The book and periodical collections are organised by faculty
|Short Loan and Audiovisual collection (all faculties)||Level 5|
|Current journals and newspapers||Level 5|
|Economic and Management Sciences||Level 7|
|Community & Health Sciences||Level 11|
|Special Collections (eg, African Studies)||Level 12|
Did you know that you don't have to come to the Library to gather information? Nowadays, most academic publications appear in electronic format which is made available to you through the Library website. The Library invests heavily in subscribing to a wealth of online resources that are easily accessible from residences, computer labs, wireless connections, and even from home.
The UWC Library web page is the gateway to these resources. If you are connecting from off campus, you will be prompted for a username and password as follows:
STUDENTS log in with:
Username = student number
Password = date of birth (yyyymmdd)
STAFF log in with:
Username = Novell username (initial and surname)
Password = Novell password
IMPORTANT You may not share your UWC login credentials with non-UWC individuals, as this violates the terms of our legal contracts with publishers. If caught doing this, you are liable to lose your network privileges.
There are many opportunities to learn how to use the Library's eResources.
1. Check the Training Calendar on the Library homepage to see what's on offer in the current month.
2. Use the Self Learning Zone in the Atrium, if you prefer to learn from watching videos and demonstrations
3. Ask your Faculty Librarian for assistance in using eResources
Tired of reading? Watching a DVD on your subject may give you new insights to your subject knowledge. Consult the subject listing of DVDs at Short Loan on Level 5 or use SmartSearch to find audiovisual material related to your areas of interest. We also collect quality movies for recreational use These may be borrowed overnight for your viewing enjoyment. Playback equipment is available outside Short Loan on Level 5.
You'll find Special Collections section on Level 12. Hours of service are Monday through Friday: 08h20 – 16h30. After hours requests for special collection material will be handled by the staff on duty at the Loans Desk on Level 5.
The section focuses on South Africa and houses a broad spectrum of subjects with particular strengths in the areas of socio-political history. The collection includes:
This material must be used inside Special Collections and is not available for loan. To safeguard the unique collection researchers are obliged to comply with the reading room rules. No bags are allowed in the reading room area. Student cards must be presented to the librarian when material is requested.
What are Reference materials for?
When you start out with your assignment you may need to look up a general source that gives you an overview of the topic, like an encyclopedia. There are general encyclopedias and also subject encyclopedias. You'll find the subject-specific reference materials for your subject on the same level as your regular books - look out for the shorter bookshelf separate to the tall bookstacks. All reference collections are signposted with a "Reference" sign.
We call dictionaries and encyclopedias "Reference materials" because you only want to look up or refer to some information inside them and you don’t intend to read the whole book. A telephone directory is also a form of reference material – you’d never read that from cover to cover! You only use it to look up a specific piece of information.
That’s why reference materials are not for loan. Everyone needs to be able to consult them inside the Library. But the library also offers a host of online reference sources. From the A-Z Databases, select C and then browse to CREDO Reference collection which contains many subject-specialist reference publications.
You can find many answers to your research questions in both print and online reference sources, which include:
dictionaries and thesauri (useful when you are writing)
The letters 'REF' preceding a shelf number indicates that the item is part of the Reference collection, e.g. REF 610.3 MED.
NB: Using a high quality reference source can often save you hours. Wikipedia should only be used as a starting point to familiarise yourself with a topic - your lecturer will not want you to cite Wikipedia as the information on this website has not been through the same quality control processes as the Reference material in the Library.
The word "Periodicals" refers to any publication that appears regularly (ie, periodically), such as newspapers, magazines and journals.
You can keep informed about current issues by reading newspapers (local and international) which may be found in print version or online. Browsing the latest issues of journals in your subject areas is a sure way to expand your knowledge and impress your lecturers!
The Library subscribes to a large variety of magazines, journals, and newspapers. Come in and enjoy the comfortable couches in the Malangatana Reading Room on Level 5!
Current Periodicals and Newspapers (print) The current issues of periodicals are arranged in alphabetical order by title in the Malangatana Reading Room. Ask the Reading Room staff for guidance on titles in your subject area.
Back issues of print periodicals are bound into annual volumes and shelved near the book collection for your subjects.
Note: Periodicals may only be read inside the Library and are not for loan.
Online journals (also known as e-journals, or electronic journals)
To access online journals, select eJournals A-Z from the Library website. You will be taken to a searchable A-Z list of e-journals. You may also use SmartSearch to find journal articles online.
University of the Western Cape,
Robert Sobukwe Road,
Tel: 021 959 2946