makers seeking to understand past violations of human rights and the most effective ways of addressing them.

Property Law in South Africa by Anne Pope; Juanita Pienaar; Jeannie van Wyk; Warren Freedman; Pieter Badenhorst; Hanri Mostert Property Law in South Africa is a true student textbook that presents only the principles of property law which are necessary for the course, and does not attempt to include detail for practitioners' reference. This makes it more clear, accessible and appropriate for students.

Entrepreneurship and New Value Creation by Alain Fayolle Why do some individuals decide they want to create businesses and then actually do so? Why do others decide against this course of action, even though they appear to have what it takes to succeed? These two questions were among the first that researchers in the field of entrepreneurship tried to answer. Recently, it seems that the problem is much more difficult to solve than it first appeared thirty years ago. The venture creation phenomenon is a complex one, covering a wide variety of situations. The purpose of this book is to improve our understanding of this complexity by offering both a theory of the entrepreneurial process and practical advice on how to start a new business and manage it effectively. Entrepreneurship and New Value Creation is a fascinating, research-driven book that will appeal to graduate students, researchers and reflective practitioners concerned with the dynamics of the entrepreneurial process.

Services marketing : a contemporary approach by Berndt, A.; Boshoff, Christo Services, whether online or offline, are important in modern economics in which the understanding is that ‘we are all in services'. Service Marketing, a subset of the field of marketing, has evolved and developed a range of theories and models all focused on providing superior services offerings to today's market and it's growing expectations of service delivery. New research provides additional contemporary insights into this dynamic and developing area. This text seeks to address the current research and its managerial implications, specifically by including new case studies and integrating new research results and new perspectives on the various aspects of services

Writing for Publication in Nursing and Healthcare by Karen Holland (Editor); Roger Watson (Editor) Writing for Publication in Nursing and Healthcare helps readers develop the skills necessary for publishing in professional journals, presenting conference papers, authoring books, research reports, and literature reviews, and more. This comprehensive resource covers all aspects of writing for publication, including good practice in reviewing, the editorial process, ethical aspects of publishing, and the rules that govern academic writing, publishing, and dissemination. Assuming no prior expertise in the subject, the text uses an accessible, step-by-step approach that incorporates a wealth of real-life examples, hands-on activities, and valuable tips throughout.  The second edition reflects the latest developments, guidelines, and practices both in academic publishing and in research assessment and dissemination. New and updated material covers the increasing use of social media to disseminate published work, post-publication scrutiny, contemporary issues surrounding predatory or unethical publishers, and new requirements for research registration and submission data. Edited by leading experts in the field, this practical 'how to' guide:  Describes the basics of writing for publication and how to get started   Includes numerous examples illustrating the practical ways abstracts, papers, book reviews, and other publications are written and disseminated  Discusses current issues and developments, such as the impact of major ethics organisations on publishing worldwide and the rise of online journals, blogging, and podcasting  Features contributions by internationally recognised academics and practitioners   Explains how to turn research reports and other assignments into publishable works  The definitive introduction to the subject, Writing for Publication in Nursing and Healthcare is a must-have for all nurses and healthcare professionals, as well as undergraduate and graduate students in nursing and healthcare programs who are required to write for publication. 

Illuminating the Dark Side of Occupation by Rebecca Twinley (Editor) This innovative volume introduces Twinley's concept of 'The Dark Side of Occupation'. Focused on less explored and under-addressed occupations, it is an idea which challenges traditional assumptions around the positive, beneficial, health-promoting relationship between occupation and health. Emphasising that people's individual experiences of occupations are not always addressed and may not always be legal, socially acceptable, or conducive to good health, the book investigates how these experiences can be explored theoretically, in practice and research, and in curriculum content for those learning about occupation. Beginning with a discussion of some assumptions and misunderstandings that have been made about the concept, the substantive chapters present and analyse tangible examples of the concept's applicability. This ground-breaking and practice-changing text provides ideas for future research and highlights contemporary, internationally relevant issues and concerns, such as the coronavirus pandemic. This book is an essential purchase for students in occupational therapy and science, and valuable supplementary reading for practitioners. It is also relevant to a wide interdisciplinary audience with an interest in human occupation, encompassing anthropologists, councillors, criminologists, nurses, and human geographers.

Critical Thinking by Richard L. Epstein; Michael Rooney; Alex Raffi (Illustrator) This fifth edition of Critical Thinking by the noted logician Richard L. Epstein is practical, engaging, and easy to teach. Students enjoy and understand it because it is clear and has hundreds of examples using a cast of characters who reason as we do every day. More than 1,000 exercises lead students to be able to reason well in their courses and their lives. Essay writing lessons and visual writing lessons, using the cast of characters, teach students that first comes clear thinking and then comes clear writing. A complete and comprehensive Instructor's Manual makes the text easy to teach and grade. New to this edition: chapters on explanations and reasoning in the sciences. Also from the Advanced Reasoning Forum: An Introduction to Formal Logic and The Pocket Guide to Critical Thinking.

Foreign Policy Posture in Post-Apartheid South Africa: Consistencies and Ambiguities by Bhekithemba R. Mngomezulu Foreign policy and domestic policy feed into each other. To a large degree, the latter informs the former. This book demonstrates the relationship between the two, paying particularly close attention to how South Africa envisioned its foreign policy during the negotiation process. Importantly, it spells out how South Africa's foreign policy has evolved since the early 1990s. The critics of South Africa's foreign policy often question the motives behind the country's involvement in African and global affairs. The contributions here demonstrate the complex nature of foreign policy making, approaching the subject both from a broad theoretical perspective and specifically through empirical case studies. The book will appeal to political scientists, historians, policy practitioners, international relations specialists, and government officials and their advisors, as well as international relations theorists.

Secular Discourse on Sin in the Anthropocene by Ernst M. Conradie In Secular Discourse on Sin in the Anthropocene: What's Wrong with the World, Ernst M. Conradie utilizes a notion of social diagnostics to explore not only the surface-level symptoms of ecological destruction, but also its ultimate causes. Conradie uses two toolkits to review secular literature on the Anthropocene, namely the prophetic and pastoral vocabulary of Christian sin-talk and the theological critique against apartheid in South Africa. Various layers of the underlying problem are uncovered on this bases, including unsustainable "habits of the heart," structural violence, the ideologies of unlimited economic growth and humanism, quasi-soteriologies such as climate engineering, idolatries such as self-divinization, and heresy. Conradie offers authentic discourse on the Anthropocene from the perspective of the global South, and includes a theological postscript to posit tentative suggestions as to what God may have in store for humanity in this time. Scholars of theology, environmental studies, and history will find this book particularly useful.

De Haan’s Health of Southern Africa 12e by S, Vasuthevan; S, Mthembu This well established text addresses both the requirements of the new nursing education programmes and southern Africa's community needs

Dimensions of Healthcare Management 4e by M Bezuidenhout Dimensions of Healthcare Management is the well-known and established source of management information healthcare professionals have come to trust. This edition has been thoroughly revised to include the latest information in the field, and updated legislation has been updated. The text applies universal principles and components of management and leadership, as well as popular modern theories and approaches, to the healthcare environment. There is in-depth focus on human resources issues, such as recruitment, staff development, leadership, absenteeism, motivation and staff turnover.

Health and Health Care in South Africa by Van Rensburg, H. C. J. ; Ataguba, J. E. The changes that have taken place, and indeed continue to take place, in the post-1994 health sphere are often difficult to comprehend for both those inside and outside the South African health care system. These reforms can be confusing, even bewildering. What is the essence of the transformation? Where are the reforms heading? Health and health care in South Africa addresses these questions by presenting a coherent “big picture” of health and health care in this country. Health and health care in South Africa takes stock, chapter by chapter, of the evolving health system, along with the ensuing changes and challenges, and attempts to contextualise these developments historically and globally, and to critically assess them. It reviews progress and achievements, but also contemporary constraints and deficiencies in health performance. Contents include the following: • National health care systems: trends, changes and reforms • The changing biophysical environment: impact on health and health conditions • HIV, AIDS and tuberculosis: trends, challenges and responses • Health care expenditure: using resources efficiently and equitably • Revitalisation and re-engineering of primary health care • Hospitals and hospital reform • Complementary and alternative medicine and traditional health care • Medical ethics and human rights Health and health care in South Africa is aimed at researchers and lecturers, as well as senior and postgraduate students in the health and health-related professions, the social sciences, and health planning, policy and management-related disciplines. It is also a valuable reference work for practising health professionals, health planners, policy makers and managers.

Leadership in health services management by Jooste, K. Leadership in Health Services Management provides all healthcare professionals with the information necessary to lead with commitment and strive towards a clear vision of health for all. It guides readers through crucially important issues such as vision, strategic thinking, confidence, negotiation and knowledge management in health services. Now in its third edition, this book has been updated to contain original research on the topic of self-leadership, a theme that is interwoven throughout the text. In addition, there is a focus on the application of leadership theories for postgraduate readers studying for a Master's certificate in nursing management or tutored Master's degree according to the new guidelines of the SAQA qualifications for postgraduate studies. In all new South African curricula and programmes, the research component has been prioritised and therefore this edition features a chapter on research proposals.

Political Values and Narratives of Resistance by Fiona Anciano (Editor); Joanna Wheeler (Editor) This book brings together multidisciplinary perspectives to explore how political values and acts of resistance impact the delivery of social justice in post-colonial states. Everyday life in post-colonial states, such as South Africa and Zimbabwe, is characterized by injustices that have both a historical and contemporary nature. From fishers in Cape Town accused of poaching, to residents of Bulawayo demanding access to water, this book focuses on the relationship between the state and groups that have been historically oppressed due to being on the margins of the political, economic and social system. It draws on empirical research from 12 scholars looking at cases in Brazil, India, South Africa and Zimbabwe. Chapters explore questions such as what citizens, especially those from marginalized groups, want from the state. The book looks at the political values of citizens and how these are formed in the process of engaging with the state and through everyday injustices. It also asks why and how citizens resist the state, with examples of protest, as well as less visible forms of resistance reflecting complex histories and power relations. Finally, the book explores how narratives and counter-narratives reveal the nature of political values and perceptions of what is just. Taken together these elements show the evolution of post-colonial social contracts. Examining important themes in political science, anthropology, sociology and urban geography, this book will appeal to scholars and students interested in political values, justice, social movements and resistance.

Language planning and policy : ideologies, ethnicities, and semiotic spaces of power by Ashraf, Abdelhay; Sinfree, Makoni, and Cristine, Severo

Nationalism and Sexuality by George L. Mosse; Mary Louise Roberts (Introduction by) This landmark work by George L. Mosse, first published in 1985, examines the history of sexuality through the lens of bourgeois respectability and nationalism. Using a daring breadth of German and English sources, Nationalism and Sexuality pioneered the use of gender stereotypes as a methodology for studying the history of sexuality in mainstream European history. Mosse's innovative inquiries on gender remain central to discussions about modern constructions of national belonging and the workings of the state. This edition of Mosse's classic volume includes a new critical introduction by Mary Louise Roberts, whose books include What Soldiers Do: Sex and the American GI in World War II France.